Taking the AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition for a spin

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
User avatar
Gomeler
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 449
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 6:05 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Taking the AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition for a spin

Postby Gomeler » Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:28 pm

I'm swamped with reviews and school work but last night I spent ~90 minutes to test my 720 Black Edition. I was told this chip was a monster so before testing with LN2 this weekend I figure I should spend a few minutes testing it under the cascade.

CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition
MB: MSI 790GX-G65(review inbound, don't tell Nathan I used it :oops: )
DDR3: Corsair 1866C7 Dominator GT (review also inbound =\)
GPU: XFX GTX 285 Black Edition
PSU: Corsair HX1000
HDD: ACARD 9010 DDR2 Ram-drive
OS: Windows XP Service Pack 2
Cooling: 2 stage cascade, evap @ -94C

PiFast

spi-32m-5160MHz.gif
(66.55 KiB) Downloaded 27 times



SuperPi 1M

spi-1m-5163MHz.gif
(64.14 KiB) Downloaded 33 times



Super Pi 32M
pifast-5160MHz.gif
(50.65 KiB) Downloaded 3230 times



You'll notice these benchmarks were all done at the same frequency. The next multiplier jump was unstable with even PiFast and I only wanted to use 1.55vCPU for these initial tests. With 1.7v or so I could have benched stable around 5280MHz I believe. These initial results bode well for the upcoming LN2 testing. Let's hope for 6GHz :supz:
3DMark06 Addict

Image

User avatar
GI-JOE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 461
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:36 am
Contact:

Re: Taking the AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition for a spin

Postby GI-JOE » Fri Mar 27, 2009 2:12 pm

Aww I'm telling! [-X
-----------------------------------------------------
- CoolerMaster Elite 330
- Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 @ 3.16ghz (9.5 x 333 @ 1.12 volts)
- Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
- 4 GB G-Skill DDR2 800
- Asus 8800GT 512mb w/Glaciator Fansink
- Antec Trio TruePower 650w

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Taking the AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition for a spin

Postby Major_A » Fri Mar 27, 2009 2:23 pm

Out of curiosity did you try unlocking the 4th core? I have a friend coming over after he gets off work and I'm putting his computer together with this CPU. Is it better to find the overclock the old fashioned way (i.e. FSB adjustments) or simply playing with the multiplier?

User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Taking the AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition for a spin

Postby pwcmed » Fri Mar 27, 2009 2:55 pm

Major_A wrote:Out of curiosity did you try unlocking the 4th core? I have a friend coming over after he gets off work and I'm putting his computer together with this CPU. Is it better to find the overclock the old fashioned way (i.e. FSB adjustments) or simply playing with the multiplier?



I was thinking the same thing.

User avatar
Gomeler
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 449
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 6:05 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: Taking the AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition for a spin

Postby Gomeler » Fri Mar 27, 2009 4:29 pm

Major_A wrote:Out of curiosity did you try unlocking the 4th core? I have a friend coming over after he gets off work and I'm putting his computer together with this CPU. Is it better to find the overclock the old fashioned way (i.e. FSB adjustments) or simply playing with the multiplier?


sadly this chip doesn't unlock, otherwise it would be even more awesome. On air-cooling I would say adjust the HTT speed first to find roughly what the max frequency of the cores are. Once you know the max frequency then you can find the best combination of CPU multiplier and HTT speed to achieve your CPU speed and also achieve the DDR2 speed and northbridge speed you desire.
3DMark06 Addict

Image

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Taking the AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition for a spin

Postby Major_A » Fri Mar 27, 2009 4:35 pm

So basically... Find roughly the max FSB then play with the multiplier? I'm not looking to find the max overclock here, seeing as I want it to be stable and I won't have that much time with the system.

Any magic voltage settings that I should know about? I haven't overclocked an AMD processor since my old Opteron 170.

User avatar
Gomeler
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 449
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 6:05 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: Taking the AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition for a spin

Postby Gomeler » Fri Mar 27, 2009 4:45 pm

Major_A wrote:So basically... Find roughly the max FSB then play with the multiplier? I'm not looking to find the max overclock here, seeing as I want it to be stable and I won't have that much time with the system.

Any magic voltage settings that I should know about? I haven't overclocked an AMD processor since my old Opteron 170.


Ahh ok, then just stick with the default 200MHz HTT speed. This way you can just overclock with the half multipliers, 100MHz a jump. I'd say somewhere in between 3600MHz and 3900MHz are the average air overclocks on the core and 2700MHz to 2800MHz on the northbridge with these chips. You can also be a bit liberal with the voltages compared to Intel chips, I have been using 1.45vCPU and 1.375vNB along with 1.71vDIMM using DDR3. I've seen people using upwards of 2.3vDIMM 24/7 with DDR2 so I imagine I could go higher with the vDIMM but these sticks just don't need it.

In the images above you can see what I was talking about, I found a combination of CPU multiplier and HTT speed that resulted in close to the max speed for this chip while letting me get my memory and northbridge at the speeds I wanted with the dividers available to me.
3DMark06 Addict

Image

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Taking the AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition for a spin

Postby Major_A » Fri Mar 27, 2009 4:55 pm

Thanks for the info. I'll see how it clocks when I get it put together.

User avatar
kappage
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1358
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:38 pm

Re: Taking the AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition for a spin

Postby kappage » Sun Apr 05, 2009 4:55 am

WOW that is an awesome clock!
Main Rig: C2D 6850 @ 3.0Ghz, 2Gb DDR2667Mhz @ 833Mhz 5-5-5-15 Timings , XFX xXx 8600GTS @ 730/2260 , Gigabyte Ga-945GCM-S2L
JukeBox: Currently in an Upgrade but im too lazy to do it at the moment
I² keepin it real

User avatar
jedihobbit
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:57 pm
Location: Central VA, USA
Contact:

Re: Taking the AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition for a spin

Postby jedihobbit » Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:39 pm

Have any advise for one that doesn't have the "latest and greatest"? :-k

Currently my Biostar 790GX XE / 720BE / TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF will only do 3.6GHz (18 x 200) "stable" (several hour runs of Prime and OCCT).

However have managed a couple of S & G runs of SPi (8M) at the following settings.........

Image & Image
DreamCatcher v4.0 DOA >> SG01 Evo, TA790GXE, PII X4 945 (AQ H2O Cooled), BFG GTX280 H2OC, Seagate 7200.10 ST380815AS 80GB, 2 x WD5000KSs, TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF, MODU82+ EMD525AWT, XP Home SP2
Kermit v4.0 VIRUSed >> Ultra MX6, 785GM-E65, PII X4 955 @ 3.70GHZ(air), XFX GTX285, Raptor X, F3-12800CL7D-2GBPI, OCZ700MXSP ModXStream Pro, XP Home SP2
Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE @ 3.00GHZ(air), 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3


Return to “AMD Processor Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests