offsite networking

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

offsite networking

Post by Merlin » Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:42 pm

My aunt asked me about something she called " VPN" I think this means Virtual Private Network but I am not sure. The goal is for my wife to be able to log into my aunts network using her ( my aunts) IP address. She said that her IP needs to me switched to static. Anyone know the specifics of what she is talking about ? and can you walk me thru the setup??
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: offsite networking

Post by DMB2000uk » Sat Feb 09, 2008 2:12 pm

Have heard about it, but never used it, so don't know if this guide is any good but:
http://searchexchange.techtarget.com/ne ... 14,00.html

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: offsite networking

Post by kenc51 » Sat Feb 09, 2008 2:12 pm

You'll need to contact your ISP and request a static ip address. There's usually a charge for this.

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: offsite networking

Post by martini161 » Sat Feb 09, 2008 2:52 pm

im not sure ken but i think many routers can also give you a static ip

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: offsite networking

Post by DMB2000uk » Sat Feb 09, 2008 3:35 pm

not to the internet, every time you turn off your router you'd get a new IP for the internet. Leaving it on 24/7 is a kind of workaround, but its not reliable enough to base something line a VPN on.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
hnzw_rui
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:42 am

Re: offsite networking

Post by hnzw_rui » Sat Feb 09, 2008 4:45 pm

Your aunt can get a pseudo-static address from DynDNS.org, No-IP.com, TZO.com, etc. There are usually options in routers to automatically update the IP address associated with the hostname.

You can do VPN via software or you can buy expensive routers with built-in VPN. Last I checked, the ones from Cisco cost >$500. I only know that because we were checking the cost as the office wanted to move away from software VPN (Windows Server 2000).

I have a Linksys WRT54GL router (bought it for $60 from Newegg) and installed custom firmware DD-WRT v23 mini. There's a version of DD-WRT that includes built-in VPN so it might be worth a try. It's a cheap way of doing VPN. There's a bunch of custom firmware available for common consumer-grade routers so maybe you can read up on those. There's also Linux if you want to take the time to set it up and stuff. I haven't played with setting up VPN myself, so I really couldn't help that much.

A quick google search came up with the following links:
http://www.geek-pages.com/articles/late ... idged.html
http://www.computernetworkinghelp.com/c ... view/41/1/
File Server/Media Encoder/PVR PC
Antec P182 / Corsair 550VX / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R / Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 / Wintec AMPX 2x2GB DDR2 800 / Sapphire 100233L Radeon HD 3450 / WD Caviar SE16 750GB x3 / WD Caviar GP 750GB / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7190A x2 / XP Pro SP2

unRAID Server
Antec 300 / Corsair 520HX / Abit AB9 Pro / Celeron 430 @ 1.80 / Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB DDR2 667 / ATI Rage XL / Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB x9 / unRAID 4.3.3

Post Reply