DDR3

From general questions to the harder advanced user topics you will find them here!
hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

DDR3

Postby hercules71185 » Sun Nov 23, 2008 7:18 pm

What is a better option for me, DDR3 1066 with CAS 7 7 7 18, or DDR3 1333 @ 9 9 9 24. The mobo will support both of them and they are for the i7

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DDR3

Postby DMB2000uk » Mon Nov 24, 2008 4:12 am

They are going to be pretty similar in performance, so get the 1333Mhz kit.

Are you planning on going 3GB or 6GB?

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: DDR3

Postby hercules71185 » Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:43 am

3gb to get it up and going.But, is there anything out yet that needs more than 3? I remember when I was on the forums more about 10 months ago 2gb with a 512 card was sufficient for anything. I'm definitely going to jack it up some more after I get it going. Like maybe another 6gb afterwards when I get 64bit vista.

Speaking of that, I purchased 32bit vista premium. Anyone know if windows is understanding on upgrading you to the 64 bit for little cost? Or do i have to scrap it up as a screw up? Or another thing think if I got the 64bit my serial would work? lol

(Back to the topic) What I kinda figured was the ram was the same, just when they loosened the timings it allowed it to run at a higher speed.

User avatar
Alathald
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Southern Ohio
Contact:

Re: DDR3

Postby Alathald » Mon Nov 24, 2008 6:37 am

IDK if any 32bit editions come with a 64bit disc but all versions of windows vista use the same key for 32bit or 64bit. So if your version only comes with a 32bit disc then your only chore would be to track down a 64bit disc (winkwink) and you can have 64bit using your 32bit key.
Image

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: DDR3

Postby hercules71185 » Mon Nov 24, 2008 6:50 am

Alathald wrote:IDK if any 32bit editions come with a 64bit disc but all versions of windows vista use the same key for 32bit or 64bit. So if your version only comes with a 32bit disc then your only chore would be to track down a 64bit disc (winkwink) and you can have 64bit using your 32bit key.



AWESOME, haha, I didn't know that and thanks again. I've actually wondered if that would work for a while, but never tried it.


Return to “Memory Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests