Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors v1.6.1

Discussion about Intel CPUs and overclocking. Need help with that new Intel processor? Not sure which one is right for you? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Intel Processors!
graysky
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:03 pm

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.2)

Postby graysky » Fri Aug 17, 2007 2:24 pm

Updated the guide today. Have a read and lemme know if I have errors, bad links, etc.
http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!

Image

User avatar
JohntechUPi
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: California USA /Manila Philippines
Contact:

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.2)

Postby JohntechUPi » Fri Aug 17, 2007 5:59 pm

Awesome Guide, do you mind if I post this or a link to this on another forum?
One-liner about business
Producing a system from a specification is like walking on water; it's easier if it's frozen.

graysky
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:03 pm

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.2)

Postby graysky » Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:20 pm

Link away :)
http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!

Image

Dharkelf
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:23 am

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.2)

Postby Dharkelf » Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:28 am

Hello, great guide!

I´ve got another problem with the q6600. I don´t want to overclock. However I´ve got 1066 ram hyperX/Kingston and it just works as 800. Do I have to set (which?) voltages up or (as I heard somewhere else) disable static read control?
tia!

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.2)

Postby DMB2000uk » Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:46 am

Dharkelf wrote:I´ve got another problem with the q6600. I don´t want to overclock. However I´ve got 1066 ram hyperX/Kingston and it just works as 800. Do I have to set (which?) voltages up or (as I heard somewhere else) disable static read control?
tia!

If you have the latest BIOS (and it doesn't support a 1066Mhz RAM setting) then the only way to use your RAM at 1066 is to overclock the FSB. You could choose to overclock your FSB to 355Mhz and drop your processor multiplier down to 7, so that your RAM and CPU are at the right setting, but the FSB is overclocked.

You'd have to follow a similar overclocking procedure to what is listed above to make sure the FSB is stable when it is overclocked. And if it becomes unstable, then you would need to add more northbridge/MCH voltage. A better test for FSB/Northbridge stability is memtest86+, run test 5 looped for a couple of hours, if it fails or hangs, your northbrige/MCH needs more voltage as it is not quite stable.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

Dharkelf
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:23 am

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.2)

Postby Dharkelf » Sat Sep 08, 2007 11:25 am

Thanks for the fast answer.

My BIOS supports the 1067 - I hope.

I tried with setting the exact timing 5-5-5-15, disabling static read control and going to 2,3 V for DRAM, and 1,4 V for northbridge (as advised in another board) but as soon as windows xp started loading I got a blue screen (always at the same time).

Without any modification I can set up the Frequency for DRAM to 889 and cpuz shows 445.5 MHz as Frequency (400 b4) and 3:5 FSB 2 DRAM (2:3 b4).

I bought 1066 ram because I hoped it would fit perfectly with the q6600 and the board. So it doesnt.

Any setting suggestions?

My BIOS JumperFree settings now are:

AI OC Manual (M)
CPU Ratio C Auto (A)
FSB f 266
PCIE f A
DRAM f 889 (1067 didnt work)
DRAM Timing M
CAS 5
RAS 2 CAS 5
RAS precharge 5
RAS act 2 prec 15
TWR, TRFC, TWTR, TRRD, TRTP all A
DRAM static/dyn A
Transactr B A
COC A
CPU speed A
PCIE speed A
CPU Voltage (V) A
CPU V Ref A
CPU V Damper A
CPU PLL A
DRAM 2,2 V
FDB Termination A
Northbridge A
Northbridge Reference A

Thnx again for any suggestions!

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.2)

Postby DMB2000uk » Sat Sep 08, 2007 11:34 am

Does your board support unlinked RAM overclocking? (I should have checked before I told you all that other stuff!)

The 1.4v for NB, is that above normal for your board?

What make and model is your RAM and board?

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.2)

Postby kenc51 » Sat Sep 08, 2007 11:38 am

I presume you're using an Asus P5K motherboard?

Try manually setting TWR = 11 / TRFC = 42 / TWTR & TRRD & TRTP to 10
Static read to disabled
Transaction booster to disabled (should be able to run "enabled = 1", but just in case)
Command rate = 2T
Main Timings = 5-5-5-18
CPU PLL Voltage = 1.6v
FSB Termination Voltage = 1.3v
NB Volt = ~1.35v


Also, CPU Voltage Damper should always be "Enabled" 8)

Dharkelf
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:23 am

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.2)

Postby Dharkelf » Sat Sep 08, 2007 11:42 am

mainboard: asus p5kc http://de.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l ... odelmenu=2

ram (2 x, slot 1 and 3[quote][/quote]) http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configu ... 500D2K2/2G

I can´t answer what it supports without getting fried. I´m not a specialist for this voltage area, I´m engineering systems up of 110kV ...

Dharkelf
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:23 am

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.2)

Postby Dharkelf » Sat Sep 08, 2007 12:03 pm

I tried the suggested settings WITH 2,3V for DRAM and without the 2T command rate - where can I set it?, additionally no 1,6V 4 CPU PLL only 1,5 and 1,7 available (tested both) and 4 NB only 1,26 and 1,4 available (set)

again, blue screen on start loading xp pro.

Any finetuning?

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.2)

Postby DMB2000uk » Sat Sep 08, 2007 12:04 pm

kenc51 wrote:I presume you're using an Asus P5K motherboard?


Psychic Ken to the rescue!

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

Dharkelf
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:23 am

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.2)

Postby Dharkelf » Wed Sep 12, 2007 1:30 pm

WORKING !

DRAM manually to 1067, timings 5-5-5-15, voltage to 2,2V, CPU ratio muliplyer manually fixed at 9, fsb fixed at 266

AND

DRAM into slots 2 and 4 (the black ones) - other than the manual says.

seems there are a lot out there with 1066 - problems...

THANKS for Your help!

User avatar
kappage
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1358
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:38 pm

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.2)

Postby kappage » Fri Oct 19, 2007 3:09 am

nice review!
Main Rig: C2D 6850 @ 3.0Ghz, 2Gb DDR2667Mhz @ 833Mhz 5-5-5-15 Timings , XFX xXx 8600GTS @ 730/2260 , Gigabyte Ga-945GCM-S2L
JukeBox: Currently in an Upgrade but im too lazy to do it at the moment
I² keepin it real

graysky
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:03 pm

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.2)

Postby graysky » Sun Oct 21, 2007 1:49 am

glad you found it useful!
http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!

Image

graysky
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:03 pm

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.3)

Postby graysky » Sun Nov 04, 2007 5:31 am

Just updated the guide to version 1.3 which contains new info, fixes, clean-ups, etc. Enjoy!
http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!

Image

User avatar
bobletman
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:40 pm

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.3)

Postby bobletman » Sat Nov 17, 2007 12:27 pm

Very nice guide. Cant wait to OC my Q6600 even more. Thank you.
Q6600 Core 2 quad @ 3.0Ghz
2gb of patriot ram reduced latency.
500GB 7200 rpm Seagate (baracuda)
BFG nvidia 8800 GTS 512 MB G92 core
Zalman CNPS9700 LED CPU fan
Ultra X-Blaster computer case
P5K-E Wifi edition MOBO
G15 keyboard and G7 mouse
22 inch widescreen samsung
Z5300e speaker system
3Dmark06 score 15K

graysky
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:03 pm

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.3)

Postby graysky » Sun Nov 18, 2007 3:34 am

Glad you found it useful. Please post your results.
http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!

Image

User avatar
dkarko
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 4:32 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.3)

Postby dkarko » Wed Nov 21, 2007 3:08 am

Great guide!
oneup
"Παν ΜέτÏ

User avatar
Indignity
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 10:56 am
Location: Brew City

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.4)

Postby Indignity » Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:42 am

Very nice guide! :supz: :supz:

When you mention the heat was an issue to you when you had your CPU @ 3.3GHz, what temps were they running? The other question I have is can you actually detect a performance increase from say an e6600 to the q6600 if you were to run both side by side @ stock settings?

I'd consider "upgrading" my e6600 it if there is a noticeable difference. The highest I've pushed mine is 3.2GHz before it started flaking on me, but I went back to stock & hadn't messed with it again in a while.. Now, I need to win this month's drawing & I can have the beast back up & running!
Intel Core2Duo e6600 @ 3.78GHz/1.47v n ASUS P5N-E sli n 4x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2 8500(currently 5-5-5-15-2t) n FSP Group (Fortron) FX Series FX700-GLN-E 700W Power Supply n APEVIA X-Navigator ATXA8NW-AL Case n eVGA GeForce 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 n 1.25TB Seagate Barracudas(3 setup as hot-swap) n AuzenTech XMYSTIQUE7.1 Sound Card n Innovatek Eheim HPPS Plus 12V WaterPump n Danger Den TDX CPU block n Swiftech MCR320-QP (3x120mm) Radiator

graysky
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:03 pm

Re: Howto Guide: Overclocking C2D/C2Q Processors (v1.4)

Postby graysky » Tue Nov 27, 2007 2:48 pm

Indignity wrote:When you mention the heat was an issue to you when you had your CPU @ 3.3GHz, what temps were they running? The other question I have is can you actually detect a performance increase from say an e6600 to the q6600 if you were to run both side by side @ stock settings?


I can't remember exactly... they were over 65 °C for sure. As to your second question, if you're using an app that can use all 4 cores, then the answer is "yes!" If you're just browsing the web, emailing, etc. then no. The jury is still out the the game issue. I haven't done any testing or read about dual vs. quad that I can remember and post a url to here for ya. If memory serves me, the quads give better FPS scores on newer games like crysis, ut3, etc. but I don't think they were double that of the dual.
http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!

Image


Return to “Intel Processor Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests