Post Your Rig!

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4702
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by bubba » Fri Sep 25, 2009 6:03 pm

Got one of those with a gig of RAM running windows 7 like a champ. Set one up at work to test some of the programs we use to see how it would react to Win7.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by Apoptosis » Fri Sep 25, 2009 8:52 pm

iseeman wrote:I have a dell dimension 2400 lol...It has been tossed up by my dad like around 6 times....but it still works perfectly....

Spec:
Intel celeron 2.6ghz
512mb memory
40gb hdd
Integrated Intel Extreme 3D Graphics

here are the pictures....
Image

Image
Welcome to the site... looks like you beat the ever loving heck out of it... LOL
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by Major_A » Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:40 pm

If that's your main rig then I realize I have a problem. I have several PCs sitting in pieces or fully assembled in the garage that are better than the Celeron.

User avatar
DL13
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona USA

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by DL13 » Fri Sep 25, 2009 10:19 pm

iseeman wrote:I have a dell dimension 2400 lol...It has been tossed up by my dad like around 6 times....but it still works perfectly....

Spec:
Intel celeron 2.6ghz
512mb memory
40gb hdd
Integrated Intel Extreme 3D Graphics

here are the pictures....
Image

Image
That's amazing your dad tossed it 6 time and it still works :bs: I don't think that's your real rig, if I am wrong you did a pretty good job keeping an 10 year old pc going.
Gigabyte MA790FXTA-UD5 / Phenom II X3 720 @ 3.41Mhz / Mushkin 2X2GB 1333 / XFX 5870 1GB / Cooler Master HAF 932 / Win 7 Pro 64 / ACER G24 LCD 24"
Image

iseeman
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 12:29 pm

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by iseeman » Sat Sep 26, 2009 3:25 pm

Apoptosis wrote:
iseeman wrote:I have a dell dimension 2400 lol...It has been tossed up by my dad like around 6 times....but it still works perfectly....

Welcome to the site... looks like you beat the ever loving heck out of it... LOL
thx u...well yea i do beat the sh!t out of it sometimes cuz my monitor cord cant b properly connected cuz its in messed up shape so i gota reconnect the graphic card ( ati rage ) then restart my comp.....

iseeman
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 12:29 pm

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by iseeman » Sat Sep 26, 2009 3:30 pm

Hmmm lol that is my main rig and sadly thats the only rig i got...its not supposed to be called a rig its a complete pieace of trash but hey it works :P .......i hope i win the contest loo :drinkers: .....

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by InspectahACE » Sat Sep 26, 2009 3:53 pm

I would've put that thing out of it's misery long ago :P .. it's not easy believing that still works..but I'm typing on a 7 year old computer so who knows these days
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
DL13
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona USA

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by DL13 » Sat Sep 26, 2009 5:02 pm

iseeman wrote:Hmmm lol that is my main rig and sadly thats the only rig i got...its not supposed to be called a rig its a complete pieace of trash but hey it works :P .......i hope i win the contest loo :drinkers: .....
Well you might get lucky how know, if so don't beat the new one. Welcome to LR and good luck on the competition. :drinkers:
Gigabyte MA790FXTA-UD5 / Phenom II X3 720 @ 3.41Mhz / Mushkin 2X2GB 1333 / XFX 5870 1GB / Cooler Master HAF 932 / Win 7 Pro 64 / ACER G24 LCD 24"
Image

User avatar
werty316
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 532
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:35 am

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by werty316 » Sat Sep 26, 2009 7:56 pm

Its hard to believe that it actually works.
There is no theory of evolution. Just a list of animals Chuck Norris allows to live.

iseeman
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 12:29 pm

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by iseeman » Sat Sep 26, 2009 9:41 pm

yes i kno its hard to blieve that my comp still works...but it does work and if i show u guys my nintendo 64 you guys would prolly die in disbelieve and it also works too lol but coming back on the topic if i do win this contest then i wouldnt do something that would make my dad mad lol.......

User avatar
DL13
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona USA

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by DL13 » Sat Sep 26, 2009 11:30 pm

The Nintendo 64, I will never rag on it it's a classic I had one and 007 was one of the best game for it :supz: Your dad, sorry dud you some one like that :lame: . I have 3 boys and the worse I did to them was I sold there XBox as punishment, now they have a 360 for doing good in school about two years ago.
Gigabyte MA790FXTA-UD5 / Phenom II X3 720 @ 3.41Mhz / Mushkin 2X2GB 1333 / XFX 5870 1GB / Cooler Master HAF 932 / Win 7 Pro 64 / ACER G24 LCD 24"
Image

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by skier » Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:17 am

i don't really see how that still works, my parts die if i look at them wrong nevermind throwing the case across the room as it looks like :roll:

however, i havnt posted meh new mod in this thread so heyar:
Image
Image
Image
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

yurchie
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:48 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by yurchie » Sun Sep 27, 2009 4:10 am

Hi guys,

My rig is about 6 years old, although I've updated lots of parts. Bought at Best Buy, then replaced case, PSU, video card, added RAM, HD, and heatsink. I used to play Counter-Strike, but no longer play any games, so I don't really feel the need to upgrade. I'm also broke :(

System specs:

Lian Li Silver Aluminum Mid-Tower (awesome case!)
Asus P4SD-VX (they don't even sell these anymore)
Intel P4 Northwood @ 2.8GHz
Alpha 80mm heatsink
OCZ Modstream 520W PSU
2 x 256 Infineon PC2700
1 x 1024 OCZ Platinum PC3200 (I think I either killed the other RAM slot or the RAM stick by spilling milk and juice on it)
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro
Seagate Barracuda 7200 IDE 200GB
Western Digital 120GB IDE (not even sure of the data transfer rate on this one)
XP Pro

Got a 80mm fan on top, a 120mm fan forcing air out of the case, a 120mm fan in front forcing air in over HDs, and another 80mm forcing air to the CPU. Worked great until I spilled juice and milk (two separate occasions) and then I think one of the RAM slots got fried. Thank god for insulated wires though.

And yeah, the wires are a mess, but I hardly open the case :drinkers:
Attachments
main cropped.jpg
main cropped.jpg (213.71 KiB) Viewed 3984 times

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4702
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by bubba » Sun Sep 27, 2009 11:47 am

DL13 wrote:.... did a pretty good job keeping an 10 year old pc going.
I would say more in the 7-8 year range, I have in the area of 50 of them at work. All are chuggin along, only had 3 of the 2400 die off over the years.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
DL13
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona USA

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by DL13 » Sun Sep 27, 2009 2:21 pm

bubba wrote:
DL13 wrote:.... did a pretty good job keeping an 10 year old pc going.
I would say more in the 7-8 year range, I have in the area of 50 of them at work. All are chuggin along, only had 3 of the 2400 die off over the years.
That's a dam good PC when only 3 out of 50 die and there that old.
Gigabyte MA790FXTA-UD5 / Phenom II X3 720 @ 3.41Mhz / Mushkin 2X2GB 1333 / XFX 5870 1GB / Cooler Master HAF 932 / Win 7 Pro 64 / ACER G24 LCD 24"
Image

Nobahar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:09 am

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by Nobahar » Sun Sep 27, 2009 3:57 pm

My dad has a 2400 too, I think it's 7 years old. His hard drive died two years ago, he replaced that and the thing is still chugging along.

I have to admit though that piece of crap is so slow I'd probably throw it into a wall if I had to use it, but for basic word processing/browsing/iming it does the job.

User avatar
DL13
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona USA

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by DL13 » Sun Sep 27, 2009 5:48 pm

Nobahar wrote: I have to admit though that piece of crap is so slow I'd probably throw it into a wall if I had to use it, but for basic word processing/browsing/iming it does the job.
:lol: Just like Timex takes a liking and keeps on ticking.
I've all was heard Dell was good, now I know for sure.
Gigabyte MA790FXTA-UD5 / Phenom II X3 720 @ 3.41Mhz / Mushkin 2X2GB 1333 / XFX 5870 1GB / Cooler Master HAF 932 / Win 7 Pro 64 / ACER G24 LCD 24"
Image

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by vicaphit » Sun Sep 27, 2009 8:28 pm

Alright. I don't know if I have made any changes since the last posting of this, but here it is:

I have an Intel Q6600 with a stock fan (stock speeds)
I am running a 9600GT 1GB (thanks to LR)
My mobo is an ASUS P5KC
I have 4GB of DDR2-800
All of this is ran from an Ultra X3 1KW psu (thanks to LR again)
I am also using the Windows 7 64bit RC.

Warning: Cable mess below.
Image
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

nightblood
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:33 pm

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by nightblood » Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:53 am

Image
XP 64bit and beta Windows 7
CPU Phenom 9750 Quad
4 Gigs of OCZ Memory
ATI 4850 Graphics card
Antec Sonata II case
4 hard drives
250g
500g
80g
40g raptor

User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1268
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Post Your Rig!

Post by sbohdan » Mon Sep 28, 2009 2:38 pm

hi, my rig is about 6 months old, excluding the case, which I kept for the last 4 times (I became to like this case. it's spacious, easy to work with and is big enough to accomodate anything I wanna ad to it). it might sound stupid but I always just bought a new case, transfered the parts of the previous computer and sold it like this and reused my old chieftec case with the new parts.
the setup right now is super stable at 3Ghz CPU ([email protected]), 858Mhz RAM (originally 1066Mhz but this way the FSB/RAM ratio is 1:1) and the GTX275 that runs stable and strong with stock cooling @ 701/1566/1200 (648/1440/1152 stock) and runs 24/7 for our folding team along with the CPU.

here is the pic:
Image

Image
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, MSI Tomahawk B350, Ryzen 1700X @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, Intel P7600 256Gb nvme PCiE, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win10 Pro 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN7 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=

Post Reply