Advise on HDD, new to SATA

Hard Drives, Optical Drives, USB keys, Flash memory. Need help with or have experiences with a storage device? Share it in here!
kilogic
Legit User
Legit User

Advise on HDD, new to SATA

Post by kilogic »

Hello, I have been contemplating what new hard drive to purchase now that my maxtor is going out (constant clicking, bad performance, general signs of close failure)

My motherboard is and Intel D865PERL and has support for SATA 150mb/s. I have been looking at either a 300GB Seagate SATA 150mb/s or a 250GB Seagate SATA II 300mb/s. The 300 gig just came off a sale (much to my dismay) and is around $150 the 250 gb is on newegg for $102. One catch is that the 300 is a retail box from a store and the 250 is oem.

The extra 50gb is negligable but i am not sure if it is worth it to go for the SATA II drive in order to give it some life for my next mobo upgrade.

I am new to this I have never owned a Seagate but have heard good things as well as their 5 year warranty. If there is a HDD you recommend I would be glad to hear it.

PS. I also haven't got the first clue as to RAID or the 0 or 1 setting. Im guessing if I just have 1 sata drive I just set up raid and theres no option for 0 or 1 is that correct? Also is the 128kb setting the best to use, i am planning to use the hdd alot.
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist

Post by kenc51 »

I use only Seagate HDD's.....Simply because they have 5yr warranties....no other company has that much faith in their products!
(sure WD does give 5yr warranties on the Raptor drives, but their designed for servers and are too expensive)

I've used SATA and IDE raid0 & raid1...

Radi1 is usefull if you have important data
IMO Raid0 is pointless......others may chime in stating is super fast.....