Dimm Slots A1 and A2 Not Working

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1050
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: My House At The End Of My Street
Contact:

Dimm Slots A1 and A2 Not Working

Postby DJ Tucker » Fri Jun 03, 2016 5:34 pm

So as the title says they are not working. I had this trouble when I brought another 8gb (2x4gb) sticks of the memory in my sig. After 5 reseats of the memory it worked like a charm. Now I simply turned my pc on after 2 months of perfect use (no error or bsods) and error code 55 showed and restart loop keeps happening. So I took the memory out and reseated as I did before and no dice. Checked to see if it was possible to have any bent cpu pins and nothing bent.

Checked the dimm slots with all sticks one at a time. All sticks work in slots B1 and B2 but none of them work in A1 and A2. I now have 8gb in single channel as supposed to 16gb in dual channel. In effect I have 1/2 the speed and 1/2 the memory capacity.

WHAT CAN I DO!? :evil: :toimonster: ](*,)
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 5.0Ghz @ 1.424v With LEPA Exllusion 240
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb OS Sandisk X210 512Gb Gaming
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 Black Hybrid 2075/9000 @ 1.094v
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: ASRock Extreme 6 Z77
Case: Lian Li DK-Q2X with Corsair HX1050 PSU

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Dimm Slots A1 and A2 Not Working

Postby InspectahACE » Fri Jun 03, 2016 7:38 pm

sounds like the dimm slots went bad. :(
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3570
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Dimm Slots A1 and A2 Not Working

Postby KnightRid » Sat Jun 04, 2016 4:10 am

Buy a new motherboard :(

Or just be happy with the 8GB single channel. If it is a computer just used for everyday tasks that should be fine (especially if you throw linux on it).

Only other thing I can think is to try another brand/speed/etc of memory in those slots and see if ti works. Maybe it is something where those 2 slots just dont like the memory you have in it....yea, pulling at straws but might be easy to try if you can pull from another computer to test.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1050
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: My House At The End Of My Street
Contact:

Re: Dimm Slots A1 and A2 Not Working

Postby DJ Tucker » Sat Jun 04, 2016 6:56 pm

ok so I have tried 3 different types of ram 1333mhz, 1600mhz and 2133mhz. none of them work in those slots at all but still work in B1 and B2. By the way if you check my sig it defiantly not just a casual day use computer :lol: :rolleyes:
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 5.0Ghz @ 1.424v With LEPA Exllusion 240
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb OS Sandisk X210 512Gb Gaming
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 Black Hybrid 2075/9000 @ 1.094v
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: ASRock Extreme 6 Z77
Case: Lian Li DK-Q2X with Corsair HX1050 PSU

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1050
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: My House At The End Of My Street
Contact:

Re: Dimm Slots A1 and A2 Not Working

Postby DJ Tucker » Sun Jun 05, 2016 3:18 am

anyone know where I can get a decent z77 motherboard as a replacement. Asrock have 3 year warranty on my board (6 months left) and they wont replace it or anything poor customer service. took a week to get back to me and they said nothing can be done due to having no uk distributor or certified repair company :(
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 5.0Ghz @ 1.424v With LEPA Exllusion 240
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb OS Sandisk X210 512Gb Gaming
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 Black Hybrid 2075/9000 @ 1.094v
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: ASRock Extreme 6 Z77
Case: Lian Li DK-Q2X with Corsair HX1050 PSU

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3570
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Dimm Slots A1 and A2 Not Working

Postby KnightRid » Sun Jun 05, 2016 5:06 am

DJ Tucker wrote:anyone know where I can get a decent z77 motherboard as a replacement. Asrock have 3 year warranty on my board (6 months left) and they wont replace it or anything poor customer service. took a week to get back to me and they said nothing can be done due to having no uk distributor or certified repair company :(


If people would listen to me...... viewtopic.php?f=10&t=43923 8)

Sorry for your luck but that is exactly how ASSrock is.

I have no clue where to pick up one of their items except maybe the trash bins all around the world :finga:
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1050
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: My House At The End Of My Street
Contact:

Re: Dimm Slots A1 and A2 Not Working

Postby DJ Tucker » Sun Jun 05, 2016 7:02 am

yep remember that post. I even posted on it after I purchased this board. just my luck :(
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 5.0Ghz @ 1.424v With LEPA Exllusion 240
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb OS Sandisk X210 512Gb Gaming
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 Black Hybrid 2075/9000 @ 1.094v
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: ASRock Extreme 6 Z77
Case: Lian Li DK-Q2X with Corsair HX1050 PSU

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1050
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: My House At The End Of My Street
Contact:

Re: Dimm Slots A1 and A2 Not Working

Postby DJ Tucker » Wed Jun 22, 2016 3:00 pm

ok I got myself a Pentium g2020 and got all 4 stick of ram (4x4gb) working fine. so it seems its my cpu. can a memory controller go bad and cause 2 dimm slots to not work together? if so how could this of happened?
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 5.0Ghz @ 1.424v With LEPA Exllusion 240
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb OS Sandisk X210 512Gb Gaming
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 Black Hybrid 2075/9000 @ 1.094v
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: ASRock Extreme 6 Z77
Case: Lian Li DK-Q2X with Corsair HX1050 PSU

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3570
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Dimm Slots A1 and A2 Not Working

Postby KnightRid » Thu Jun 23, 2016 3:59 am

DJ Tucker wrote:ok I got myself a Pentium g2020 and got all 4 stick of ram (4x4gb) working fine. so it seems its my cpu. can a memory controller go bad and cause 2 dimm slots to not work together? if so how could this of happened?


Honestly, in all my years (45 now) I have never had a cpu cause memory problems. Wow.

Just curious....does the cpu run at a different voltage than the previous where it may have bumped the memory voltage up a bit?

I love hearing about new problems/solutions like this!!! yea, i'm a geek.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1050
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: My House At The End Of My Street
Contact:

Re: Dimm Slots A1 and A2 Not Working

Postby DJ Tucker » Thu Jun 23, 2016 1:46 pm

there is no difference in how each cpu work. for some reason my i5 3570k wont work with all 4 dimm slots populated. haven't got another z77 motherboard to test it so I can't say whether its the cpu truly or not. but it would seem to be a cpu memory controller related issue :(
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 5.0Ghz @ 1.424v With LEPA Exllusion 240
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb OS Sandisk X210 512Gb Gaming
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 Black Hybrid 2075/9000 @ 1.094v
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: ASRock Extreme 6 Z77
Case: Lian Li DK-Q2X with Corsair HX1050 PSU


Return to “General Computer Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests