2 nvme drives?

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1180
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

2 nvme drives?

Post by DJ Tucker » Tue Jun 11, 2019 10:57 am

is it possible to have 2 nvme drives working together when one (OS) is nvme 1.2 and the other (STORAGE) is nvme 1.3?
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.232v Barrow 360 Loop
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz CL16
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: Gigabyte RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV Block 1995Mhz @ 0.950v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Samsung 1080p C27F396
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: Corsair K70 Lux, M65 Pro, MSI GC30 and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33921
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: 2 nvme drives?

Post by Apoptosis » Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:19 am

I wouldn't RAID them, but yes you can have two NVMe drives with different specs in a system.
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1180
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: 2 nvme drives?

Post by DJ Tucker » Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:37 pm

Was just checking as that may of been the reason for my 660p constantly failing on me. reset to device raidport2 then constant failed to flush error. a simple restart fixes it then I get the same error again and again after any game I play multiplayer :evil:
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.232v Barrow 360 Loop
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz CL16
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: Gigabyte RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV Block 1995Mhz @ 0.950v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Samsung 1080p C27F396
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: Corsair K70 Lux, M65 Pro, MSI GC30 and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1180
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: 2 nvme drives?

Post by DJ Tucker » Thu Jun 27, 2019 9:18 am

So intel have honoured the warranty even though they believe the new drive will give the same error. ASRock have been very much in contact. Even going as far as getting intel involved to sort the issue. They even got their Taiwanese manufacture to test a 2tb model if they can get one to see if they can replicate the same issues. if they can they will replace the 660p for a different 2tb nvme free of charge.
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.232v Barrow 360 Loop
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz CL16
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: Gigabyte RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV Block 1995Mhz @ 0.950v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Samsung 1080p C27F396
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: Corsair K70 Lux, M65 Pro, MSI GC30 and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3918
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: 2 nvme drives?

Post by KnightRid » Fri Jun 28, 2019 3:51 am

Surprised ASRock didn't blame it all on you because they just suck that bad :finga: to ASSucks
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

Post Reply