Chassis INtruded

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
slayer22
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 12:05 am

Chassis INtruded

Post by slayer22 » Sat Jan 05, 2008 4:52 pm

ok i've built my computer but didnt turn it on. im back from holidays and i turn it on..guess what? i get a chassis intruded error ,fatal error . system halted. i try resetting the CMOS which works but after i install xp and it restarts i get the same error. the only way to pass this chassis intruded error is by resseting the CMOS+ chassis jumper below the battery

comp specs
asus p5k-e wifi
e6750 c2d cpu
2X1GB Kingston ram
asus 8600gt
360GB WD hdd
antec 900
antec true trio PSU

help would be appreciated . thank you

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Chassis INtruded

Post by Apoptosis » Sat Jan 05, 2008 6:06 pm

I got that the other day when I left my ASUS P5E3 off for a few days.. had that error pop up... powered down and restarted.... everything was fine. Haven't seen it since. Anyway, can you get into the BIOS to disable the sensor?

slayer22
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 12:05 am

Re: Chassis INtruded

Post by slayer22 » Sat Jan 05, 2008 7:08 pm

i resetted the CMOS by taking out the battery move the chassis jump from 1-2 to 2-3 for 30secs then move it to 1-2 again and wait 16secs and put on the battery again ..thats the only way to get into the bios and when i go in theres nothing to disable it..i've flashed the bios twice

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Chassis INtruded

Post by DMB2000uk » Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:37 pm

Put the jumper back on the bottom two pins on the chassis jumpers (top right of the mobo), that should disable it.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

Post Reply