strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Forum for all the nVidia video cards from the past, present and future!
khalednet85
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:43 am

strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby khalednet85 » Mon Apr 19, 2010 5:33 am

Hi Guys,

I have a very strange problem in my graphics card, I have nVidia GeForce GT 230m for HP dv7 3085 laptop with processor core i7 1.66, and 6 GB DDR3 RAM

I have Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare, now in game play, I got walls and structures which are fake, not from the game, I have recorded the game and posted the video (which containing the problem) in youtube, please check the video for better understanding:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l4GIi20-aQc

now, the strange part from the story is that my friend has bought same of my laptop hp dv7 3085 (we bought the both of laptops together), he doesn't have this kind of problems !!!
and moreover, I have installed same game (Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare) in his laptop, and it was working fine, there are no walls or this type of structures !!

so please guys, anyone can help or clue this strange thing happening ?

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33783
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby Apoptosis » Mon Apr 19, 2010 6:03 am

Just curious did you buy the game title or download a copy of it?

I've played the official retail versions all the way through a few times and never seen anything like that. I also used the game on the test bench and played through that point hundreds of times on different PCs and never seen that... The only thing I am guessing is that you downloaded a bunk copy that had some files screwed up.
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby InspectahACE » Mon Apr 19, 2010 7:46 am

The more I see that video, the more i think that it's either the GPU..or the drivers. and unfortunately the last time I saw any similar issue was with a wonky GPU. Just my two cents on a possibility.
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

khalednet85
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:43 am

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby khalednet85 » Mon Apr 19, 2010 8:44 am

Apoptosis wrote:Just curious did you buy the game title or download a copy of it?

I've played the official retail versions all the way through a few times and never seen anything like that. I also used the game on the test bench and played through that point hundreds of times on different PCs and never seen that... The only thing I am guessing is that you downloaded a bunk copy that had some files screwed up.



Hi Apoptosis ,
Yes its a copy downloaded from internet, but its working so fine in my friends laptop, and its perfectly running with a very pure playing... moreover, I tried it in a high details and it was running okay.
in my laptop its making these damn walls, cubes and structures!!

InspectahACE wrote:The more I see that video, the more i think that it's either the GPU..or the drivers. and unfortunately the last time I saw any similar issue was with a wonky GPU. Just my two cents on a possibility.


Hello, InspectahACE

that's really disappointing it looks like its the GPU problem, because I have installed the latest driver, but still same problem, do you advice me to send the laptop to maintainance ?

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby skier » Mon Apr 19, 2010 8:48 am

had something similar, but far worse happen to me, reinstalled drivers to an older version i think.
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby InspectahACE » Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:58 am

khalednet85 wrote:that's really disappointing it looks like its the GPU problem, because I have installed the latest driver, but still same problem, do you advice me to send the laptop to maintainance ?


I'd say that's the last resort thing to do. As mentioned it could be that or the driver itself, even if it is the latest one. skier mentioned an older driver as a possibility. I'd try that too before sending it in. I'm not sure what else could cause that other than a driver issue or gpu issue .
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

khalednet85
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:43 am

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby khalednet85 » Mon Apr 19, 2010 11:35 am

Guys, Ive got a madness result!!

I have installed Call of Duty 5 (the successor of call of duty 4, which Ive done the initial test), and its working fine !!

I have installed call of duty 6, it produces same damn problem as call of duty 4 !!

Guys, anyone knows what is going on ?!!

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby skier » Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:59 pm

install older drivers. do it.
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

khalednet85
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:43 am

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby khalednet85 » Tue Apr 20, 2010 11:16 am

skier wrote:install older drivers. do it.


Thanks skier, InspectahACE

I did it, the oldest version I found is 7/2009 with Forceware 185,
i tried also Forceware 187, and 188 and all have same problem !!

guys, is there any older version I have to try?

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby skier » Tue Apr 20, 2010 11:25 am

hmm, card-wise it's between a 9500-9600GT so it should be able to play it, how long did you play COD5 to see it was okay? you might want to try to download and run furmark and see if it errors up, my only idea now
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

khalednet85
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:43 am

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby khalednet85 » Tue Apr 20, 2010 12:19 pm

skier wrote:hmm, card-wise it's between a 9500-9600GT so it should be able to play it, how long did you play COD5 to see it was okay? you might want to try to download and run furmark and see if it errors up, my only idea now


Thanks skier,

I tried furmark, it gives me avg fps: 10 frames, and the highest temperature reached is 68 C in resolution 1360x768, by the way, I didn't see any of these damn walls, cubes or structures...

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby skier » Tue Apr 20, 2010 12:51 pm

do the stability test instead of the benchmark, and make sure MSAA is off
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

khalednet85
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:43 am

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby khalednet85 » Tue Apr 20, 2010 1:09 pm

skier wrote:do the stability test instead of the benchmark, and make sure MSAA is off


it has given me avg fps: 9 (Min: 4, Mas: 11) frames, and the highest temperature reached is 67 C in resolution 1360x768, By the way, if I press space, that circle in the middle disappeared and the fps goes very speedy between 500 and 530 and the temperature doesn't go so high !!

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby skier » Tue Apr 20, 2010 1:42 pm

khalednet85 wrote:
skier wrote:do the stability test instead of the benchmark, and make sure MSAA is off


it has given me avg fps: 9 (Min: 4, Mas: 11) frames, and the highest temperature reached is 67 C in resolution 1360x768, By the way, if I press space, that circle in the middle disappeared and the fps goes very speedy between 500 and 530 and the temperature doesn't go so high !!


the circle(donut) is the fur rendering which is what stresses the GPU, so it isn't your graphics card itself, so its a problem with COD4 itself, try reinstalling? OR did it install DX9 when you installed the game? might be a problem with DirectX come to think of it
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

khalednet85
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:43 am

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby khalednet85 » Wed Apr 21, 2010 3:04 am

skier wrote:
khalednet85 wrote:
skier wrote:do the stability test instead of the benchmark, and make sure MSAA is off


it has given me avg fps: 9 (Min: 4, Mas: 11) frames, and the highest temperature reached is 67 C in resolution 1360x768, By the way, if I press space, that circle in the middle disappeared and the fps goes very speedy between 500 and 530 and the temperature doesn't go so high !!


the circle(donut) is the fur rendering which is what stresses the GPU, so it isn't your graphics card itself, so its a problem with COD4 itself, try reinstalling? OR did it install DX9 when you installed the game? might be a problem with DirectX come to think of it


I have installed the directx 9 from the game folder (which recommended by Call of Duty 4), however, still same damn problem !!
I have installed Frontlines: Fuel of War, there is same problem with unreal cubes and structures !!

now the worst thing in the story, is that I have installed all of these games in my friends laptop, and all of 'em working so good :evil:

moreover, I have installed Everest to detect computer spec and hardware driver with detailed versions, I make sure my graphics card has same as his graphcs card version and I did same for directx , and at the end, still I hav the problem, he doesnt have it ](*,)

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby skier » Wed Apr 21, 2010 9:44 am

its a directX problem with the game forcing you to install an old version of DX9 over whatever you already have, and that causes problems, i forget if you have to uninstall and install new DX9.0C, or just install the version that COD forces during installation(i don't play COD for that very reason, always gave me trouble whenever i installed and the game isnt worth it to me)
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

khalednet85
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:43 am

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby khalednet85 » Fri Apr 23, 2010 11:50 am

skier wrote:its a directX problem with the game forcing you to install an old version of DX9 over whatever you already have, and that causes problems, i forget if you have to uninstall and install new DX9.0C, or just install the version that COD forces during installation(i don't play COD for that very reason, always gave me trouble whenever i installed and the game isnt worth it to me)



Ive purchased original wolfenstein and Ive installed it in my machine, I run it, I got another damn problem (but the older problem occurred but more less than Call Of Duty),

while I was playing, I got screen goes upper half blue and the down half goes black, and after about 5 seconds it comes back to game-play but very slow, and the player is not moving (looks the game is frozen or stuck somehow), so I click ctrl+alt+del then I click Start Task Manager, and found error balloon near the system clock,

Image

I run the game again (it was slow from the beginning ) and after about 10 seconds in game play I got same problem (screen goes some in black some in blue some in white), so I left it and I didn't click ctrl+alt+del so after about 10 seconds screen changes from black to blue to while to red, I got damn blue screen windows and the computer restart by itself, and when its booting, I got strange error from bios, I got message it same that the system temperature reached 90D it its overheated !! and it said that maybe fans or something is not working !, this message persist about 7 seconds and it boot to windows

Note that Ive tried old drivers again and I got that damn error

Moreover, after I exit the game, I got white small dots (like this one . ) distributed to much in screen in background in everything in screen, The strange thing that these dots does copied in print screen to windows paint !!
but after restarting, these dots disappeared


what do I do?

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby InspectahACE » Sat Apr 24, 2010 4:33 pm

I'd say run ATI Tool but I haven't seen that program mentioned in a long while so I'm not sure if Furmark does the same thing or if it's even worth using anymore. I do know ATI Tool would show artifacts or lines if the GPU was bad though
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

khalednet85
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:43 am

Re: strange problem in nVidia GeForce GT 230m

Postby khalednet85 » Sat May 01, 2010 7:27 am

InspectahACE wrote:I'd say run ATI Tool but I haven't seen that program mentioned in a long while so I'm not sure if Furmark does the same thing or if it's even worth using anymore. I do know ATI Tool would show artifacts or lines if the GPU was bad though



hi, I did that test, I have posted them to youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uI8uSpoMnAk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uf-SD3gRMLM


Return to “NVIDIA GeForce, Quadro and Tegra Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests