New system

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33834
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: New system

Postby Apoptosis » Wed Aug 29, 2018 3:50 pm

I'm old and still like using the BIOS/UEFI for overclocking 95% of the time.
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1082
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: I Live In A 2 Bed Tardis
Contact:

Re: New system

Postby DJ Tucker » Fri Aug 31, 2018 6:36 pm

Apoptosis wrote:I'm old and still like using the BIOS/UEFI for overclocking 95% of the time.

I'm in agreement with Apoptosis here. while there are programs that do a good job but bios overclocking is safer as you maybe able to get said overclock on desktop but not be able to post after reset in which you will have to go to the bios to reset the overclock/factory settings anyway so you might as well continue from there :)
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.8Ghz (1.376v) LEPA Exllusion 240 Mod
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb Sandisk X210 1Tb
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 iChill Black 2100/9100
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: Asus Maximus IV Gene Z Gen 3
Case: Vector Custom VDM01 with Corsair HX1000i PSU
Peripherals: Corsair K70 Lux Corsair M65 Pro and Corsair Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3766
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: New system

Postby KnightRid » Sun Sep 02, 2018 6:34 am

4ghz at 1.4V - seems stable so far :) Well 3.990.48 anyway lol

4ghz.JPG
4ghz.JPG (56.24 KiB) Viewed 1095 times


Well had to lower to 3.50 in order to get cpuz benchmark to complete but it beat the threadripper 1900x and was a few points shy of the 2700x!

cpuzrank.JPG
cpuzrank.JPG (21.29 KiB) Viewed 1095 times
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3766
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: New system

Postby KnightRid » Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:47 am

Welp seems the mb died. Never seemed right but it was working till I restarted those times for the oc testing. Thought maybe it was touching the case but I took it completely out and it wont work :( debating whether to put the i7 back in or wait and use my laptop till I get a new mb. Gonna check Amazon now, will keep you all up to date.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

UPDATE - I reseated the CPU and it seems to be working again...hmmm. Maybe something wonky with the holder? Maybe it wasnt seated properly this whole time and it was just getting lucky when it worked and that is why the rgb stuff was freaking out and it wouldnt restart right...etc

UPDATE 2 - RGB Fusion stopped working again as now there is just no light....oh well. I still think it may be just something wonky with the MB but it is working right now and I have tested with restarting multiple times and even going into the BIOS (again, RGB does not work even in the BIOS...again) with no problems at all. One thing I do not get is how the CPU temps seem to be high on some cores but not others. Only thing I am doing is typing this so the cpu is not being stressed. Maybe it is the thermal paste (Arctic SIlver 5). Using CPUID HW Monitor if that matters.

CPUIDHWTemps.JPG
CPUIDHWTemps.JPG (25.94 KiB) Viewed 1078 times


Update 3 - RGB started working again. Did not restart or do anything at all it just blinked on LOL Damn ghosts messing with me :axe:
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1082
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: I Live In A 2 Bed Tardis
Contact:

Re: New system

Postby DJ Tucker » Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:34 pm

Odd that the mobo died than came back to life. Why on earth the rgb system is having a meltdown is damn right superstitious. Have a feeling it could be a mobo demon issue with all that's going on as of late. Maybe an electro demon decided to posses your mobo.

As for the freak temp range at idle, have you checked to see if the cpu is indeed idle? AS5 is good paste minus it taking 200+ hours to cure to save 2-5c of cooling. Try reseating the heatsink with some other paste if you have any lying around and report back :)
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.8Ghz (1.376v) LEPA Exllusion 240 Mod
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb Sandisk X210 1Tb
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 iChill Black 2100/9100
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: Asus Maximus IV Gene Z Gen 3
Case: Vector Custom VDM01 with Corsair HX1000i PSU
Peripherals: Corsair K70 Lux Corsair M65 Pro and Corsair Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: New system

Postby camaroguy1998 » Mon Sep 03, 2018 11:11 pm

IMHO....RMA the Mobo and buy an ASUS!
Yeah, I'm biased towards ASUS!
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon cooler
Corsair RM750X - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor
Corsair 600T case

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33834
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: New system

Postby Apoptosis » Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:54 pm

Odd, send the board over to me and I'll take a look. I got a couple of those boards in the closet that are brand new, so I got you covered. (unless it's a bad CPU)
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3766
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: New system

Postby KnightRid » Sat Sep 08, 2018 3:14 am

Apoptosis wrote:Odd, send the board over to me and I'll take a look. I got a couple of those boards in the closet that are brand new, so I got you covered. (unless it's a bad CPU)
It's been working now. I haven't played with oc or lighting since it started to act good though. I will keep testing it out and see how it goes. It almost seems that the water block wants to pull the CPU out of the socket. I reversed it to put less tension on the CPU and it has been working great.

Will keep everyone up to date on my fun and adventures :)

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1082
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: I Live In A 2 Bed Tardis
Contact:

Re: New system

Postby DJ Tucker » Sat Sep 08, 2018 4:47 am

glad that it all seems to work now :)
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.8Ghz (1.376v) LEPA Exllusion 240 Mod
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb Sandisk X210 1Tb
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 iChill Black 2100/9100
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: Asus Maximus IV Gene Z Gen 3
Case: Vector Custom VDM01 with Corsair HX1000i PSU
Peripherals: Corsair K70 Lux Corsair M65 Pro and Corsair Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3766
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: New system

Postby KnightRid » Fri Sep 14, 2018 9:05 am

So it happened again with the windows update that came through. Computer locked up, power button would not shut it off and then it would not restart. I moved the cooler block around a bit (pushed in on it really) and then it booted up but the led is back to just red.

I want to pull the water block off and see if the cpu comes out with it. I have read online that people had that issue with some boards/waterblocks and since the last time I took it off the CPU came out before I released the locking lever, it may be the problem.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1082
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: I Live In A 2 Bed Tardis
Contact:

Re: New system

Postby DJ Tucker » Mon Sep 17, 2018 7:16 pm

In fact the cpu pulling out of the socket may well be the issue. A friend of mine had an issue where he would change the paste fort better temps constantly and pull the cpu from the socket. Even though he did that and reseated it, it failed to boot and setting went all over the place. I fixed it by telling him that was the issue of the system not functioning properly. Since then he has been good and not touched anything and all is good minus the temps (that's AMD for you) :)
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.8Ghz (1.376v) LEPA Exllusion 240 Mod
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb Sandisk X210 1Tb
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 iChill Black 2100/9100
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: Asus Maximus IV Gene Z Gen 3
Case: Vector Custom VDM01 with Corsair HX1000i PSU
Peripherals: Corsair K70 Lux Corsair M65 Pro and Corsair Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3766
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: New system

Postby KnightRid » Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:42 am

DJ Tucker wrote:In fact the cpu pulling out of the socket may well be the issue. A friend of mine had an issue where he would change the paste fort better temps constantly and pull the cpu from the socket. Even though he did that and reseated it, it failed to boot and setting went all over the place. I fixed it by telling him that was the issue of the system not functioning properly. Since then he has been good and not touched anything and all is good minus the temps (that's AMD for you) :)


Yea I took the nuts off the water block and removed it and WHAM there was the CPU stuck to the bottom. Pulled right out of the holder without releasing the lock!!!! I wonder if this is a problem with all AMD boards or just Gigabyte...

I am trying to figure out some way to fix it. Maybe if I put another spacer in the water block backplate it will let it tighten further. I just dont want to end up cracking the CPU. Maybe laying the computer on its side so gravity will push down on the waterblock...

Nate - did you have any problems like this in your testing and use?
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1082
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: I Live In A 2 Bed Tardis
Contact:

Re: New system

Postby DJ Tucker » Tue Sep 18, 2018 6:16 pm

saying that my friends motherboard was a gigabyte fm2+. he got another one (MSI) and had the same issue :(
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.8Ghz (1.376v) LEPA Exllusion 240 Mod
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb Sandisk X210 1Tb
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 iChill Black 2100/9100
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: Asus Maximus IV Gene Z Gen 3
Case: Vector Custom VDM01 with Corsair HX1000i PSU
Peripherals: Corsair K70 Lux Corsair M65 Pro and Corsair Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3766
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: New system

Postby KnightRid » Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:29 am

DJ Tucker wrote:saying that my friends motherboard was a gigabyte fm2+. he got another one (MSI) and had the same issue :(


Damn. Thought maybe just one manufacturer issue.

Maybe superglue :mrgreen:
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33834
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: New system

Postby Apoptosis » Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:31 pm

Want me to send you one and then get you to send that back? that way you have no down time?

As for thermal paste... I've pulled them out of the socket before, but it's been a long time. I've used 'lighter' thermal paste lately and put on a very thin amount. No pulling at all since i've done that. You might be using too much paste. You want less thermal paste that you'd think.
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3766
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: New system

Postby KnightRid » Thu Sep 20, 2018 4:24 am

Apoptosis wrote:Want me to send you one and then get you to send that back? that way you have no down time?

As for thermal paste... I've pulled them out of the socket before, but it's been a long time. I've used 'lighter' thermal paste lately and put on a very thin amount. No pulling at all since i've done that. You might be using too much paste. You want less thermal paste that you'd think.


What paste do you use? I may grab some and try that first. I used the arctic silver and it did seem to be pretty sticky. Maybe i need to get a better thinner paste to use on this new stuff.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1082
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: I Live In A 2 Bed Tardis
Contact:

Re: New system

Postby DJ Tucker » Thu Sep 20, 2018 6:08 am

+Try mx 4 or gelid extreme. It's+-71 thinner than arctic silver but not by much. Maybe enough if you thin it out a little more
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.8Ghz (1.376v) LEPA Exllusion 240 Mod
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb Sandisk X210 1Tb
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 iChill Black 2100/9100
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: Asus Maximus IV Gene Z Gen 3
Case: Vector Custom VDM01 with Corsair HX1000i PSU
Peripherals: Corsair K70 Lux Corsair M65 Pro and Corsair Void Pro Wireless


Return to “General Computer Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests