RAM Q's and mobo/cpu

From general questions to the harder advanced user topics you will find them here!
User avatar
Chaosmountain
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 3:58 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan, U.S.A.

RAM Q's and mobo/cpu

Postby Chaosmountain » Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:28 pm

Hey all!!
I just found this site yesterday and joined tonight.
It looks pretty good and i like the reviews as i found a few on parts i have already bought for my new build this week. :supz:

I'm hoping to get some Q's answered on my new build.

1. Will there be a big difference going from DDR 3 1600 to DDR3 1866 ram ?

2. I have read that there is really no difference between,
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-14900CL9D-8GBSR &
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231460
&
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231455

3. I am buying a GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128514

It states that is supports
DDR3 2000(O.C.)/1866/1600/1333/1066
.
Does that mean that i can run 1866 ram without overclocking it to obtain the 1866 ?
As i have read AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition Thuban CPU's, stock, only support up to 1600 ram.

I will be running 2 EVGA SuperClocked 01G-P3-1463-KR GeForce GTX 560 (Fermi) 1GB in SLI.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130664

If there won't be a major noticeable difference between the 1600 & 1866 ram i may just opt for the cheaper 1600 so i don't have to mess around with overclocking it.

Thanks in advance for any insight & help on this!!

If any more info is required just ask & i will post it.

Thanks again!
Image

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33653
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: RAM Q's and mobo/cpu

Postby Apoptosis » Sat Aug 27, 2011 5:50 am

It's been a bit since we tested memory speeds on Phenom II, but I just did an article last month on AMD Llano APUs - http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1652/1/

Image

I tested 1333/1600/1866 and found some slight performance improvements as memory got faster. If money isn't an issue and you care about performance you of course want the fastest memory you can get. The review I just linked you used the G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB series that you are looking at. Since the two kits you linked have the same density, operating voltage, CAS latency timings and warranty you are correct in believing that they are pretty much the same. The difference here is likely the heat spreaders and the look. Either kit will work and yes, you won't have to overclock the CPU to run 1866MHz. There is a memory divider that will allow you to run 1866Mhz just fine. If you wanted 2000MHz and beyond then you'd have to overclock the CPU.

For the small price increase of 1866MHz memory over 1600MHz memory and the slight performance bump that you get I'd suggest getting it. You obviously want performance or you wouldn't be asking. A couple percent here and there really add up at the end of the day and will just make you more happy with your build.
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
Chaosmountain
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 3:58 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan, U.S.A.

Re: RAM Q's and mobo/cpu

Postby Chaosmountain » Sat Aug 27, 2011 8:28 pm

Hey Apoptosis

Thanks for the reply and info!!

Actually last night i ended up ordering the G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 as it was already $10.00 cheaper than the Ripjaw set and they have a 15% off promo so it ended up costing me 60.00 for the set, as opposed to $80.00 for the ripjaw set, i will order another set probably next month to up it to 16GB's of ram.
Cooling won't be an issue as i plan on buying one of those dual fan ram coolers.

And the mobo i ordered, from what i have read, it is supposed to also support the new bulldozer CPU's so i may end up getting one of those, dropping it into my new system, moving the 6 core down to my quad system and then upgrading my son's dual core with my old quad cpu..... did ya follow all that :lol:

I now have everything i need to finish my new build except the CPU, which i will be ordering in a few days.
I had to order it all in 3-4 orders to pay for it all ](*,)

This is everything i have so far,

1 x Rosewill ARMOR Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
1 x Ultra U12-40841 X4 Gold Edition Modular Power Supply - 1000W, ATX, 80 Plus Gold http://www.ultraproducts.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=6078408&Sku=U12-40841
2 x EVGA SuperClocked 01G-P3-1463-KR GeForce GTX 560 (Fermi) 1GB
1 x CORSAIR H80 (CWCH80) High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
1 x Western Digital Caviar Black WD7502AAEX 750GB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s (bought it the other night because they were on a shell shocker deal for 49.99 shipped)
2 x Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s
1 x GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
1 x G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
(ordered ram & mobo last night)
1 x AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition Thuban 3.3GHz, 3.7GHz Turbo Socket AM3 (ordering this coming week)

I am sure i will be posting back and searching for threads about overclocking the ram, i have overclocked a couple of CPU's but never ram.

I also plan on overclocking my new CPU anyway's so.

A couple of things kind of Off Topic but......

I don't see any reviews on PSU's ?

I also saw the review on the Rosewill ARMOR Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case, about a week after i received mine, it does suck how they set up the HDD cage so you have to run the sata & power cables across the case to the left side instead of being able to hide them in the back panel behind the mobo. :x

I have the Rosewill CHALLENGER Black Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case for my quad core and i love it because of the way the PSU sucks air from outside and then out the back so no air is mixed between the PSU and case & how all the HDD cables, etc, could be hidden behind the mobo and the right side case panel.
And i also have the CORSAIR CWCH50-1 High Performance CPU Cooler on my quad core and also love it!!
So i thought i would upgrade the case and CPU cooler, i did not realize they fubared on the Armor case's HDD cage until i read the review on it here, then i checked mine out.
Guess i will have to do some modding on it to make the HDD's go in with the plugs behind the mobo.

Well i am sure i will be doing quite a bit of reading here and at least a couple of more post's for help.

Thanks again for the reply and info!!



:supz:
Image

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: RAM Q's and mobo/cpu

Postby Major_A » Sun Aug 28, 2011 12:57 pm

If you want a site that reviews power supplies the right way then check out jonnyGURU.com.

I've read recently that nVidia is dragging their feet with the SLI patch for the 990FX motherboards. So out of the box SLI may or may not work. But eventually it will so you won't have wasted your money.

When the motherboard says you can reach certain RAM speeds by overclocking it isn't a big deal. In the past (Pentium 4/Athlon XP) days when you bought RAM that was faster than the motherboard supported you could reach those speeds but you really had to overclock the RAM. Now all you do is enter the BIOS and go to the RAM section. From there you tell it what speed you want it to run at i.e. 1866, 1600, 1333, etc... Nothing to it.

User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1234
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: RAM Q's and mobo/cpu

Postby sbohdan » Sun Aug 28, 2011 6:10 pm

If I were you I would never buy an Ultra PS. Especially not for that price. You can buy the best PS's (corsair, PC Power & cooling, OCZ, rosewill etc.) for that price or less.

How about this one?
http://www.amazon.com/PC-Power-Cooling-Performance-compatible/dp/B004IK40K4/ref=sr_1_12?ie=UTF8&qid=1314576232&sr=8-12 (plenty enough for your SLI setup -62A on +12V- and only $99 after rebate)

or this:
http://www.amazon.com/PC-Power-Cooling-Performance-compatible/dp/B00284AJ1G/ref=sr_1_16?ie=UTF8&qid=1314576435&sr=8-16 If you want something even more powerful 74A onthe +12V single rail, 1000W in peaks (still just $139.99 after rebate)

Don't let the looks fool you. These two are premium, quiet and SUPER STABLE PS's. You won't regret it :ANAL:

Oh and if you realy want speeeed, I would consider a nice SSD drive for the system. crucial is the best bang for your buck and you get 500MB+ read speed (almost 5x as much as the drives you getting with the just released 009 firmware) from even the 64GB one (plenty enough storage for your OS, programs and maybe couple of games):

http://www.amazon.com/Lexar-Media-Crucial-64-2-5-Inch-CT064M4SSD2/dp/B004W2JKWG/ref=wl_it_dp_o?ie=UTF8&coliid=I5YV5XYFVQ28J&colid=HHALBEHZXRUK

You could get it with the savings on the better AND cheaper power supply :supz:
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, Gigabyte GA-P67-UD4-B3, 2500K@4.7Ghz,1.428V, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws 2133Mhz 10-12-12-31@1.6V, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, 2xOCZ Vertex4 128GB RAID0, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win7 Ultimate 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN7 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: viewtopic.php?t=3263&highlight=


Return to “Memory Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests