GeForce GTX 550 Ti mixed memory density. Really?!?

Forum for all the nVidia video cards from the past, present and future!
Post Reply
sasamkd
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 12:43 am
Location: Skopje

GeForce GTX 550 Ti mixed memory density. Really?!?

Post by sasamkd » Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:41 am

I used (still do) this card for the past couple of years. And I am wandering is it really using the 1GB memory on it. I've never seen the memory usage above 768MB (start a GPU-Z and a game, and max. memory is 768MB).
Just curious, did anyone (owning this card) noticed anything?

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1090
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: I Live In A 2 Bed Tardis
Contact:

Re: GeForce GTX 550 Ti mixed memory density. Really?!?

Post by DJ Tucker » Fri Mar 29, 2013 5:45 am

download evga precision x and turn OSD on. from there you can see in game what you memory usage is. run your most graphically intense game maxed out and even if it lags out just check the memory usage and report back.
Annihilator
Processor:
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.6Ghz (1.35v) 360 Custom Loop
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz 10-10-10-24-1T
Hard Drive: SanDisk X110 128Gb Sandisk X210 1Tb
Video Card: Inno3d GTX 1070 iChill 360 Custom Loop 2100/9100
Monitor: Samsung C27F396FHU
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: Asus Maximus IV Gene Z Gen 3
Case: Vector Custom VDM01 with Corsair HX1000i PSU
Peripherals: Corsair K70 Lux Corsair M65 Pro and Corsair Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: GeForce GTX 550 Ti mixed memory density. Really?!?

Post by Major_A » Fri Mar 29, 2013 1:39 pm

Higher the textures and AA levels the more memory will be used. It also depends on what resolution you are gaming at, higher res = more memory used.

sasamkd
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 12:43 am
Location: Skopje

Re: GeForce GTX 550 Ti mixed memory density. Really?!?

Post by sasamkd » Sat Mar 30, 2013 11:59 pm

Really! It does. And I thought that it was just a marketing.

The card was connected to a 1440x900 monitor, and was used happily ever before, without ever thinking to connect to another one. I guess I thought that 1440x900 resolution was enough to fill the ram and even more, not thinking too much of it, but wondering about the 256MB ram sitting idle.
I connected another monitor with 1920x1200 and - it did use more ram (826MB).

So, just me, no conspiracy here :)

Post Reply