Phenom II X3 710 ---> 4 Cores

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Phenom II X3 710 ---> 4 Cores

Postby geokilla » Mon Feb 23, 2009 4:14 pm

Korean Source

http://translate.google.com/translate?prev=_t&hl=ko&ie=UTF-8&u=http://playwares.com/xe/%3Fdocument_srl%3D2233323&sl=ko&tl=en&history_state0=

http://translate.google.com/translate?prev=_t&hl=ko&ie=UTF-8&u=http://www.playwares.com/xe/%3Fdocument_srl%3D2246121%2361&sl=ko&tl=en&history_state0=

Thread that I got this from

So who's willing to give this a try? I'd love to try it if I had the money. I could care less if my Windows gets corrupted or not because I'd have everything backed up onto my other computer. Then I'd test the Phenom rig to make sure that it's all stable and everything. It's not like I have anything important in my computer besides some music and homework files.
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33721
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Phenom II X3 710 ---> 4 Cores

Postby Apoptosis » Mon Feb 23, 2009 7:32 pm

no need to go out and buy a board... I asked AMD about this and they are checking it out internally.
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
stev
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 7:29 am
Location: Nashville, TN suburbs
Contact:

Re: Phenom II X3 710 ---> 4 Cores

Postby stev » Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:37 pm

Not sure what part of the articles I liked best?

The part to unlock an X3 to an X4 or the comments translated below the article. :lol:

If the unlocking provides a stable X4 that works with less thermal heat build up, then it may be nice to try.

Not full sure if AMD turned off one core due to heat complexity or if making X4 cores prevented some people with budget builds to go in price towards an X3 between the X2 and X4. Sometimes, shutting down a core can be a marketing tool. :?
AMD X2 TK-57 1.90Ghz | F700 Quanta | PC2-5300 DDR2 2Gb | GeForce 7000M | DVDRAM GSA-T40N | HP LaserJet 1018
My Stats http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/extra_page.php?s=&u=303718
Image
http://www.eff.org - Electronic Frontier Foundation - working to protect your digital rights

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Phenom II X3 710 ---> 4 Cores

Postby geokilla » Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:09 pm

Thread of someone getting this to work
It seems to me that this is limited to certain batches. The OP in the thread has batch 0904.
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Phenom II X3 710 ---> 4 Cores

Postby geokilla » Fri Feb 27, 2009 4:23 pm

So any update on this Apop?

AMD might've turned off because they deemed the 4th core faulty. I dunno...but as long as its stable and I don't get data corrupting and BSODs 24/7, it's good enough for me.
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!


Return to “AMD Processor Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest