Need Help Overclocking AMD Phenom 9600

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
Post Reply
Shalashaska
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:44 pm

Need Help Overclocking AMD Phenom 9600

Post by Shalashaska » Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:56 pm

Ok, I don't know if anyone has already talk about this but I need help. I've been trying to overclock my AMD phenom X4 9600 from 2.3ghz to 3.0ghz. idk if it's possible with this type of proc. My motherboard has the ability for EasyOC in the bios. So i've done that but its being unstable if I do anything past 2.6ghz. idk what to set the NB at or the multiplier frequency or whatever it's called. I'm new to OC'ing but would love to try it out. if you could help that would be great.

I have
ASrock A780gxh/128m motherbaord
AMD phenom X4 9600 2.3ghz
700watt psu
4GB Ram Kingston HyperX 1066
XFX Radeon 4890

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: Need Help Overclocking AMD Phenom 9600

Post by kylepaddock » Sat Jan 30, 2010 9:53 am

Welcome to Legit Reviews.
I overclocked my 9500. Here is my info on that to help you.
Attachments
9500.jpg
9500.jpg (114.56 KiB) Viewed 4616 times
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Need Help Overclocking AMD Phenom 9600

Post by Major_A » Sun Jan 31, 2010 11:44 am

Honestly you probably won't get far. The Phenom 1 series of CPUs were notorious for their lack of overclocking headroom. This coming from someone that's tying this on a Phenom 1 X3 that doesn't overclock much more than a couple hundred MHz.

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: Need Help Overclocking AMD Phenom 9600

Post by kylepaddock » Sun Jan 31, 2010 1:30 pm

@major your are correct. they are harddddd to OC
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
ratNukit
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 7:38 am
Location: Hamburg - Germany

Re: Need Help Overclocking AMD Phenom 9600

Post by ratNukit » Mon Feb 01, 2010 7:08 am

A friend of mine got his 9600 ( with unlocked multiplier) stable at 3 Ghz (multi set at x15) but with 1,55 V and it's running damned hot even with good aftermarket cooling idle at 50 degrees and load over 70.
Image

Raraniel
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 11:46 pm

Re: Need Help Overclocking AMD Phenom 9600

Post by Raraniel » Mon Apr 12, 2010 2:56 pm

I ran a 9950 (2.6 ghz) and couldn't get it much past 3.0. The Phenom II's offer much higher headroom.

Post Reply