No POST

Discussion about AMD CPU Motherboards
User avatar
Neptune24
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 10:28 am
Location: Hampshire, UK

No POST

Postby Neptune24 » Mon Sep 06, 2010 6:34 am

Hi guys. I have a tower that I got from a friend and it's not POSTing. Tried it without RAM and nothing. Even used a spare buzzer to see if it was just the the on board on died, but nothing. ////had a look at the processor and couldn't see anything wrong. The motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-85661GXMP.

Neptune24
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD PhenomII X4 965 Processor, 3.4GHz(Stock)
Memory: 16GB RAM
Graphics Card: GeForce GTX 550 Ti Memory: 1024 MB
GPU Driver:
8.17.12.7061
Direct X 11

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33695
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: No POST

Postby Apoptosis » Mon Sep 06, 2010 6:42 am

maybe try pulling it from a case and see if it is a grounding issue? Is the PSU known to be good?
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4658
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: No POST

Postby bubba » Mon Sep 06, 2010 7:31 am

Also make sure that there is no jumper tabs missing. I had a system go dumb on me because the BIOS/CMOS jumper got knocked off.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
Neptune24
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 10:28 am
Location: Hampshire, UK

Re: No POST

Postby Neptune24 » Tue Sep 14, 2010 9:29 am

What are jumper tabs??
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD PhenomII X4 965 Processor, 3.4GHz(Stock)
Memory: 16GB RAM
Graphics Card: GeForce GTX 550 Ti Memory: 1024 MB
GPU Driver:
8.17.12.7061
Direct X 11

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4658
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: No POST

Postby bubba » Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:29 am

Little tab that is on a set of pins. Some newer boards only have them for clearing the CMOS, older boards have them all over the place for various tasks.
jumper.jpg
jumper.jpg (10.42 KiB) Viewed 6376 times
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
Neptune24
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 10:28 am
Location: Hampshire, UK

Re: No POST

Postby Neptune24 » Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:37 am

Oh them things. As I had said it was working before hand but then went into the attic for about 3 years so there shouldn't be. But how do I work out if there are any missing??
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD PhenomII X4 965 Processor, 3.4GHz(Stock)
Memory: 16GB RAM
Graphics Card: GeForce GTX 550 Ti Memory: 1024 MB
GPU Driver:
8.17.12.7061
Direct X 11

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: No POST

Postby skier » Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:21 am

are there any fans spinning? hard drive? does it display anything on boot? have you tried using each RAM stick in each DIMM slot?

did it work before the 3 years it sat? long periods of not-running is generally bad for components, especially hard drives

have you run it with just the PSU+board+CPU+graphics+RAM installed? is the power switch connector on the right pins? have you tried shorting the PWR SW pins with a screw driver to turn it on? (eliminating a bad switch as the problem)

are you using on-board graphics or discrete, and which connector is your monitor plugged into if you have both?

have you eliminated graphics as the problem? (have you tested the graphics card in another computer, or used a graphics card from a known-working system)


a few of the things that come to mind..
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4658
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: No POST

Postby bubba » Wed Sep 15, 2010 12:40 pm

Oh wow, it set for 3 years... there could be all kinds of things wrong.

Need to start with the power supply. Do the fans come on when you start the machine?
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
Neptune24
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 10:28 am
Location: Hampshire, UK

Re: No POST

Postby Neptune24 » Thu Sep 16, 2010 5:32 am

Well the fans twirl around and the disk drive checks for a disk. From what I can tell the HDD is getting power and working. In relation to the graphics, when I plug the monitor into either of the two slot nothing happens and even atfer removing the card and using the motherboard graphics doesn't produce anything on the screen.
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD PhenomII X4 965 Processor, 3.4GHz(Stock)
Memory: 16GB RAM
Graphics Card: GeForce GTX 550 Ti Memory: 1024 MB
GPU Driver:
8.17.12.7061
Direct X 11

User avatar
Neptune24
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 10:28 am
Location: Hampshire, UK

Re: No POST

Postby Neptune24 » Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:40 am

Just a thought. Is it possible that the components are just too cold and the tower needs to be sat somewhere warm for a while??
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD PhenomII X4 965 Processor, 3.4GHz(Stock)
Memory: 16GB RAM
Graphics Card: GeForce GTX 550 Ti Memory: 1024 MB
GPU Driver:
8.17.12.7061
Direct X 11

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4658
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: No POST

Postby bubba » Wed Nov 17, 2010 7:49 am

I'm not sure what the issue is, but it setting unpowered in the attic for so long with all the wide temp changes that happens in a day in that type of space there could be any number of issues with the motherboard components.

I'm afraid at this point its a lost cause.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson


Return to “AMD Motherboard Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest