question

Here you can find out about our Folding Team! Our goal: to understand protein folding, protein aggregation, and related diseases
wi-fuzzy
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 5:10 pm

question

Postby wi-fuzzy » Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:00 pm

how much of a cpu do you need to run 4 gts 450s for folding? And can you run 4 nvidia cards in a crossfire motherboard or do you need the sli?

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: question

Postby skier » Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:49 pm

wi-fuzzy wrote:how much of a cpu do you need to run 4 gts 450s for folding? And can you run 4 nvidia cards in a crossfire motherboard or do you need the sli?



find a board with 4 PCIe slots and you can run it, cards can't fold in SLI anyway so you just add in dummy plug 'monitors' so they each have an independent work load

as for CPU doesn't really matter as long as it is a Core2 or better (pentium4 *could* run it if you are just running it headless after install)
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

wi-fuzzy
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 5:10 pm

Re: question

Postby wi-fuzzy » Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:22 am

It's gonna be 4 gtx 560s...they are on thier way. Do I really neeed the dummy plug in win 7? My last folding session I ran 2 gtx 275s without a dummy plug.


Return to “Legit Folding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests