Did I just fry this motherboard?

Discussion about AMD CPU Motherboards
LoTek_X
Legit User
Legit User

Did I just fry this motherboard?

Post by LoTek_X »

Hello,
I am kind of new to building new computers, I've played around with older systems with somewhat mixed results. I just built myself a new system (the first NEW rig I've ever had.) A friend asked me to help him build a new system for himself, a real monster, everything on the bleeding edge.
Anyway I got the motherboard, processor, memory, & PSU together, just to see if I could get it to post. I turned on the power and the fan started, but no beep, well I forgot to hook up the speaker so I did that. Powered it up again and the fan started, then stopped. I looked in the manual and saw that while I hooked up the 20-pin power connector, I forgot to hook up the 4-pin CPU power connector, so back to the title- did I just fry this motherboard? Or the CPU? AND the CPU? What I'm saying, basically is HELP!!!
Thanks,
LoTek_X
PS- My friend is really annoyed, so the sooner I hear from someone, the better, he in my living room RIGHT NOW and smoke is coming out of his ears.
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Did I just fry this motherboard?

Post by dicecca112 »

Not likely, but possible.
vbironchef
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist

Post by vbironchef »

Please post specs. and photos if you can. I would take it all apart and start over. If you didn't smell smoke or flames I think you are ok. Take your time and read before you connect. Good luck. Next time don't touch anyone elses stuff unless you know what you are doing. If you did mess up you owe him a new motherboard. That's just me.
LoTek_X
Legit User
Legit User

Post by LoTek_X »

Hey Guys, Thanks for the quick responses,