Kingston Shows 64GB of HyperX Memory Running on Intel X79

From general questions to the harder advanced user topics you will find them here!
User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33604
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Kingston Shows 64GB of HyperX Memory Running on Intel X79

Postby Apoptosis » Thu Sep 15, 2011 9:11 am

As you already know a number of motherboard manufacturers are offering eight DIMM slots on their upcoming Intel X79 motherboards. We have seen half a dozen different boards at IDF 2011, but not too many of them are running any demos. The one demo that we ran across that is impressive was at the Kingston Technology booth. Kingston is has a system up and running using the Gigabyte X79-UD5 motherboard and it has all eight DIMM slots populated with 8GB DDR3 memory modules. This means that the system was running 64GB of memory! Kingston said the memory was rock solid and to prove it they had Memtest86+ running in the background. Intel isn't letting anyone show performance numbers or clock speeds, so Kingston conveniently placed a sign over where that information is normally shown on the monitor.

Image
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

kurahk7
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 11:27 am

Re: Kingston Shows 64GB of HyperX Memory Running on Intel X7

Postby kurahk7 » Thu Sep 15, 2011 3:14 pm

Is that the CM Hyper 212+?
Intel Core i5 750
ASUS nVidia GeForce 9800gt Glaciator Fansink
Msi P55-GD55
4GB OCZ Plantium PC3-10666 (7-7-7-20 2t)
OCZ ModXStream 700 Watt Semi-Modular
Toshiba DVD Spermulti Drive SATA 2
Antec 900
Hitachi 1TB 32mb 7200RPM SATA2
Running Windows 7 Ultimate x64

User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1218
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Kingston Shows 64GB of HyperX Memory Running on Intel X7

Postby sbohdan » Thu Sep 15, 2011 5:49 pm

Is there any app that can actualy utilize 64GB of RAM?
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, Gigabyte GA-P67-UD4-B3, 2500K@4.7Ghz,1.428V, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws 2133Mhz 10-12-12-31@1.6V, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, 2xOCZ Vertex4 128GB RAID0, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win7 Ultimate 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN7 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: viewtopic.php?t=3263&highlight=

jebo_4jc
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: Kingston Shows 64GB of HyperX Memory Running on Intel X7

Postby jebo_4jc » Tue Oct 18, 2011 2:23 pm

sbohdan wrote:Is there any app that can actualy utilize 64GB of RAM?

memtest, duh

:lol:

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Kingston Shows 64GB of HyperX Memory Running on Intel X7

Postby skier » Tue Nov 22, 2011 7:47 am

jebo_4jc wrote:
sbohdan wrote:Is there any app that can actualy utilize 64GB of RAM?

memtest, duh

:lol:


if you use a lot of photoshop or premiere/ other intensive photo/video editing and encoding apps, and have multiple versions running simultaneously
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups


Return to “Memory Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest