Intel i7 950 safe overclocking?

Discussion about Intel CPUs and overclocking. Need help with that new Intel processor? Not sure which one is right for you? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Intel Processors!
ic3cold
Legit User
Legit User

Intel i7 950 safe overclocking?

Post by ic3cold »

I have an Intel i7 950, with an Intel DX58SO motherboard, XFX HD 6870 1Gb, 6Gb Kingston HyperX tri-channel memory, 2 2Tb Samsung HDs.
I know now is an old system and it's showing its age, but I want to overclock it safely, so if anyone can point me out in the right direction, apparently it supports several OC modes, but I am a newb with OC, not with computers in general so, I am open to suggestions, and please don't tell go buy a new one because I am not in the US and that is out of the question ...
BTW using Windows 7 Ultimate x86 and triple booting with Mac OS X Lion 10.7.3
DragonFury
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist

Re: Intel i7 950 safe overclocking?

Post by DragonFury »

Why a 32 bit os? Overclocking the Core i7 950 is fairly easy task. First what type of cooler are you using for your rig? Your computer is just fine, I still have a 970 in play, and other then not being able to break 4.2GHz vs the 5GHz n the 2600K the 970 will give the 2600k a run for its money. Especially if an application utilizes all of the cores.

there are several different ways we can approach this, I prefer on taking the slow route. So my suggestion to you is to start off with the video card. These are lot less temperamental, and will get you familiar with the benefits/nightmares of overclocking.
Mini ME
Is in a state of flux....
ic3cold
Legit User
Legit User

Post by ic3cold »