AK31 post beep

Discussion about AMD CPU Motherboards
mace
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:26 pm

AK31 post beep

Postby mace » Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:35 pm

Tonight my venerable Shuttle AK31A will not post, instead it issues a 4 second long beep that repeats. I thought the memory may have gone belly up and tried the same single stick of PC3200 in the other slots... same 4 second beep. Cannot find anything like this on the Phoenix post beep chart. Please help.

User avatar
Methious
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: Joplin Mo.

Re: AK31 post beep

Postby Methious » Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:11 pm

Check your video card, lots of times video cards give the same beep codes as ram. If the video card is good try resetting Bios. Unplug every thing but ram and video card to eliminate other devices, if your still getting beeps that leaves MOBO,Memory,Video Card,CPU. Are you getting any video at all?
Image

mace
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:26 pm

Re: AK31 post beep

Postby mace » Fri Dec 28, 2007 5:54 am

System does not post, fans spin up. cleared cmos, reseated all cards and psu cable.

The long beep seems to be more like an alarm.

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: AK31 post beep

Postby skier » Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:34 am

sounds like your board could be dead
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: AK31 post beep

Postby kenc51 » Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:53 am

Remove all parts then re-seat the cpu and gfx card. Install only one stick of RAM and put it in the slot closest to the cpu and test.

If it still fails, move the ram to another slot or try another stick of ram.


Return to “AMD Motherboard Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests