Go to 64 bit or no???

Operating Systems
Windows, Linux, Solaris, Red Hat, etc.....32 bit or 64 bit.
If its an OS, its here.
User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Go to 64 bit or no???

Postby Merlin » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:19 am

I was just wondering if there is any speed advantage to switching to Windows home 64 bit and if there are drivers for most peripherals available for 64 bit. Just trying to figure out if I should switch.
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33783
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Go to 64 bit or no???

Postby Apoptosis » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:24 am

Every review i've done on Legit Reviews from 2007 to 2009 all have used 64-bit Vista... All my personal desktop systems use 64-bit and I have no problems with anything...

If you have a need for more than 3GB of memory then go 64-bit without a doubt.

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: Go to 64 bit or no???

Postby Merlin » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:27 am

I don't really need it. I have 2 gig now that works fine. I was mostly curious if anything loaded faster etc. under 64 bit.
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Go to 64 bit or no???

Postby DMB2000uk » Sun Jan 25, 2009 5:13 pm

Depends if the application was coded (or ported effectively) to make use of 64bit.

No idea on actual figures or anything, but I wouldn't have though there would have been any substantial difference between the two at this point in time (while a lot of 32 bit based programs are still mainstream)

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Go to 64 bit or no???

Postby FZ1 » Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:03 pm

I was unsure about it and made the switch. There is only 1 app I like that doesn't work for now...
Joe

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: Go to 64 bit or no???

Postby Merlin » Sun Jan 25, 2009 10:43 pm

thanks for the info....looks like no unless you have apps that could use over 3 gig of ram.
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU


Return to “Operating Systems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests