After the WAR

Here you can find out about our Folding Team! Our goal: to understand protein folding, protein aggregation, and related diseases
User avatar
shamrok3
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: After the WAR

Postby shamrok3 » Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:06 pm

If you are running command line folding, run config, if you are running system tray, right click and select configure. (For Systray) Go to Advanced, there is a slider for CPU usage percentage, reduce it. (For Command Line) Select yes for configure advanced options and there should be a question about CPU usage percentage, change the amount to something like 70-80%.
Multiple Exclamation marks - The first sign of an unsound mind.

Rig: Intel 3930K, Noctua U12P-SE2 , ASUS P9X79, 16GB RAM, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3, 2x3TB Seagate (RAID 0), 1TB Samsung F3, EVGA GTX760, CM 650 Watt PSU
NZXT HU002 Case, LG Blu-Ray Writer/Combo
21.5" BenQ E2200HD @ 1920x1080, Razer Lachesis/Lycosa/Sennheiser HD558, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: After the WAR

Postby kylepaddock » Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:12 pm

i have my GPU folding. i am moving to win7 so its on and off.
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
Sapientun
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:59 am

Re: After the WAR

Postby Sapientun » Fri Jan 15, 2010 7:56 pm

shamrok3 wrote:If you are running command line folding, run config, if you are running system tray, right click and select configure. (For Systray) Go to Advanced, there is a slider for CPU usage percentage, reduce it. (For Command Line) Select yes for configure advanced options and there should be a question about CPU usage percentage, change the amount to something like 70-80%.

I thought that doesn't after affect GPU usage? Afterall, it's called CPU usage percentage...

User avatar
shamrok3
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: After the WAR

Postby shamrok3 » Sat Jan 16, 2010 5:38 pm

I'm pretty sure it still reduces your GPU usage.
Multiple Exclamation marks - The first sign of an unsound mind.

Rig: Intel 3930K, Noctua U12P-SE2 , ASUS P9X79, 16GB RAM, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3, 2x3TB Seagate (RAID 0), 1TB Samsung F3, EVGA GTX760, CM 650 Watt PSU
NZXT HU002 Case, LG Blu-Ray Writer/Combo
21.5" BenQ E2200HD @ 1920x1080, Razer Lachesis/Lycosa/Sennheiser HD558, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: After the WAR

Postby kylepaddock » Sat Jan 16, 2010 5:45 pm

Sapientun wrote:
shamrok3 wrote:If you are running command line folding, run config, if you are running system tray, right click and select configure. (For Systray) Go to Advanced, there is a slider for CPU usage percentage, reduce it. (For Command Line) Select yes for configure advanced options and there should be a question about CPU usage percentage, change the amount to something like 70-80%.

I thought that doesn't after affect GPU usage? Afterall, it's called CPU usage percentage...

is that info how to get me smp clients sh show up in my sidebar thing?
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
shamrok3
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: After the WAR

Postby shamrok3 » Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:25 pm

No, as far as I know, SMP folding is only command line. You can run multiple single core folding clients, which does show up as a taskbar icon.
Multiple Exclamation marks - The first sign of an unsound mind.

Rig: Intel 3930K, Noctua U12P-SE2 , ASUS P9X79, 16GB RAM, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3, 2x3TB Seagate (RAID 0), 1TB Samsung F3, EVGA GTX760, CM 650 Watt PSU
NZXT HU002 Case, LG Blu-Ray Writer/Combo
21.5" BenQ E2200HD @ 1920x1080, Razer Lachesis/Lycosa/Sennheiser HD558, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: After the WAR

Postby kylepaddock » Sun Jan 17, 2010 10:44 pm

shamrok3 wrote:No, as far as I know, SMP folding is only command line. You can run multiple single core folding clients, which does show up as a taskbar icon.

i an doing the single core ones and 4 of them, i cant get it to use 4 cores in one.
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
shamrok3
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: After the WAR

Postby shamrok3 » Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:06 am

You might be able to set it as SMP, but then it's so much faster (especially on AMD) to run Linux VM. Try going into the config, and under additional (client?) parameters type in -smp 4, or if you have an i7 with virtualization/hyper-threading (whichever one gives you virtual strings) type in -smp 8, where the number at the end is how many cores you have. (I haven't tried this so, don't count on it, I just use Linux VM folding and ignore the minimized window)
Multiple Exclamation marks - The first sign of an unsound mind.

Rig: Intel 3930K, Noctua U12P-SE2 , ASUS P9X79, 16GB RAM, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3, 2x3TB Seagate (RAID 0), 1TB Samsung F3, EVGA GTX760, CM 650 Watt PSU
NZXT HU002 Case, LG Blu-Ray Writer/Combo
21.5" BenQ E2200HD @ 1920x1080, Razer Lachesis/Lycosa/Sennheiser HD558, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: After the WAR

Postby kylepaddock » Mon Jan 18, 2010 10:02 am

i have vmware downloaded, i just dont know how to use it, i have a AMD phenom
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
Wifuzzy
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 8:29 pm

Re: After the WAR

Postby Wifuzzy » Mon Jan 18, 2010 11:36 am

I won one of the 965 X4's...what would that get me for PPD? I was originally gonna put in in my HTPC, but that would need a motherboard change and would create Windows 7 activation issues. Is it worth folding on it or should I just stick to my GPUs?

User avatar
shamrok3
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: After the WAR

Postby shamrok3 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:33 am

For kyle: Geokilla gave me this link a couple of weeks ago http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.aspx?m=4464 it has a pretty good tutorial on getting VM folding running.
For Fuzzy: My PII 940 @ 3.41GHz (Most of the time) gives around 850-1000PPD. I'm not entirely sure on this figure as I fold on my Desktop CPU, GPU, my Laptop CPU and GPU and my PS3, but I'm pretty sure most of my pts come from my Desktop CPU as the Laptop CPU finishes a WU only around every 3 or so days, the Desktop GPU gives around ~500PPD and same on Laptop GPU. As far as I know the PS3 has been folding for a week now and has only got ~250pts. I sorta feel like my PPD is a bit low for the hardware I'm running, but that's what I'm getting.
Multiple Exclamation marks - The first sign of an unsound mind.

Rig: Intel 3930K, Noctua U12P-SE2 , ASUS P9X79, 16GB RAM, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3, 2x3TB Seagate (RAID 0), 1TB Samsung F3, EVGA GTX760, CM 650 Watt PSU
NZXT HU002 Case, LG Blu-Ray Writer/Combo
21.5" BenQ E2200HD @ 1920x1080, Razer Lachesis/Lycosa/Sennheiser HD558, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: After the WAR

Postby kylepaddock » Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:41 am

it says bigdav is for 8 core systems,
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

spitter
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:33 am

Re: After the WAR

Postby spitter » Tue Jan 19, 2010 1:18 pm

Wifuzzy wrote:I won one of the 965 X4's...what would that get me for PPD? I was originally gonna put in in my HTPC, but that would need a motherboard change and would create Windows 7 activation issues. Is it worth folding on it or should I just stick to my GPUs?



You can get 4k-5k ppd out of it if you use smp notfred!!

http://forums.legitreviews.com/about24341.html

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: After the WAR

Postby kylepaddock » Tue Jan 19, 2010 1:22 pm

spitter wrote:
Wifuzzy wrote:I won one of the 965 X4's...what would that get me for PPD? I was originally gonna put in in my HTPC, but that would need a motherboard change and would create Windows 7 activation issues. Is it worth folding on it or should I just stick to my GPUs?



You can get 4k-5k ppd out of it if you use smp notfred!!

http://forums.legitreviews.com/about24341.html

if u dont want it, i got a use.
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: After the WAR

Postby kylepaddock » Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:22 pm

i get this error now,
Attachments
fah.JPG
fah.JPG (113.32 KiB) Viewed 2305 times
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: After the WAR

Postby kylepaddock » Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:44 pm

fixed that problem and now in the login screen i cant select amd and it goes to intel?
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
shamrok3
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: After the WAR

Postby shamrok3 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:19 pm

Click in the screen to send keystrokes to the VM. Restart the VM and quickly press in the screen and press down, then enter.
Multiple Exclamation marks - The first sign of an unsound mind.

Rig: Intel 3930K, Noctua U12P-SE2 , ASUS P9X79, 16GB RAM, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3, 2x3TB Seagate (RAID 0), 1TB Samsung F3, EVGA GTX760, CM 650 Watt PSU
NZXT HU002 Case, LG Blu-Ray Writer/Combo
21.5" BenQ E2200HD @ 1920x1080, Razer Lachesis/Lycosa/Sennheiser HD558, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: After the WAR

Postby kylepaddock » Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:36 pm

ok, thanks, is working now, how to I get fahmon to show it?
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: After the WAR

Postby geokilla » Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:49 pm

Doesn't matter if you use the Intel or AMD build. In fact, I seem to get more PPD with the Intel build.
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: After the WAR

Postby kylepaddock » Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:00 pm

it looks like it says 17 hrs, and looks like a single core unit,250K
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!


Return to “Legit Folding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests