Post Your Rig!

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by InspectahACE » Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:31 am

LMAO
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by Major_A » Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:15 am

InspectahACE wrote:I might add another VelociRaptor to get a dual boot going along with that possible PhysX card mentioned before
No dual boot more RAID 0! You already have two bad*** cards there that can easily handle PhsyX so I see no need for a dedicated card just for that. Nice case and build. First thing I would've done was cut the LED wires on all the fans but if you dig them then that's great.

Don't take my non-love affair with LEDs personal. I once cut up a case, painted it bright orange. Put a biohazard sticker in my cut window, and had biohazard fan grills all over the thing. Inside I think I was rocking 3 green cold cathodes. If I can find a picture of that monstrosity I'll post it.

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by InspectahACE » Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:44 am

I would love to do RAID, I gotta learn it sometime lol(never tried it).. And from your response I'm assuming you can't do a dual boot and raid at same time? cuz that would've been the plan lol. Reason for the dual boot is that While Vista has picked up on compatibility(somewhat), 64 bit doesn't seem to like a few games that I play. Tiger Woods 08 runs fine but after a match the screen goes black and it's fun to navigate the menu then. Doom3 wont let me use the highest textures even when it's set and saved to them(doubt it's an SLI issue). Some people like LEDs some don't. I do . The rig you mentioned sounds pimp with the green lighting.I skipped out on a Cathode though. not many that are actually Red..I have a few PhysX games but I haven't installed them yet. so I don't know how well Physx will take on my rig as is. But I do want the highest frame rate possible so if a dedicated PhysX card helps the 285's out then ill plop the $100 down for one when the time comes. That and I'm Oc'd to 4ghz. I've been wantin to keep SLI to graphics only. Brother's in Arm's HH is supposed to have Physx, but I haven't seen much on it other than a crapload of feathers from shooting a mattress.. guess i'll see later on.
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by Major_A » Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:56 am

RAID is easy. It just creates one logical disk. From there create your second boot partition. Press F8 like you would to get into Safe Mode and select which partition you want to boot. When I got Vista back in Jan 07 and installed it for the first time I did that with XP. The problem was Vista was my primary boot but I found that I was spending more time in XP. Eventually I just reformatted and went back with XP.

My personal PhysX test, aka don't waste your money.

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by InspectahACE » Thu Apr 16, 2009 4:03 pm

That's what I thought it would be like..right on :). Yea i saw your benchmark not too long ago. now that I look at it again, I'm frowning on how the minimum fps went down using the 9 series instead of the main gpu...alrighty..well at least i can spend the money on somethin else then lol..
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
ratNukit
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 7:38 am
Location: Hamburg - Germany

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by ratNukit » Mon May 18, 2009 11:25 am

Well I got set up in my new room and here are some pictures of the setup. :)

Image

Image

Image

Image

I apologize for the quality of the pictures, but I still haven't got anything than my mobile to do pictures. :oops:
Image

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by Skippman » Mon May 18, 2009 11:42 am

Looking good brother! :supz:

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by InspectahACE » Mon May 18, 2009 1:28 pm

making me want to change my Red LED's to blue now lol
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by Skippman » Mon May 18, 2009 1:45 pm

InspectahACE wrote:making me want to change my Red LED's to blue now lol
I'm thinking WarMachine 2.0 will use red LED's. One Red machine, one Blue machine.

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by InspectahACE » Mon May 18, 2009 1:49 pm

hehe I was thinking of doing half Red and half Blue but I'm not sure..
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by Major_A » Mon May 18, 2009 2:56 pm

ratNukit wrote:Well I got set up in my new room and here are some pictures of the setup. :)
I apologize for the quality of the pictures, but I still haven't got anything than my mobile to do pictures. :oops:
Nice! $3K worth of hardware on a $25 table, I like it. My computer "desk" is nothing more than an old kitchen table.

User avatar
ratNukit
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 7:38 am
Location: Hamburg - Germany

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by ratNukit » Mon May 18, 2009 3:21 pm

Skippman wrote:Looking good brother! :supz:
thx :)
Major_A wrote:Nice! $3K worth of hardware on a $25 table, I like it. My computer "desk" is nothing more than an old kitchen table.
This table works a lot better than everything I had before and it's all I need. :mrgreen:
Image

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by vicaphit » Mon May 18, 2009 4:49 pm

Very cool background, do you have a link to that?
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by Major_A » Mon May 18, 2009 7:26 pm

I guess I'll post a picture of my Three Hundred. While I shouldn't I guess it is more of a PSA. If you have a lot of computer then this isn't the case to get if you want a clean wiring job.

Image

Image

Image

Image

User avatar
ratNukit
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 7:38 am
Location: Hamburg - Germany

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by ratNukit » Mon May 18, 2009 11:46 pm

vicaphit wrote:Very cool background, do you have a link to that?
Haven't got a link but I put the ones I got here http://rapidshare.com/files/234646052/Wallpapers.rar :)
Image

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by InspectahACE » Sat May 30, 2009 1:32 am

In the next month or so(hopefully earlier) I'm going to be painting the interior of my case. Gonna go black, but I'm also gonna do a 2-tone scheme..thinking maybe a change in colors.I've decided to go blue(unless I get another itch to keep the red, which I doubt)..Cool thing is, the other color is going to be on area/parts that can be replaced easily(in case i decide to change colors again. It really sucks having 2 favorite colors). Around the time I do this, I'm hoping to add another part or 2 to the rig as well.
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
aircommando13
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 5:14 pm
Location: Omaha, NE
Contact:

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by aircommando13 » Sat Jun 20, 2009 11:52 pm

moved to basement heres the new setup

You cant really see it but the computer is in a shelf thing in the bottom left of the desk, and the PS3 is inside the top shelf of the entertainment center. The DLP tv is only temporary until I get my 46" plasma. THe guy i borrowed this from said it was only 32", but I measured it and it's actually 44.5", so it's pretty decent.

I'll post the insides later, when i took pics of them earlier i was zoomed in, so the resolution was too high and it exceed the 256Kib quota :(
Attachments
S3010022.JPG
S3010022.JPG (119.23 KiB) Viewed 2637 times
Intel E8500 @ 4.0GHz
4GB(2 x 2GB) DDR2 800MHz
EVGA 750i SLI FTW
Seagate 7200.11 500GB HD
EVGA GTX 260 55nm
Antec 630 watt PSU
Samsung 22x DVD/+/-RW Burner
Antec p182 Case

deleted
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:52 pm

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by deleted » Sat Jun 27, 2009 10:39 am

This is my 9600 GSO and my new heatsink I just recently added to my PC :D It was a pain in the ass to install because I needed to remove my motherboard to add the backplate.
Image

Here are two links to view my Crysis benchmarks that I achieved from this rig :

http://i596.photobucket.com/albums/tt47 ... fpslol.jpg 30fps, settings all "high" except for textures and shadows (medium), 1440x900, no AA.


http://i596.photobucket.com/albums/tt47 ... fpslol.jpg 3fps, settings all "high", 1440x900, 16xQSAA..... = fail
Last edited by deleted on Fri Jul 10, 2009 4:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by skier » Sat Jun 27, 2009 12:57 pm

still in the antec case
IMG_1588.JPG
IMG_1588.JPG (101 KiB) Viewed 2537 times
mmmmm, pointed at the back of my head when gaming
IMG_1587.JPG
IMG_1587.JPG (89.35 KiB) Viewed 2537 times
GRiD screenshot background ftw oh, and my mouse pad prolly costs $20 more than my keyboard
IMG_1585.JPG
IMG_1585.JPG (86.15 KiB) Viewed 2537 times
that stereo puts out 50watts per Bass channel, and 25 per treble channel for the two speakers on top of it(and i have my all new speaker on a 50W channel with just the bass for a little speaker, other two big speakers are on the other 50W bass channel), those speakers plus three of the big ones i use currently for music(or in game sound sometimes for games like L4D or Crysis or HL2 where you cant really listen to music, the reciever has aux in through a Mini-jack-> RCA converter so i have one of my Yamaha PC speakers close enough to the reciever to plug it in(you cant see the Speaker in the dektop pic that im talkin about)) and the bass can very easily make the stuffed file cabinet sides shake :) yeah, i like my music. and my bass.
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by stopthekilling77 » Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:39 pm

fistbump on that deathadder ;)
i got the Razer Sphex desktop skin and they pair beautifully!
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

Post Reply