RAM Voltage: 1.8 to 2.0 Volts versus 2.2 Volts

From general questions to the harder advanced user topics you will find them here!
AARRGGHHH
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast

RAM Voltage: 1.8 to 2.0 Volts versus 2.2 Volts

Post by AARRGGHHH »

I'm new to system building. I'm seeing a comparatively large range of stock voltages for DDR2 800 RAM. I had thought that 1.8 to 2.0 volts was typical, and I am seeing that range, but I'm also seeing 2.2 volts fairly often.

Will there be problems with buying RAM that runs stock 2.2 volts? I'm worried about excessive heat (slowing down the RAM and possibly wearing it down too quickly), and I'm also worried about whether I'll be able to overclock if the RAM, if it's already starting out at 2.2 volts.

Thanks
JohntechUPi
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado

Post by JohntechUPi »

Just dont go over the memory maker's rated Voltage and you can always try and run the memory Voltage a bit less then what it's rated at, but they normally suggest the voltage for a reason.
In addition, memory that is set or tested at 2.2 Volts will usually be tested at tighter timings just relax the tested settings and play with the Voltage to your taste if you want.
One-liner about business
Producing a system from a specification is like walking on water; it's easier if it's frozen.
little_tea_pot
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast

Re: RAM Voltage: 1.8 to 2.0 Volts versus 2.2 Volts

Post by little_tea_pot »

SO how important is it to match the RAM's voltage with the Voltage on the motherboard?? Say the RAM I want is 2.1V DDR800 4-4-4-12 and the mother board states RAM voltage of 1.8V DDR. I'm wanting to get a Intel G33 uATX board, the spec sheet states ram voltage between 1.8 and 1.9V. It should be OK to increase the voltage right? or wolud I need to relax the timings for the recomended voltage to work?? I'm kind of a noob here....
TooT! TooT!
JohntechUPi
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado

Post by JohntechUPi »