my new rig

Want to show off that smoking system or your latest creation?
loki-will-kill-you
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:18 am
Location: UK

my new rig

Postby loki-will-kill-you » Fri Nov 07, 2008 6:59 am

after giving up on my second asus crosshair mobo and returning it for a refund i have as follows

asus m2n32 ws pro mobo
amd athlon 64 x2 black edition cpu
2x 1gb ocz pc2 6400 gold ram
850 watt alpha power psu
swiftech h20 120 compact water cooler
ati radeon x1750 graphics card

i have had no problems with this setup so far, the water cooling kit is brilliant so simple to put together and reasonably priced this whole setup cost me around 200 pounds in total all new, now i need to get it overclock a bit i think, any help with this will be apprieciated

will try and get pictures up soon but the inside of my case looks like a bomb went off in a hay barn!
If in doubt hit it with a hammer, if that fails buy a bigger hammer!

asus m2n32 ws pro mobo
AMD athlon 64 5400x2 black edition cpu
2x 1gb ocz pc2 6400 gold ram
850 watt alpha power psu
swiftech h20 120 compact water cooler
ATI radeon HD2900XT graphics card

loki-will-kill-you
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:18 am
Location: UK

Re: my new rig

Postby loki-will-kill-you » Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:42 am

just ordered a Gainward BLISS 6800 GS ‘Goes like hell’ graphics card new for 35 pounds so we'll see how that goes.
If in doubt hit it with a hammer, if that fails buy a bigger hammer!

asus m2n32 ws pro mobo
AMD athlon 64 5400x2 black edition cpu
2x 1gb ocz pc2 6400 gold ram
850 watt alpha power psu
swiftech h20 120 compact water cooler
ATI radeon HD2900XT graphics card

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33853
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: my new rig

Postby Apoptosis » Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:48 am

Post up some pictures! As for the wiring and such, no worries... The PC's I build for others are clean, but my own I usually just toss it in there as no one is looking and I change crap around too much to zip tie anything off.

loki-will-kill-you
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:18 am
Location: UK

Re: my new rig

Postby loki-will-kill-you » Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:08 pm

sorry about the lack of pics i cant find my cam cable!
ok well my new graphics card is now not working properly so i'm returning it and buying another.

on the overclocking side can anyone reccomend any good reading or info as i cant find alot on my board and cpu (or am i being an idiot?) anywho any help would be cool and i'll try and get some pics up asap.
If in doubt hit it with a hammer, if that fails buy a bigger hammer!

asus m2n32 ws pro mobo
AMD athlon 64 5400x2 black edition cpu
2x 1gb ocz pc2 6400 gold ram
850 watt alpha power psu
swiftech h20 120 compact water cooler
ATI radeon HD2900XT graphics card

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: my new rig

Postby Skippman » Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:56 am

I agree with Nate, we need some pics of this thing!

Hows the single rad working out for you so far?

loki-will-kill-you
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:18 am
Location: UK

Re: my new rig

Postby loki-will-kill-you » Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:33 am

its been working fine back to my crappy old graphics card till my replacement turns up which is an ATI RADEON HD2900XT so that should do for the moment, just need to get some overclocking done.

@ skippman, what do you mean so far? now i'm paranoid :shock:
If in doubt hit it with a hammer, if that fails buy a bigger hammer!

asus m2n32 ws pro mobo
AMD athlon 64 5400x2 black edition cpu
2x 1gb ocz pc2 6400 gold ram
850 watt alpha power psu
swiftech h20 120 compact water cooler
ATI radeon HD2900XT graphics card

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: my new rig

Postby Skippman » Thu Nov 13, 2008 10:10 am

Wasn't intended to cause paranioa. :lol:

I'm going to be using a tripple rad to cool basically just my CPU for now and I was wondering what temps your proc was getting with the single. That's all. Wondering if I can get my Proc to stay at near ambient while overclocked.

loki-will-kill-you
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:18 am
Location: UK

Re: my new rig

Postby loki-will-kill-you » Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:17 pm

well it runs full load at 37 degrees according to sisoft sandra so its not too bad!

anywho heres a few pics of the rig so far (sorry about the size of them!)

Image

Image

Image

Image

does anyone know much about the ATI RADEON HD2900XT as i've been looking more at nvidia cards as i wanted sli but managed to pick this up for 50 quid so it'll do for the moment.
If in doubt hit it with a hammer, if that fails buy a bigger hammer!

asus m2n32 ws pro mobo
AMD athlon 64 5400x2 black edition cpu
2x 1gb ocz pc2 6400 gold ram
850 watt alpha power psu
swiftech h20 120 compact water cooler
ATI radeon HD2900XT graphics card

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: my new rig

Postby Skippman » Thu Nov 13, 2008 5:34 pm

Looks good! Need to clean up that wiring though.

loki-will-kill-you
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:18 am
Location: UK

Re: my new rig

Postby loki-will-kill-you » Thu Nov 13, 2008 5:43 pm

tell me about it im gonna order some of that cable wrap i think so it looks better.
If in doubt hit it with a hammer, if that fails buy a bigger hammer!

asus m2n32 ws pro mobo
AMD athlon 64 5400x2 black edition cpu
2x 1gb ocz pc2 6400 gold ram
850 watt alpha power psu
swiftech h20 120 compact water cooler
ATI radeon HD2900XT graphics card

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: my new rig

Postby DMB2000uk » Thu Nov 13, 2008 6:01 pm

Hey, I'd check out those ram and slot positions, as I don't think you are running dual channel mode (which is limiting your ram performance quite a bit).

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

loki-will-kill-you
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:18 am
Location: UK

Re: my new rig

Postby loki-will-kill-you » Thu Nov 13, 2008 6:08 pm

ok dan thanks, i did have another 2gig of the same ram in but lent 2 to my mate that would be why they are where they are! ](*,)
If in doubt hit it with a hammer, if that fails buy a bigger hammer!

asus m2n32 ws pro mobo
AMD athlon 64 5400x2 black edition cpu
2x 1gb ocz pc2 6400 gold ram
850 watt alpha power psu
swiftech h20 120 compact water cooler
ATI radeon HD2900XT graphics card

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: my new rig

Postby martini161 » Thu Nov 13, 2008 6:58 pm

you know you need to clean up your wiring when you have to move it aside to get a good shot of the cpu area :vom: and dan, his ram is taking up both yellow slots, which i believe means it is dual channel

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: my new rig

Postby DMB2000uk » Fri Nov 14, 2008 6:09 am

martini161 wrote:you know you need to clean up your wiring when you have to move it aside to get a good shot of the cpu area :vom: and dan, his ram is taking up both yellow slots, which i believe means it is dual channel

d'oh. When i looked at the head on picture yesterday I though they were yellow from the ram coolers or something >_>

loki, I was wrong, no need to change anything.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

loki-will-kill-you
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:18 am
Location: UK

Re: my new rig

Postby loki-will-kill-you » Fri Nov 14, 2008 6:13 am

but you were right according to the mobo manual!

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: my new rig

Postby DMB2000uk » Fri Nov 14, 2008 6:24 am

So the mobo manual says that running one yellow one black slot is actually dual channel? :rolleyes:

Well if the manual says it, it's gotta be the truth!

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

loki-will-kill-you
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:18 am
Location: UK

Re: my new rig

Postby loki-will-kill-you » Fri Nov 14, 2008 7:26 am

ok wel i spent a few mins tidyin the cables up and it looks better already!

Image

Image
If in doubt hit it with a hammer, if that fails buy a bigger hammer!

asus m2n32 ws pro mobo
AMD athlon 64 5400x2 black edition cpu
2x 1gb ocz pc2 6400 gold ram
850 watt alpha power psu
swiftech h20 120 compact water cooler
ATI radeon HD2900XT graphics card

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: my new rig

Postby Skippman » Fri Nov 14, 2008 8:25 am

Lookin better bro!

loki-will-kill-you
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:18 am
Location: UK

Re: my new rig

Postby loki-will-kill-you » Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:40 pm

ok well got home this morning and had a knock on the door its a delivery man from royal mail on a sunday? thats a new one for me! oh well got my ATI RADEON HD2900XT so i shall see how it handles fallout 3, :mrgreen:
If in doubt hit it with a hammer, if that fails buy a bigger hammer!

asus m2n32 ws pro mobo
AMD athlon 64 5400x2 black edition cpu
2x 1gb ocz pc2 6400 gold ram
850 watt alpha power psu
swiftech h20 120 compact water cooler
ATI radeon HD2900XT graphics card

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: my new rig

Postby Skippman » Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:58 pm

Welcome to the Capital Wasteland.


Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests