OverClocking ATI Graphics Cards

Forum for all the AMD (Previously ATI) video cards from the past, present and future!

Which Overclocking Program do you use?

Ati Tool
18
32%
Ati Tray Tools
10
18%
Ati Overdrive
21
38%
Riva Tuner
7
13%
 
Total votes: 56

User avatar
dgood
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1190
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

OverClocking ATI Graphics Cards

Postby dgood » Fri Mar 16, 2007 1:58 pm

There are four programs that come to mind when overclocking your ATI graphics card, two of which are the most prominent: Ati Tray Tools, and Ati Tool. Another is more often referred to when using Nvidia cards: Riva Tuner. The last being built into the Catalyst Control Center: ATI Overdrive.

First is Ati Tray Tools

First you'll have to install it after downloading it from the above link. Then you'll have to enable the overclocking. Start by Right-Clicking the Ati Tray Tools Icon on the task bar and following the example in the picture. Image
After doing that, you should be at a screen that looks like this.
Image
Make sure to save the current clocks and such as a profile like default or something so you can easily revert to the original settings if you experience problems.
Now you should make sure that the fan stays at 100% at all times at least for testing purposes so you have the maximum amount of cooling possible.
Image
You can play with those settings as you please later but start by setting it manually to 100% and saving that in your overclocking profiles also.

Now before you do any real overclocking you need to have a way to monitor your temperatures at least if you have a card in the x series or later. the 9X00 series didn't have temperature monitors I don't believe. At least not the lower end ones. Ati Tray tools offers two ways to do this. Either with a separate graph, or with system tray monitoring. I think when overclocking the graph is nicer since you can see trends of temperature and see when your card has peaked or not.
Right-Click on the Taskbar Icon and Choose hardware/Monitoring Graphing or System Tray Monitoring.
You'll see i've circled where you can find temperatures in this picture.
Image
You should get these options.
ImageImage
Image
After all of this is set up, It's Time to overclock.
Now you should open the 3D Renderer as it will test your graphics card for stability at the higher clocks.
Image
You can either tell the program to auto overclock the gpu or the memory or both one at a time of course. (if you do this do memory first and make sure it is stable as it is more likely to overclock the poorest of the two.) Or you can do small increments of each one then hit scan for artifacts after applying it and leave it testing until the temps are fine and you aren't experiancing artifacts.
Watch Your Temperatures and Good Luck. You don't want to see anything over 70's in Degree's Celcius Under Full load though most cards can handle Temperatures up to 100 C and still be alright even for day to day use though that is in no way recommended. Also if you have some thermal paste laying around you should put a new layer on your gpu before doing this overclocking as you will get better results with a clean heatsink/fan and new thermal paste as opposed to an old dust covered cooler with an old layer of thermal paste that is dried up.


Second ATI Tool

This program is very similar to ATI Tray tools, except it is a little bit simpler in the interface and the settings. Sometimes it can be used to tell you the number of pipes and exact versions of cores and available pixel pipes on your card however which can be very helpful for knowing if a mod is possible. The same website you can get it from is a great reference for different mods that can be done to graphics cards. http://www.techpowerup.com There is also a great link to a walkthrough on ATI tool a wiki for ati tool from techpowerup ATI Tool Wiki

Download and install it then open it up. Make sure the default settings are correct and save them before doing any overclocking.
Image
Much of the steps are the same as before. Once again I recommend setting the fan speed to full to find your overclock then if temperatures are good, then you can play with different fan speed configurations.
Image
The Temperatures can still be found on the program itself, but also on the taskbar where ati tool defaults the temperature instead of the icon. Also it is listed under the graph, both gpu and ambient temperatures.
Image

Once you know where all of those things are at, you'll want to start overclocking so open the 3D Renderer. It has options for Auto Finding max core/max memory just like on ati tray tools. If you do have it find max core it should do artifact testing for you.
Image
(Above is a picture of Artifact Scanning)

Take it slow and watch the temperatures even if you are letting it auto overclock. Don't be surprised with a blue screen it won't keep it running at that speed on the next start up. Also Its not unlike the catalyst control center to VPU Recover in that case, resetting everything to defaults. Some Games may artifact a lot others will run very very smooth. A good example is Warcraft III I artifact all the time with my overclock and never in any other application or game. That's It for number two.

Third RivaTuner

ATI R200, RV250, RV280, R300, RV350, R350, RV360, R360, RV370, RV380, R420, RV410, R423, R430, R480, RV515, R520, RV530, RV560, RV570, R580 or R580+ VPU based display adapter are supported by riva tuner. I usually use this on my nvidia cards though I think most of these programs now can be used for both nvidia and ati cards if you read their release notes.

To start with Riva Tuner you have to double-click on the tray icon:
Image

Then You need to select the customize option on the "Target Adapter" I believe if you have onboard video you can choose either or.
Image

After Choosing The Low Level System Settings, You get to the Overclocking Menu.
Image
The first time you enable low level overclocking, you have to detect stock frequencies or restart your computer either works just as well I usually hit detect now.

Then Change some clock frequencies and Take it slow. When you get it stable, you can save a profile and then tell it to apply it on start up.
Image

Also there is a monitoring tool for temperatures:
Image

However I couldn't find an artifact scanner so you'll have to use ati tool/tray tools or just benchmark or play games to stress the card and make sure it is stable. I usually use this with nvidia cards, but mostly out of the fact it doesn't have ATI in the name, but The others may honestly work better for Nvidia too.


Fourth Ati Overdrive

I honestly don't recommend this one, merely because it is so limited. However if you just want a very small boost of core speeds and to know that you won't have problems with temperatures, then go for it. Ati Overdrive doesn't currently support graphics memory overclocking as stated on the faq site. To get to it, you need to open up the catalyst control center in advanced view I believe, but i'm not positive as I only ever open it in advanced view.
Image
Just check the box and I think that's more or less it, it auto overclocks just the core 3D clocks based on the temperature. Also I believe it is within a clock safety range. (Feel Free to correct me hear as I haven't used it, and don't really plan on it.) I know this only works on some graphics cards, usualy the higher ones, I see it on my x800xt, and saw it on a 9600xt, but it seems that hte x1600xt it doesnt' show up on the driver version I have it on. They may have stopped using it on newer versions or just doesn't support it. I'll look around for more info on that in the future.

ATI Overdrive 3 is what the newer cards have it called and it looks more like this.
Image
Just click unlock to start using it almost like clicking enable on older cards.

Older cards before the X series Radeons didn't have temperature monitoring chips on them. So you will have a harder time knowing how far you can push them. The 9600 and a few other cards had to have the overclocking lock removed from them so Ati Tool is the best to use for those as in the miscellaneous Options it has a box to click to remove the lock. Now get out there and Overclock, then post your results here and/or on Hwbot.org for legitreviews.
Last edited by dgood on Sat Apr 14, 2007 4:32 pm, edited 8 times in total.
Image

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Postby dicecca112 » Fri Mar 16, 2007 2:06 pm

looking good dgood, PM me when its finished and I'll clean it up and sticky it
Image

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Postby kenc51 » Sat Mar 17, 2007 10:40 am

There's also a "Voltages" tab in Tray Tools, it's only available for some cards, X1*** series I think.

Stock X1900XTX

GPU = 1.42v
MVDDC = 2.086v (Core Memory volts)
MVDDQ = 2.086v (Memory IO buffer volts)

Max GPU on Air cooling is ~1.5v, using stock cooler at this voltage is pointless as it will have to be @ 100% (too noisey)
The X1900 cards LOVE GPU voltage. I've pumpped 1.575v into mine to get above 750MHz, but H2O cooling is a must.
The voltage regs on the card get very hot! So they MUST get good cooling or it will lockup.

Memory seems to like a little increase when overclocking with my card, alot of people say setting to just below 2v helped them get higher. You must experiment with these voltages as every card is different. (This is the hardest setting to get right and needs most patience, with constant lockups)

Change memory frequencies first, ~10MHz at a time. After every ~20MHz loop 3DMark 06 Forrest test with high res and AA. for ~15mins.
Benchmarks and games respond to memory overclocking more than gpu clocking. If you go over 700MHz with an X1900, you MUST overclock the memory or you'll see very little gains.

Remember to take it slow with GFX overclocking.......you can easilly go too far looking for that extra 10pts!

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Postby stopthekilling77 » Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:11 pm

i'm tempted to mess around with my SAPPHIRE 7000 series card >.<

LOL

no seriously, i'm gonna give it a shot
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Postby stopthekilling77 » Sun Mar 18, 2007 11:05 am

well, i installed it, but when i click on the icon to get things started, the pc reboots...

GOD i need a new computer! :(
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

Toebot
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 1:13 am

Postby Toebot » Sat Mar 24, 2007 1:05 am

Since the 7.X drivers have a bug that makes the screen strobe if the card is overclocked through the overdrive tab (seems to effect rv570 and rv560 chips), I've been using tray tools. It seems to get the best results. But none of the listed programs seem to produce a really stable overclock with the current drivers. For best results, I'd switch back to the newest 6.x series drivers.

User avatar
dgood
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1190
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Postby dgood » Sat Mar 31, 2007 11:26 am

Ok I added some more stuff, and want to know what else people want put on this. I still need some pics of the last two though they are the lesser used ones. Tell me what you think so far.
Image

prozac26
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 8:00 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Postby prozac26 » Sun Apr 01, 2007 6:04 am

I use ATI Tray Tools. Used ATI Tool too.

User avatar
dgood
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1190
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Postby dgood » Sat Apr 14, 2007 4:33 pm

My last update, Dicecca/Ken You can have it from here. At the least it's a good start I think.
Image

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Postby kenc51 » Sat Apr 14, 2007 4:47 pm

Great job =D> =D>
sticky ;)

amdme127
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 1:43 pm

Re: OverClocking ATI Graphics Cards

Postby amdme127 » Sat Jun 30, 2007 10:35 am

This is really good to know
THanks a lot for the post

User avatar
largon
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:38 am
Location: Suomi Finland

Re: OverClocking ATI Graphics Cards

Postby largon » Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:16 am

I like ATiTool, it's compact, has almost all needed features, and in addition, updates are released often and support on developer's forum is swift.

User avatar
rpsgc
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:45 am
Location: Portugal

Re: OverClocking ATI Graphics Cards

Postby rpsgc » Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:45 am

I also use ATiTool. Simplicity wins it for me.
Image

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: OverClocking ATI Graphics Cards

Postby skier » Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:34 am

im trying to use ATI tray tools and whenever i try to change anything, the screen "strobes" and it shuts down, im using Catalyst 7.7 and have CCC installed, will uninstalling the Control center let me use ATT? or should i try another program?
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

PCFlip
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:15 pm
Location: Cali, USA
Contact:

Re: OverClocking ATI Graphics Cards

Postby PCFlip » Thu Jan 31, 2008 10:03 pm

I can get some nice OC with my 2900xt and run different games and benchy programs and have it nice and stable but for some reason when I load the Ruby White Out benchmark it kicks the crap out of my OC, no OC I have tried that is higher then say 2% of the stock clocks would artifact, any ideas behind this or the whole eh its only that one bench that has issues with the OC?

Also awesome guide so far. :supz:

User avatar
IRQ Conflict
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 257
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:26 pm

Re: OverClocking ATI Graphics Cards

Postby IRQ Conflict » Sun Mar 02, 2008 5:30 pm

turn the mem down 5-10 MHz then retry.
-Rampage- Motherboard: Asus Rampage Formula CPU: Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz Cooling: OCZ Vendetta 2 Ram: 4GB OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 5-5-5-15 @ 540Mhz Video Card: Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 Storage: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB/4x 500GB Barracuda 7200.11 Raid 0 Power Supply: PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad Case: Antec P180B Monitor: Syncmaster 245T OS: Vista 64bit
Image

User avatar
Athlonite
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:01 pm

Re: OverClocking ATI Graphics Cards

Postby Athlonite » Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:07 pm

BTW cat 9.2's are out and there is an agp hotfix version aswell

sasamkd
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 12:43 am
Location: Skopje

Re: OverClocking ATI Graphics Cards

Postby sasamkd » Sun Nov 22, 2009 10:57 am

ATI Tool - definitely.

stopthekilling77 wrote:i'm tempted to mess around with my SAPPHIRE 7000 series card >.<



LOL



no seriously, i'm gonna give it a shot


Bring back memories. :)
I don't use the card anymore (Connect3D ATI 9550), I gave it to a friend. It is still working after all these years of torture :P.
Had passive cooler, and I attached 8cm case fan. Default clock was GPU/RAM - 250/198 and it was rock solid up to 500/217. And to be honest, I never tried beyond 500MHz.
:)

sasamkd
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 12:43 am
Location: Skopje

Re: OverClocking ATI Graphics Cards

Postby sasamkd » Sun Nov 22, 2009 10:58 am

skier wrote:im trying to use ATI tray tools and whenever i try to change anything, the screen "strobes" and it shuts down, im using Catalyst 7.7 and have CCC installed, will uninstalling the Control center let me use ATT? or should i try another program?


No. You don't need CCC for tray tools to work.

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: OverClocking ATI Graphics Cards

Postby skier » Sun Nov 22, 2009 11:14 am

sasamkd wrote:
skier wrote:im trying to use ATI tray tools and whenever i try to change anything, the screen "strobes" and it shuts down, im using Catalyst 7.7 and have CCC installed, will uninstalling the Control center let me use ATT? or should i try another program?


No. You don't need CCC for tray tools to work.


lol that post was only 2 years and a week old, though i did go back on an ATI card just yesterday for graphics :rolleyes:
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups


Return to “AMD Radeon and FirePro Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests