XFX GeForce 8800 GTX and eVGA 8800 GTS GPU's

A place to give your thoughts on our reviews!
User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33806
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

XFX GeForce 8800 GTX and eVGA 8800 GTS GPU's

Postby Apoptosis » Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:00 pm

NVIDIA’s GeForce 8800 GTX and 8800GTS GPU's are the industry's first fully unified architecture-based DirectX 10 compatible GPU's. The GeForce 8800GTX GPU consists of 128 individual stream processors clocked at 1.2GHz, which means awesome gaming performance. If you are wondering how these new GPU's stack up against the rest read on as we compare them to more than a dozen GPU's.

Image

The 8800 GTX simply walks away from every card on the market in almost every single test. What’s even more impressive is just how much a single 8800 GTX kicks the crap out of the older 7900 GTX SLI and 7950GX2 in Tomb Raider: Legend using Next Generation Content!


Article Title: XFX GeForce 8800 GTX and eVGA 8800 GTS GPU's
Article URL: http://www.legitreviews.com/article/413/1/


If you like the article please support Legit Reviews and DIGG It.

pastorjay
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: Nixa, Mo

Postby pastorjay » Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:18 pm

8) What an awesome card!

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4671
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Postby bubba » Wed Nov 08, 2006 3:10 pm

every gamer that has a SFF case for LAN's just screamed F@#$

that card is ungodly long, is the GTS just as long?

Because if this is the way is going to be I need to modify my case I'm making to allow for some more breathing room.

User avatar
Dragon_Cooler
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2405
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 am
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Postby Dragon_Cooler » Wed Nov 08, 2006 3:11 pm

and the only site that i can find with a REAL review too!!!! LOVE IT HERE

Deff know what card i am going to get for my new sys if i ever get the money!!!!
Image

User avatar
Digital Puppy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4649
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 12:36 pm
Location: LA LA Land, CA
Contact:

Postby Digital Puppy » Wed Nov 08, 2006 3:21 pm

Just in time for Christmas....

"Dear Santa...please make me l337......"
Just a little puppy trying to make it in a big digital world.

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Postby FZ1 » Wed Nov 08, 2006 3:35 pm

Looks nice, but I won't upgrade until I install vista etc to go along with it. Good review.
Joe

Bwall
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 675
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 12:22 am
Location: St. Louis
Contact:

Postby Bwall » Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:01 pm

bubba wrote:every gamer that has a SFF case for LAN's just screamed F@#$

that card is ungodly long, is the GTS just as long?

Because if this is the way is going to be I need to modify my case I'm making to allow for some more breathing room.


The GTS is the same size as the 7900 GTX and X1950XTX. :)
Image

User avatar
HONkUS
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1055
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:42 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas!
Contact:

Postby HONkUS » Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:22 pm

I want one so bad that I emailed nvidia tech support and asked them for a defective card lol. Stupid college student budget argh!

I can just see someone put two of these in their system and when they turn the computer on the lights dim in their house. :-)

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby DMB2000uk » Wed Nov 08, 2006 7:00 pm

why couldn't legit use a system like [H]'s to test the 8800GTX?

Our system consists of an eVGA 680i SLI motherboard, an Intel X6800, Corsair DDR3-PC9600 running at its rated 1200MHz, two 150GB Western Digital Raptor hard drives, one Maxtor 40GB hard drive, one Koolance Exos water cooling system, and of course the video card noted


mmm... DDR3....

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33806
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Postby Apoptosis » Wed Nov 08, 2006 7:54 pm

What you mean... here is my 680i system:
Image

Where you see DDR3 memory was used? Corsair doesn't have DDR3 memory in production. I'm running 9136 memory that was launched today... Full article on my SLI system is coming up soon.

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby DMB2000uk » Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:41 am

I know there is no system DDR3 memory, I was making a joke at [H]'s typo. Other than the typo, you guys are basically runnin the same rigs.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33806
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Postby Apoptosis » Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:59 am

DMB2000uk wrote:I know there is no system DDR3 memory, I was making a joke at [H]'s typo. Other than the typo, you guys are basically runnin the same rigs.

Dan


I wonder if they used Geil memory.. they have pc-9600 memory... interesting....


Return to “Legit Reviews Review Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests