Page 1 of 1

Do I need new OS

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2018 7:59 pm
by Merlin
Its been a while since I upgraded my MOBO and CPU together. If I do MOBO,CPU and RAM will my OS think its a new PC and force me to buy a new copy and do a fresh install etc. ?

Re: Do I need new OS

Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:48 am
by KnightRid
With Windows 7, 8, 8.1, or 10 - maybe. If it is OEM then 99% definite you need a new copy of Windows.

If it is a retail copy you can usually call Microsoft and explain your motherboard died and you had to replace and they will normally allow a 1 time re-activation (the automated system used to work about 5% of the time for me when I fixed computers so it could work but you will probably have to talk to someone). With Windows 10 they made it a bit better - https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... are-change - but you have to have a Microsoft account because just like Facebook, they want to track you to sell all your information ;)

Re: Do I need new OS

Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 9:17 pm
by Merlin
I think I would almost rather buy a new copy than to give microsoft my info.
Thanks for the info. !!

Re: Do I need new OS

Posted: Fri Mar 23, 2018 11:06 pm
by Merlin
So far it looks like I got lucky as it hasnt asked to to anything OS related since I did the install.

Re: Do I need new OS

Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2018 3:45 am
by KnightRid
Merlin wrote:So far it looks like I got lucky as it hasnt asked to to anything OS related since I did the install.


Check in Control Panel - System to see if says activated down at the bottom.

Or Windows 10 crappy interface - PC Settings - Update & Security - Activation

If you log in to windows with a MS account then it should be ok

It would be really weird if Windows doesn't throw a fit as I have never seen that!