Radeon 9600SE

Forum for all the AMD (Previously ATI) video cards from the past, present and future!
User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Radeon 9600SE

Postby Merlin » Thu May 27, 2004 1:44 pm

I have e-mailed ATI twice and no one answers my question so maybe you guys can. Other than some cards that have 256 meg of ram and others have 128. What is the dif between the 9600 pro, 9600SE, 9600 XT and the plain 9600? and is it mpossible to update the bios on a 9600SE to majke it better?

Immortal

Postby Immortal » Thu May 27, 2004 2:02 pm

The only major difference between them all is clock speed, nothing else.

There MAYBE also a difference in memory bandwidth, i think one of hem has 256-bit RAM, but im not sure, anyone else can confirm?

Xerxes
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 8:42 am
Location: oregon

Postby Xerxes » Thu May 27, 2004 4:18 pm

heres the differences
9600: 325e/400m 128bit mem (note some 256mb versions use slower memory than the 128mb versions ie sapphire has done this before)
9600 pro: 400e/600m 128bit mem
9600xt: 500e/600m 128bit mem
9600se: 325e/400m 64bit mem

and no theres no soft or hard mods that im aware of for them

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Postby Merlin » Fri May 28, 2004 2:11 pm

The box my 9600SE came says its 128 ddr which should be 128bit memory right? Are you sure about your runndown?

Xerxes
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 8:42 am
Location: oregon

Postby Xerxes » Fri May 28, 2004 3:22 pm

its 128MB of ram running on a 64bit memory bus

User avatar
infinitevalence
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:40 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Postby infinitevalence » Fri May 28, 2004 3:31 pm

Merlin the number of bits in the buss is like the width of the highway. while the speed of the ram is like the speed limit. just because you have a 128 cars that does not mean the highway is 128 cars wide.
"Don't open that! It's an alien planet! Is there air? You don't know!"

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Postby Merlin » Fri May 28, 2004 5:32 pm

Hey guys I goofed. I thought that DDR meant 128bit memory because I have a mainboard with dual channel DDR and I forgot that single channel ddr is 64bits and dual is 128. So in a manner of speaking it could be said that the memory on the 9600SE is single channel and the others are dual or at least the affect is the same right?


Return to “AMD Radeon and FirePro Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests