Changing System Graphics and Info

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Sovereign
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 5:28 pm

Changing System Graphics and Info

Postby Sovereign » Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:27 pm

Windows Vista Method!
Create a registry file (.reg) and edit it to suit your needs.

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\OEMInformation]
@=""
"Manufacturer"="Hewlett-Packard"
"Model"="Compaq Presario SR1610IL"
"Logo"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\oemlogo.bmp"
"SupportPhone"="1-600-114772 (Toll free), 0124-2346992 (Toll Number)"
"SupportURL"="http://www.hp.com/in/support"
"SupportHours"="9 AM to 9 PM (Mon-Sat)"

Source

The maximum size for the oemlogo.bmp is 120x120 pixels according to this forum post.] Use at your own risk. Always back up your registry and create a System Restore point before proceeding! I am not responsible for you borking your computer!

Please be aware that this only applies to Windows XP!

I know this could go in the OS forum...but it will get more attention here.

Ever want to change the graphic that displays when you open the System Control Panel?
Image
That's mine. Create a bitmap file that is no bigger than 172x172 pixels and store it as OEMLOGO.BMP (case sensitive) in C:\WINDOWS\system32. This only works for Windows XP and its variants.

Now, to change the information shown ("Sovereign's Custom|SLI-79GTX 170"), create a file based on this template

Code: Select all

;   Manufacturer and Model are displayed on System.General page
;   Manufacturer is a required field
[general]
Manufacturer=Your Company Name, Inc.
Model=Whatever you want to call your computer


[Support Information]
Line1=Write whatever you want
Line2=on these lines.
Line3=If you want to add more lines
Line4=simply add "Line9," "Line10" etc.
Line5=Capitalization does not matter!
Line6=
Line7=
LINE8=Make sure to leave a space after the last line though! (It doesn't show here although I tried to make it show up...boo on CODE tags)

and save it as OEMINFO.INI in system32.

You're done! I found this at another forum, this is not my own (although the art you see in my logo-space is a compilation of logos from the companies whose parts I use. The only one excluded is Thermaltake).
Last edited by Sovereign on Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:52 am, edited 2 times in total.
Play
Q6600 @ 3.2GHz :: 8GB DDR2-800 :: eVGA 9800GX2 :: 7900GTX (secondary) :: abit IP35 Pro :: 150GB Raptor 10k RPM :: 2x750GB WD Caviar :: 120GB WD :: X-Fi XtremeMusic :: NEC 4551A :: BenQ DVD Combodrive (52x32x52) :: Dual 22" Acer AL2216W :: Thermaltake Armor Black :: Logitech Z5500 5.1

Work
Core 2 Duo @ 2.53GHz :: 4GB DDR3 @ 1067MHz :: 3670 :: Intel PM45 Chipset :: 500GB 5400RPM SATA :: Integrated Audio :: BD-ROM/DVD Burner :: 16" 1920x1080 RGBLED

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Postby dicecca112 » Mon Nov 27, 2006 8:08 pm

Stuck for you sir, I may move it to the OS forum, but for now its fine. Good job.
Image

User avatar
DaIceMan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1599
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Springfield-ish, Missouri
Contact:

Postby DaIceMan » Wed Jan 03, 2007 7:17 pm

that's pretty cool. I think I did that a long time ago on my 98se machine, but had kinda forgotten about it. Thanks for the info.

JSN723
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 1:58 am

Postby JSN723 » Mon Feb 12, 2007 9:11 am

thanks, pretty cool hehe

snowking03
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 9:09 pm
Location: Cal Poly
Contact:

Postby snowking03 » Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:40 pm

Nice write up, I always wondered how OEM's modified that.

tonman23
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:20 pm

Postby tonman23 » Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:57 pm

Haha very cool, will have to make a nice "Tony Owns You" gif and do this to all my friends pc's

User avatar
slugbug
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Postby slugbug » Thu Mar 01, 2007 1:26 am

I'll have to try this when I redo my PC :)

User avatar
Boomerwang
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:11 am
Location: Michigan, U.S.

Postby Boomerwang » Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:07 pm

tonman23 wrote:Haha very cool, will have to make a nice "Tony Owns You" gif and do this to all my friends pc's


Haha I was thinking something similar too. :roll:

So nice to see a way to customize the actual system. And now there's a way to display what a machine contains instead of having to just remember it. =)
- Proposed build for low-end (doom3, fear, battlefield2, etc.) gaming:
MSI K9MM-V microATX
AMD Athlon 64 3800+
2x1GB Super Talent DDR2-800
Silverstone SST-SG01 SFF Case
- Already have:
Western Digital 250GB SATA
Sapphire Radeon X800 GTO

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Postby skier » Tue Apr 03, 2007 4:14 pm

what kind of file to do that?
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

brites
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 7:53 am
Location: Matosinhos, Portugal

Postby brites » Wed Apr 04, 2007 5:39 am

to >skierkid450<

read it very cairfully :lol: ... "....OEMLOGO.BMP..." the only format that works...

brites
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 7:53 am
Location: Matosinhos, Portugal

Postby brites » Wed Apr 04, 2007 5:40 am

And by the way it is not case sensitive... at least in my PC :)

User avatar
camarokid
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 8:15 am
Location: Through the stargate on Planet Dakara (Actually, Ontario Canada)
Contact:

Postby camarokid » Sun Apr 08, 2007 7:51 pm

Right on! Made a logo that I'm going to use on all my builds and service jobs..... Nice touch with the support info, put my phone # in there, etc. Thanks for the post, even though it's been here awhile!
"Do, or do not. There is no try."

Jedi Master Yoda.

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Postby stopthekilling77 » Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:33 pm

in the immortal words of one Napoleon Dynamite...

Flippin' Sweet!
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

Mad_Goku
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 307
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:11 am
Location: StL

Postby Mad_Goku » Mon Apr 09, 2007 6:55 am

This is awesome!!! I'm know what I'm doing when I get home!!!
Intel i7 2600k @ 4.8ghz
Asus P8P67 PRO
ATI 5870
8 GB G-Skill Ripjaw X 1600 @ 7-8-7-24
120gb G-Skill Sniper SSD


Image

User avatar
camarokid
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 8:15 am
Location: Through the stargate on Planet Dakara (Actually, Ontario Canada)
Contact:

Postby camarokid » Wed Apr 11, 2007 1:39 pm

Here's another cool trick to add custom branding on the lower right corner of the start menu. I got this about a year ago from tweakxp.com. It works great and this seemed like the right place to post this.

Have you used someone's new Hewlet Packard with their OEM version of Windows XP? You've seen that HP has their own icon in the Start Menu, underneath Run, that goes to their Help Site. Now, you can have your icon that does anything you want (website, program, etc) and says anything you want. Basically, you are "branding" Windows XP (Home or Pro), great for if you are a computer builder and sell them, or you just want to make Windows XP your own. It involves Regedit.

1. Start up Notepad and create a new registry file (*.reg) and copy and paste the following into it:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}]
@="YOUR TITLE HERE"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\DefaultIcon]
@="YOUR ICON HERE"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\InProcServer32]
@=hex(2):25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,74,00,25,\
00,5c,00,73,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,73,00,68,00,\
64,00,6f,00,63,00,76,00,77,00,2e,00,64,00,6c,00,6c,00,00,00
"ThreadingModel"="Apartment"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\Instance]
"CLSID"="{3f454f0e-42ae-4d7c-8ea3-328250d6e272}"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\Instance\InitPropertyBag]
"CLSID"="{13709620-C279-11CE-A49E-444553540000}"
"method"="ShellExecute"
"Command"="YOUR TITLE HERE"
"Param1"="YOUR FUNCTION HERE"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\shellex]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}]
@=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\shellex\MayChangeDefaultMenu]
@=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\ShellFolder]
"Attributes"=dword:00000000

2. Edit where it says YOUR ICON HERE to a path to an icon (ex. c:\\icon.ico), it must be 24x24 pixels and in *.ico format. Use double back slash for path names.

3. Edit both places where it says YOUR TITLE HERE to what you want it to say in the Start Menu (ex. Elranzer Homepage).

4. Edit where it says YOUR FUNCTION here to what you want it to do when you click it, it can be anything... your website, a local HTML document, a program, a Windows funtion, whatever your imagination can provide (ex. http://www.elranzer.com).

5. Save this file as brand.reg, double-click it to enter in your information, and refresh Explorer (log off/on) to see it in the Start Menu!! This works in both Home and Professional (and probably 64-Bit Professional) Editions!
"Do, or do not. There is no try."



Jedi Master Yoda.

User avatar
elkmanwsu
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: Pullman, WA

Postby elkmanwsu » Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:25 am

haha I remember this...apparently i still have my ini and bmp files in my non-windows harddrive. I totally forgot to put them back after I formatted. I have a picture of an elk and my rig specs. good times :)
Motherboard: ASUS P5K
Processor: 2.40ghz Q6600
Memory: 4gb Corsair DDR2-800
Videocard: Leadtek GeForce 8600GT
Display: Samsung SyncMaster 216BW
Sound: Sound Blaster Audigy
HDD: 1x WD 36gb Raptor, 2x WD 250gb CaviarSE

User avatar
DaIceMan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1599
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Springfield-ish, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Changing System Graphics and Info

Postby DaIceMan » Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:59 pm

any trick for changing the hover color of the start button? I use the Royale Noir theme, and the green start button seems to clash. I would love to change it to black on hover and active. anyone? anyone? bueller?
Gamer - Thermaltake Element S | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Black | Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3L | Intel E8400 | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro | 4GB OCZ Reaper Ram | XFX 8800GTX | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer | Seagate 7200.10 320GB

HTPC / Folder - Palit 9600GT 1GB Sonic | AMD Phenom 9600 | Corsair DHX 4GB | ECS GF8200A | OCZ StealthXStream 500
Thanks to Palit, AMD, Corsair and ECS for sponsoring the 2008 Folding Give-away!

Image

User avatar
camarokid
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 8:15 am
Location: Through the stargate on Planet Dakara (Actually, Ontario Canada)
Contact:

Re: Changing System Graphics and Info

Postby camarokid » Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:09 pm

Check this out then.....
http://www.istartedsomething.com/20061029/royale-noir/
Royale noir theme with black start button
"Do, or do not. There is no try."



Jedi Master Yoda.

User avatar
DaIceMan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1599
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Springfield-ish, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Changing System Graphics and Info

Postby DaIceMan » Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:33 pm

camarokid wrote:Check this out then.....
http://www.istartedsomething.com/20061029/royale-noir/
Royale noir theme with black start button


yes, that is what I have. But when you hover the start button, it changes from Black to bright green (like normal) and when active (start window open) it is dark green, as you can see but just barely, in the screenshots posted.
Gamer - Thermaltake Element S | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Black | Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3L | Intel E8400 | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro | 4GB OCZ Reaper Ram | XFX 8800GTX | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer | Seagate 7200.10 320GB

HTPC / Folder - Palit 9600GT 1GB Sonic | AMD Phenom 9600 | Corsair DHX 4GB | ECS GF8200A | OCZ StealthXStream 500
Thanks to Palit, AMD, Corsair and ECS for sponsoring the 2008 Folding Give-away!

Image

User avatar
stereo55
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:06 pm
Location: Menifee , Calif

Re: Changing System Graphics and Info

Postby stereo55 » Mon Jul 23, 2007 9:50 am

Hehe heh ... kinda cool . I'll have to give this a shot . Thx :partyman:
* i7 5930K @ 4GHz 1.085v - Corsair H100i GTX - Asrock x99 OC Formula 3.1
* Sandisk Extreme Pro 480gb - HGST NAS 3TB - 2x WD Blue 1TB - 32gig Crucial 2133 - EVGA 980 Ti Classified - Corsair 780T/Seasonic 760 Platinum
* LG 34" Ultra Wide - Hanns-G HZ281HPB 27.5" - LG WH16NS40 Blu Burner - SoundBlaster Z - Klipsch 4.1's/Altec center channel
* Windows 8.1 Pro/Windows 10
* Retired game rig i7 920 @ 3.9 - EVGA x58 - still going strong!

Heatware


Return to “General Computer Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests