Decision Time

Operating Systems
Windows, Linux, Solaris, Red Hat, etc.....32 bit or 64 bit.
If its an OS, its here.

Vista or stick with XP?

Vista 32 bit
0
No votes
Vista 64 bit (requires purchase)
11
69%
XP Pro
5
31%
Doesn't matter
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 16

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Decision Time

Postby FZ1 » Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:22 pm

For my i7 build, I can install XP Pro (32 bit) or Vista (32 bit) business (got it free through school). Seems like most of the biggest issues with Vista have been worked out. I'd like to see what everyone thinks. For reference, I will be running the following core components:

i7 920 (shooting for ~3.6GHz)
Asus P6T
3GB Corsair Dominator 1600
9800GX2
Joe

User avatar
Alathald
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Southern Ohio
Contact:

Re: Decision Time

Postby Alathald » Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:38 pm

You can use the 32bit vista key to install 64bit and that's what I'd do... :drinkers:
Image

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Decision Time

Postby InspectahACE » Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:43 pm

Ditto on what Alathald said...good thing is, I know some of those mobo vendors are releasing bios updates that let ya use the whole 1600 mhz speed on the ram..so that will be nice..
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Decision Time

Postby FZ1 » Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:55 pm

Alathald wrote:You can use the 32bit vista key to install 64bit and that's what I'd do... :drinkers:

But then I would need to buy the 64bit version :?
Joe

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Decision Time

Postby martini161 » Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:48 pm

well since you own the rights to use a copy of vista, be it 32 or 64 bit it be legal to just download it

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Decision Time

Postby DMB2000uk » Thu Dec 18, 2008 4:33 pm

Vista is the way to go :P

*shudder* did I just say that? :axe:

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
Alathald
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Southern Ohio
Contact:

Re: Decision Time

Postby Alathald » Thu Dec 18, 2008 10:08 pm

FZ1 wrote:But then I would need to buy the 64bit version :?
Nope, you'd just need to find/borrow a 64bit disk. You can use a 32bit key with 64bit and vice versa with Vista. martini has a good idea for acquiring said disk :mrgreen:
Image

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Decision Time

Postby Skippman » Fri Dec 19, 2008 6:37 am

Vista 64bit.

My Reasons
DirectX 10
Sooner or later you'll want more than 3GB RAM
Why install something that may soon no longer be supported
64bit O/S

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3714
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Decision Time

Postby KnightRid » Fri Dec 19, 2008 7:03 am

Vista 64 - like everyone said - just get a copy of a disc and you can legally use your key to install it. There used to be a way to get one from MS for a small fee, but I think that ended.

XP is outdated - you want to look to the future, not the past ;)

Mike

actually I guess they are still doing it - http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/1 ... fault.mspx
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Decision Time

Postby FZ1 » Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:56 am

Are there still al ot of driver issues with V64 though? Specifically, for NVidia and X-Fi sound cards?
Joe

User avatar
Illuminati
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2378
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Wright City, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: Decision Time

Postby Illuminati » Fri Dec 19, 2008 1:37 pm

I haven't seen any driver issues for a long time now from a major company... at least a year. Nvidia 64bit drivers are fine in my experience for basic functionality... but I don't have a lot of gaming variety on my vista systems. Check the manufacturer's sites for 64bit drivers and as long as they are recent, you shouldn't have any problems.
Justin West
Server Admin & Forum Moderator
Follow me on Twitter | Find us on Facebook

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Decision Time

Postby martini161 » Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:33 pm

well realisticly what will you be doing with it?

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Decision Time

Postby FZ1 » Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:45 pm

Normal stuff plus gaming, video/image editing (PS CS3), media encoding/ripping. Eventually i will pick up a blu-ray drive to watch movies on it.
Joe

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Decision Time

Postby martini161 » Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:46 pm

no reason to go 64bit really then... personally i would go with xp pro

User avatar
Illuminati
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2378
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Wright City, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: Decision Time

Postby Illuminati » Fri Dec 19, 2008 3:04 pm

martini161 wrote:no reason to go 64bit really then... personally i would go with xp pro

Well, I'd twist that around and say no reason to stay with XP Pro then... when is EOL? Despite what you might think, 64bit is no harder to install or use than 32bit and can do all normal everyday work plus gaming. People should be asking "what reasons do I have NOT to go Vista 64bit", not "what reasons do I have NOT to go to with a 7 year old OS".

I'd say XP Pro should be off the table at this point. If Vista 64 scares you, then go Vista 32.

On a Core i7 with triple channel... you may find in the near future that you could use the extra three gigs (for a total of 6 gigs in triple channel) with the video converting and you'll be kicking yourself for not going 64bit from the beginning.
Justin West
Server Admin & Forum Moderator
Follow me on Twitter | Find us on Facebook

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Decision Time

Postby martini161 » Fri Dec 19, 2008 3:29 pm

i have vista 64bit on my HTPC, its not so much that fact that its the 32 bit version then that its vista that i dont like. XP is very mature and works with everything, no questions asked. and personally im thinking about switching to 64bit linux for my HTPC

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Decision Time

Postby FZ1 » Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:57 pm

I think I'll give v32 a go. My version of Photoshop CS3 is not optimized for 64bit which is what I use the most. This will tide me over until Windows 7.
Joe

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: Decision Time

Postby vicaphit » Fri Dec 19, 2008 6:32 pm

I guess if you ever add more RAM you can switch to 64bit.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
Alathald
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Southern Ohio
Contact:

Re: Decision Time

Postby Alathald » Fri Dec 19, 2008 6:58 pm

TBH there is no real reason NOT to go with Vista x64, pretty much all the 32bit programs (including PsCS3) will run just as well on x64 as they do on x86 (faster if you have 4gb or higher ram) and the ones that are 64bit will run much better. I'd try to obtain a x64 copy of the install media and at least give it a shot, if you aren't satisfied you still have your original x86 (32bit) media to fall back on.

As KnightRid pointed out you can get the media for about $10 from M$ or free from many places online (eg technet if you're a subscriber or a torrent otherwise).

EDIT: erm, had a grammatical inaccuracy 8-[
Last edited by Alathald on Fri Dec 19, 2008 8:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Decision Time

Postby stopthekilling77 » Fri Dec 19, 2008 8:17 pm

Alathald wrote:TBH there is no real reason to go with Vista x64


*ahem*
"No real reason NOT to go with Vista x64"
(You're welcome Kyle :P )
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:


Return to “Operating Systems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests