Dynamic disk offline error

Hard Drives, Optical Drives, USB keys, Flash memory. Need help with or have experiences with a storage device? Share it in here!
User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1049
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: My House At The End Of My Street
Contact:

Dynamic disk offline error

Postby DJ Tucker » Fri May 30, 2014 9:04 am

I have a western digital green 1tb that I got from a friend. he told me he wanted and bigger hdd so I got this one. however, when connecting it to my pc I realised it was set as a dynamic disk and gpt. it is online but I can't do anything with it as it is saying the volume is offline when it's not. anything I can do here? :)
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7Ghz @ 1.34v With LEPA Exllusion 240
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb OS Sandisk X210 512Gb Gaming
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 Black Hybrid 2125/9200 @ 1.094v
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: ASRock Extreme 6 Z77
Case: Lian Li DK-Q2X with Corsair HX1050 PSU

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Postby InspectahACE » Sat May 31, 2014 11:27 am

I'm not entirely sure but I found a link that might help. It's possible you may already have tried too.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 32026.aspx
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1049
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: My House At The End Of My Street
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Postby DJ Tucker » Sat May 31, 2014 5:51 pm

yes already done this but I found a way to get it to work. however, it's seems that the file type is RAW not NTFS and cannot be converted. what can I do here? :(
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7Ghz @ 1.34v With LEPA Exllusion 240
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb OS Sandisk X210 512Gb Gaming
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 Black Hybrid 2125/9200 @ 1.094v
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: ASRock Extreme 6 Z77
Case: Lian Li DK-Q2X with Corsair HX1050 PSU

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Postby InspectahACE » Sat May 31, 2014 7:10 pm

as long as the data is not important, you should be able to just reformat it.
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3562
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Postby KnightRid » Sun Jun 01, 2014 2:40 am

InspectahACE wrote:as long as the data is not important, you should be able to just reformat it.


That

Also, if there is data you want to get back just run a recovery program on it. Could take quite a while but if the data is important that is the only thing you can do.

I would also test that drive thoroughly before putting anything I do not want to lose on it.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1049
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: My House At The End Of My Street
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Postby DJ Tucker » Sun Jun 01, 2014 4:31 am

there is no data on there, I did last night do a full format but it failed for some reason. the is detected and windows starts fine but a can't format it. is it possible to have bad sectors that can't be repaired?
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7Ghz @ 1.34v With LEPA Exllusion 240
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb OS Sandisk X210 512Gb Gaming
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 Black Hybrid 2125/9200 @ 1.094v
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: ASRock Extreme 6 Z77
Case: Lian Li DK-Q2X with Corsair HX1050 PSU

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Postby kenc51 » Sun Jun 01, 2014 10:19 am

Have you scanned the drive for bad sectors? I'd try that first & choose the option to repair.
If you've done this already, try reformat via a bootable linux distro like gparted or even Ubuntu. Make sure to delete the partition(s) before formatting as otherwise they might still be picked up as dynamic disks again.

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1049
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: My House At The End Of My Street
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Postby DJ Tucker » Sun Jun 01, 2014 5:25 pm

ok so I did a check disk and it now correcting errors in the volume bitmap and has been doing so for the last 6 hours with over 40 lines saying the same thing?
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7Ghz @ 1.34v With LEPA Exllusion 240
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb OS Sandisk X210 512Gb Gaming
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 Black Hybrid 2125/9200 @ 1.094v
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: ASRock Extreme 6 Z77
Case: Lian Li DK-Q2X with Corsair HX1050 PSU

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Postby kenc51 » Wed Jun 04, 2014 1:29 pm

How's it going? Did the repair work?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1049
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: My House At The End Of My Street
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Postby DJ Tucker » Wed Jun 04, 2014 5:16 pm

it was just saying correcting errors in the volume bitmap. never went any further. I gave up after 10 hours as I came home from work and it still wasn't done :cry:
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7Ghz @ 1.34v With LEPA Exllusion 240
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb OS Sandisk X210 512Gb Gaming
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 Black Hybrid 2125/9200 @ 1.094v
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: ASRock Extreme 6 Z77
Case: Lian Li DK-Q2X with Corsair HX1050 PSU

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Postby kenc51 » Wed Jun 04, 2014 5:46 pm

Try the bootable linux option - failing that you can use "MHDD"
http://hddguru.com/software/2005.10.02-MHDD/
Use Unetbootin to copy to a usb key
It will scan and try fix any bad sectors, but also correctly mark the bad ones as dead and this way you can usually recover data.
You can also try a low level format using this (write zeros to all sectors)
You also might get a smaller drive (depending on how many bad sectors are marked as bad (this is adjustable btw so you can make a <1TB drive 1GB and that 1GB be the outside of the platter - so super quick; only problem is that it's irreversible))

Basically, if there is no (bad) mechanical noise you can probably save it.

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1049
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: My House At The End Of My Street
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Postby DJ Tucker » Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:52 am

writing zeros to the drive now but it's going to take 2700 hours, about 110 days??? it's going really really slow. any reason as to why?
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7Ghz @ 1.34v With LEPA Exllusion 240
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb OS Sandisk X210 512Gb Gaming
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 Black Hybrid 2125/9200 @ 1.094v
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: ASRock Extreme 6 Z77
Case: Lian Li DK-Q2X with Corsair HX1050 PSU

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Postby kenc51 » Thu Jun 05, 2014 2:09 pm

It should take a few hours, sounds like a faulty sata cable or port

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1049
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: My House At The End Of My Street
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Postby DJ Tucker » Thu Jun 05, 2014 3:00 pm

ok so I tried it in all my available ports and same thing over and over. I even used Easeus Partition Manager and still nothing worked. I have no idea what to do. windows recognises the drive but fails to format and check disk repeats correcting errors in the volume bitmap. seems it's stuck in RAW format and that's as far as I can go :(
Annihilator V3.0
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.7Ghz @ 1.34v With LEPA Exllusion 240
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb OS Sandisk X210 512Gb Gaming
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 Black Hybrid 2125/9200 @ 1.094v
Monitor: AOC G2460VQ6
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Motherboard: ASRock Extreme 6 Z77
Case: Lian Li DK-Q2X with Corsair HX1050 PSU

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Postby kenc51 » Thu Jun 05, 2014 3:55 pm

That sucks... The only thing I can think of is to use a linux live cd & format using that

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk


Return to “Storage”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest