Page 1 of 1

Disk error?

Posted: Fri Sep 16, 2016 12:53 pm
by camaroguy1998
Twice I have gotten a "Disk Error" Hit any key to restart!
The drive is a Kingston 120gb SSD.
After hitting any key twice each time windows boots up and runs fine for a period of time.
how much time? Different each time. This last time its been running 1day, 9hrs, 17mins. at this moment

This is the first time I've had any problems out of any SSD.
Any ideas what I may be looking at?

Basic Specs.
Asus Crossblade Ranger Mobo
AMD A-10 7870k
16g Gskill
120g Kingston SSD

Re: Disk error?

Posted: Sat Sep 17, 2016 4:22 am
by KnightRid
If it is under warranty yet call Kingston ASAP.

i had this problem with my Crucial but without the press a key to restart thing. Mine would freeze windows up and sometimes just reboot the machine. I tried another ssd (You can clone yours to another ssd if you have it and try to make sure) and it worked fine. I called Crucial yesterday and he did an RMA right away once I told him what was happening and what I have tried.

I had another SSD - actually a Kingston - from my other desktop so it was no problem for me to send my drive back. Hopefully you have another drive to use or else they offer, like Crucial did, to ship the new one first by taking your credit card number and then refunding it after they get yours back.

Re: Disk error?

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 10:39 am
by camaroguy1998
KnightRid wrote:If it is under warranty yet call Kingston ASAP.

i had this problem with my Crucial but without the press a key to restart thing. Mine would freeze windows up and sometimes just reboot the machine. I tried another ssd (You can clone yours to another ssd if you have it and try to make sure) and it worked fine. I called Crucial yesterday and he did an RMA right away once I told him what was happening and what I have tried.

I had another SSD - actually a Kingston - from my other desktop so it was no problem for me to send my drive back. Hopefully you have another drive to use or else they offer, like Crucial did, to ship the new one first by taking your credit card number and then refunding it after they get yours back.


Unfortunately it is NOT under warranty. It was given to me, quite sometime ago. The person who gave it to me had it for quite sometime before me.
I get its going to cost me and I'm not worried about that. I was hoping to get lucky and there would be a software fix!

Right now its kind of surprising me, its been running for almost 4 days!

EDIT: Ordered a 240G Mushkin for replacement!
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product

Re: Disk error?

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:42 am
by KnightRid
SSD are strange animals when they start to develop problems. I am so used to standard hard drives failing that it took me a while to really focus on the SSD itself. I would love to find a good program to test for a failing SSD as the SMART data tells some but mine would be yellow/red one time and then another time all green.

I hope your replacement works well for you. I can't wait to get my new Crucial and test it out. New hardware is so fun!!!!

Re: Disk error?

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 10:48 pm
by camaroguy1998
New hardware is so fun!!!!


Totally agree!!!

Re: Disk error?

Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 5:03 am
by DJ Tucker
As I have an sandisk ssd I use sandisk dashboard. Do Kingston have something similar? The sandisk dashboard seem quite good at giving you accurate smart data. Also my ssd is at 95% health.

Re: Disk error?

Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2016 2:56 pm
by camaroguy1998
I downloaded and installed Kingstons SSD Toolbox!
Toolbox shows the disk as "Good"! No errors or events!
The SSD has also passed the diagnostics test!
Its been running for 8 1/2 days with no issues.
I think I'm going to let it go for now and see what happens!
I hate to replace it if its not necessary.

Re: Disk error?

Posted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 4:51 am
by KnightRid
Same as mine would act. Would test perfect then all of a sudden it would restart the computer or totally lock up windows forcing a hard reboot.

Sometimes the test would show some problems and others it didn't. Like I said, weird animals those SSD.

Hope it works out for you as it is always nice to not spend money.

Oh and BACKUP!!!!!! Might want to install one that allows you to make backups every so often (depends on how much your drive changes over a period of time. I have mine to backup once a week).

Re: Disk error?

Posted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:27 am
by DL126
After having my first experience with a SSD crash a few years ago ...

I began installing WD Black HDD's as a 2nd drive on all SSD equipped desktops.
Then move all user file storage locations to the WD.

Install OS & programs on the SSD, store files on HDD.
No problems since.

As a general rule, HDD's will give some sort of indication that things are starting to go downhill, maybe giving you a chance to recover files.
SSD's .... worked yesterday, not today. GONE!

YMMV :)

Edit = I've only had ONE SSD crash out of several dozen installs. It was a Kingston drive.

Re: Disk error?

Posted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 1:38 pm
by DJ Tucker
i second knightrid. I have mine set to weekly but to a hdd partition. it's slow to worth it :)

Re: Disk error?

Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 12:04 am
by camaroguy1998
I already have a replacement, at this point there's nothing important on it that has not been backed up!
That's why I've decided to let it run and see how it behaves.
This is my 2nd Kingston, the rest of my SSD's are either Samsung or Mushkin. I have had no problems from any of those.
My other Kingston is no longer in use, Mobo died. SSD is in a drawer somewhere for future use.

Yeah, weird animal fits!

Re: Disk error?

Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:14 am
by KnightRid
Just an update on mine - it was NOT the ssd!!! New SSD from Crucial did the exact same thing. They thought it was the drivers since Windows 10 uses default and they said to install the drivers from Gigabytes website for my motherboard. Problem is mine has Intel and Marvell ports and the Intel driver is not available for Windows 10. I am still having trouble on some of the ports (the intel ones) but it works fine in my laptop so I think I will just let it go and use the small Kingston SSD in my main system and the Crucial in my laptop.

Moral of that long speech is to check your drivers :)

and Windows 10 drivers suck balls.

Re: Disk error?

Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2016 8:44 pm
by camaroguy1998
Update on the Kingston....After 2 random reboots in less than 24hrs, I replaced the Kingston with a Mushkin ECO3 240G SSD.
Surprisingly it ran for 12+ days then the reboots started!

Good Luck with your Crucial Knightrid!

Re: Disk error?

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2016 4:22 am
by KnightRid
camaroguy1998 wrote:Update on the Kingston....After 2 random reboots in less than 24hrs, I replaced the Kingston with a Mushkin ECO3 240G SSD.
Surprisingly it ran for 12+ days then the reboots started!

Good Luck with your Crucial Knightrid!


We should hold a protest on Windows restarts and Windows being all around an alpha program.

I am thinking about install Linux on the crucial and try it in my main system just to see what happens.

Re: Disk error?

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2016 2:04 pm
by camaroguy1998
KnightRid wrote:
camaroguy1998 wrote:Update on the Kingston....After 2 random reboots in less than 24hrs, I replaced the Kingston with a Mushkin ECO3 240G SSD.
Surprisingly it ran for 12+ days then the reboots started!

Good Luck with your Crucial Knightrid!


We should hold a protest on Windows restarts and Windows being all around an alpha program.

I am thinking about install Linux on the crucial and try it in my main system just to see what happens.


I'm hoping windows was not the problem!
But, I agree, we need some better choices!