10 core AMD (?Phenom II)

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
Ken
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:20 am

10 core AMD (?Phenom II)

Postby Ken » Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:35 am

Hi, All

Can anyone tell me if AMD will bring out a 10 core Processor with speeds above 3.0 any time soon maybe in the Phenom line.. Other than the 10 Core AMD Opteron line.

Thanks

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: 10 core AMD (?Phenom II)

Postby Major_A » Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:55 am

Doubt it, they've moved on to Bulldozer and Trinity.

User avatar
lordvic
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 3:00 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Re: 10 core AMD (?Phenom II)

Postby lordvic » Wed Jul 25, 2012 2:13 pm

As Major has already stated, the Phenom II product has reached it's end of life, and is almost completely phased out by the new chips.

Beside, do you really need 10 cores? For what? Day-to-day computing won't use even 6 or 8-cores - let alone 10.
If you are thinking about doing something else (server, high-end workstation, Cloud, virtualization, etc) think about using the CPUs AMD has for that task; the Opterons. They go up all the way to 16-cores.
Cooler Master HAF 932 // Phenom II 1090T @ 4.1GHz (not 110% stable) // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Thermaltake Frio CPU Cooler // Sapphire Dual-X HD 7970 @ 1150/1500 // 8GB (2X4GB) G.Skill RipJaws + 8GB (2X4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX @1600 8-9-8-21-1T // Corsair TX850 // Corsair ForceGT 120GB SSD // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // LiteON DVD-RW // Windows 7 Ult. 64-bit

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33616
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: 10 core AMD (?Phenom II)

Postby Apoptosis » Fri Jul 27, 2012 5:01 am

no time soon for desktop
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

Ken
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:20 am

Re: 10 core AMD (?Phenom II)

Postby Ken » Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:20 pm

Thanks for all the info.

FYI

After diging a little bit on the web I come across info. that they are going to bring out a ---- "10 core PILEDRIVER" later on this year
but no info on speed.

I did get into the OPTERON when I first started out but the 246 Opteron processers cost me about $650.00 ea and I dont want to go that way again to much $$$$ and now you can pick them up for about $10.00 ea or less

Also the 8 core's have been out for a while and I would rather wait for a while and do the 10 core.

I do Audio file conversion on a big scale and had my 6 core use all but about 2% of all my Phenom II X6 1055T 2.80 Ghz with 6 Gig of memory.

I hope the PILEDRIVER 10 core will fill the ticket for me.

Thanks, Ken

INeedAFnSuffix
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 9:25 am

Re: 10 core AMD (?Phenom II)

Postby INeedAFnSuffix » Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:50 pm

Doubt it. If it was released it would probably have 150W TDP thermals
But no way it's not like they planned a 5 module version either


Return to “AMD Processor Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest