Page 1 of 1

Bios reset problem

Posted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 3:55 am
by sbohdan
I have put together a nice little PC for my 7yo son from laying around components.
E8400, 2GB corsair 800Mhz, ECS mobo, ATI 5850 gpu, Antec 500W PSU, 128GB OCZ SSD

It works nice on games he plays and I did OC the E8400 to 4.4Ghz and the GPU from 725/1000 base clocks to 775/1125. The card could do much more but this is what is allowed max. by the ATI driver utility and seems enough for now.
The problem is, that every time the computer is restarted or started after a shut down, both the BIOS and the GPU gets reset to default, so I have to get in BIOS, and choose the 4.4Ghz OC profile that was saved and after the PC boots in, have to get in the ATI utility and raise the OC from default. I undersatnd both the BIOS and GPU OC profiles are saved and suppose to stay that way, so just beats me why it always gets reset to default just by a restart or shut down. Both OC's are super stable and the PC is well cooled, so overheating is not an issue for sure.

Any ideas?

Re: Bios reset problem

Posted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:36 am
by KnightRid
This is why computers are never dull!!!

have you checked the CMOS battery?

There should be a setting in your OC software (I have nvidia so no clue where it is in AMD stuff) for the gpu to keep the settigns after reboot. Remember you would have to have that software package (the oc software package that is) running when windows boots or there is no way for it to do the settings. http://www.overclock.net/t/633816/how-t ... md-ati-gpu - so you can bypass those limits on the card and it does have the tick box for setting on startup.

Your BIOS may have a setting also to make sure the oc is enabled on each boot. Post the model and we should be able to look it up online and see if that setting exists or not.

Re: Bios reset problem

Posted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 6:17 am
by sbohdan
Thanks for the quick reply.

MOBO: Gigabyte G31M-ES2L
I will try changing the battery but for the Catalyst, I can't find any settings to keep the settings.

couple of pics:

Image

Image

Re: Bios reset problem

Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 5:04 am
by KnightRid
Found a neat thing on the motherboard here - http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/ ... -settings/ - seems if you have a usb device plugged in it will reset the oc :rolleyes:

If the battery did not work try to reset the CMOS and reflash the BIOS - yea you probably have the newest version but reflash it anyway.

Again, make sure he has Admin rights and you run the CCC with his account - I read people have had settings revert to default when they do not use admin because of...wait for it......WINDOWS UAC - now who would have thunk lol

Also you can try the removal of CCC and reinstall to see if that would help for the video card too.

Best bet for the video might be to use that link I posted and totally ignore the CCC software for overclocking and use the MSI one

Re: Bios reset problem

Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 6:43 am
by sbohdan
Thanks a lot. Will try all these till it works :)

Re: Bios reset problem

Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 7:42 am
by sbohdan
I installed msi afterburner and it works. I restarted the PC 10 times and it did not reset. I did change the CMOS battery and that solved the other problem. How the hell did I not think of this?! :rolleyes:

Thank you. :prayer:

Re: Bios reset problem

Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 5:33 am
by KnightRid
sbohdan wrote:I installed msi afterburner and it works. I restarted the PC 10 times and it did not reset. I did change the CMOS battery and that solved the other problem. How the hell did I not think of this?! :rolleyes:

Thank you. :prayer:


Sweet man! Now remember you may have to install a new bios for the video card if you want to go over the set limit. I am not sure if the MSI software will let you o above it without the bios or not.

Now tell your son to get to gamin :mrgreen:

Re: Bios reset problem

Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 2:20 am
by sbohdan
Yes the damn VGA BIOS limits the card's OC a lot, even though the cooling is great on it and it could do much more according to internet tests. Unfortunately the main source of modified BIOS's MVKTech is gone and Have no idea where to get a good reliable, unlocked BIOS for this card :(

Will try to search.

Re: Bios reset problem

Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 4:48 am
by KnightRid
try - http://hwbot.org/news/msi_afterburner_1 ... EDD26AB0EB - for no bios needed (seems a bit too easy since it should be hard coded into the bios but never hurts to try)

unlocked bios - http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/5822 ... 90925.html

just remember to watch the temps #-o

Re: Bios reset problem

Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 6:10 am
by sbohdan
Wow, a new afterburner without CCC limits! Yeeehhaaaa! thanks a lot.

Re: Bios reset problem

Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 9:50 am
by lucy albert

Re: Bios reset problem

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:29 am
by Benly
yeah this seems pretty good for a 7yo kid. I am thinking of assembling one for my kid too.

Re: Bios reset problem

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 4:07 pm
by sbohdan
Benly wrote:yeah this seems pretty good for a 7yo kid. I am thinking of assembling one for my kid too.


Since then I upgraded the VGA to a used Gygabite GTX 660Ti. It runs like a charm now :)

Re: Bios reset problem

Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 2:21 am
by Benly
sbohdan wrote:
Benly wrote:yeah this seems pretty good for a 7yo kid. I am thinking of assembling one for my kid too.


Since then I upgraded the VGA to a used Gygabite GTX 660Ti. It runs like a charm now :)



Well, it should. :D

Re: Bios reset problem

Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 2:23 am
by Benly
All other specs are same though right?