SRT? Is it with it?

Hard Drives, Optical Drives, USB keys, Flash memory. Need help with or have experiences with a storage device? Share it in here!
User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

SRT? Is it with it?

Postby Skippman » Mon Sep 26, 2011 9:32 am

I'm in the process or rebuild my rig and the only differences I can see between the P67 and Z68 are the intergrated GPU and the SRT. I'm not to excites by the onboard GPU thing and like some of the P67 boards better but SRT intrigues me.

Is it worth it even if I use a cheap $70 SSD? Can I use SRT with two HDs in RAID 0?

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: SRT? Is it with it?

Postby Major_A » Mon Sep 26, 2011 9:52 am

Gigabyte has a board with a built-in SSD.
http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1677/1/

I don't see why it wouldn't work in RAID. But you might want to wait for a confirmed yes or no.

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33857
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: SRT? Is it with it?

Postby Apoptosis » Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:37 pm

SRT is for those that don't want to re-configure windows on an SSD.

If you're going to buy an SSD then you might as well put the OS on there. It will be faster than Intel SRT anyway... It's a pointless feature if you ask me.
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: SRT? Is it with it?

Postby Skippman » Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:24 pm

Well, I'm not planning on dropping $200 for a large SSD. So you think it's not worth it? I guess that opens up a whole list of motherboards for me then as that was the only real feature to the Z68 chipset other than the GPU which I don't want anyway.

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: SRT? Is it with it?

Postby Major_A » Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:41 pm

If you can use Intel's Quick Sync then you would want use the on-die GPU. That said I think to use it in conjunction with add-on GPUs the board has to have a Lucid Virtu logic on the board.

Quick Sync Examples:
http://www.guru3d.com/article/core-i5-2 ... -review/15
http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1649/6/
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4083/the- ... 0-tested/9

Lucid Virtu:
http://www.lucidlogix.com/product-virtu.html

User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: SRT? Is it with it?

Postby pwcmed » Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:49 pm

Like Nate said, I saw no real value in SRT. If I need to upgrade from a HDD to a SSD I would just reload windows. I went from a ATI 5970 to a Nvidia 580 and lost that third monitor option. The Z68 helped give the third monitor back. I cant game on it but I can still use it, man I really miss eyefinity.

I have an Asus board lying around, let me know if you're interested.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131708

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: SRT? Is it with it?

Postby Major_A » Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:53 pm

Here's a review from today using Virtu.
http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews ... dup/20.htm


Return to “Storage”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests