So I just ran speedtest at school.....

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
HONkUS
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1055
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:42 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas!
Contact:

So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by HONkUS » Mon May 05, 2008 7:50 am

and this is what I got :)

Image

User avatar
Alathald
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Southern Ohio
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Alathald » Mon May 05, 2008 8:14 am

Should run it when nobody is around taking up bandwidth, I bet it'll be a lot higher. I know our little community college here in town has a T1 connection, can't imagine what a REAL school has :)

EDIT:
Image
Last edited by Alathald on Mon May 05, 2008 8:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Apoptosis » Mon May 05, 2008 8:22 am

Image

Mine rocks... lol

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by skier » Mon May 05, 2008 9:39 am

my school's computers dont have flash player 7 :roll: no test for me(no priv's to install), i'll run from flash tomorro after school when noone's on though :mrgreen:
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by stopthekilling77 » Mon May 05, 2008 9:59 am

mine's not too shabby either :mrgreen:

Image
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1463
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by camaroguy1998 » Mon May 05, 2008 10:05 am

Not too bad for SBC

Image
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon cooler
Corsair RM750X - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor
Corsair 600T case

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by vicaphit » Mon May 05, 2008 10:40 am

My alma mater has 3 T1 lines (as of about 4 years ago, not sure what they have now). They also had fiber optics for the network. They could probably have pretty good speeds, but they throttle everything reallly badly. Downloads are around 200k/s if you're lucky. All torrents and filesharing programs download at 2k/s
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
Sporg
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1200
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:22 am
Location: Kansas City Area
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Sporg » Mon May 05, 2008 12:12 pm

Guess that's decent from my phone... Can't use speedtest.net from it - requires flash 7.
633455891660000000.JPG
Mobile Speed Test
633455891660000000.JPG (18.81 KiB) Viewed 11788 times
633455891820000000.JPG
633455891820000000.JPG (16.62 KiB) Viewed 11787 times
I would never die for my beliefs because I might be wrong.
~Bertrand Russell

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by vicaphit » Mon May 05, 2008 1:10 pm

Nice, I should try out that website sometime.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
Wildfire788
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:41 pm

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Wildfire788 » Mon May 05, 2008 1:40 pm

Image

It barely works half the time, and the upload speed is nowhere near good enough to run a Source server... Stupid university :(

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by martini161 » Mon May 05, 2008 2:25 pm

Mines not bad either :mrgreen:
Image
:owned:

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by ibleet » Mon May 05, 2008 4:36 pm

It doesn't get much worse than this... :(

Image

User avatar
Digerati
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 9:41 pm

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Digerati » Mon May 05, 2008 4:54 pm

I remember when I ran mine, it was pathetically slow. Now, I can't seem to run it, as apparently Flash is not installed in the replaced computers.

User avatar
XstollieX
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 1641
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by XstollieX » Mon May 05, 2008 7:01 pm

Image

not to shabby for comcast. :axe:

User avatar
Alathald
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Southern Ohio
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Alathald » Mon May 05, 2008 7:08 pm

camaroguy1998 wrote:Image
Why would you use a server in KY if you live in MO?
Image

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Sparky » Mon May 05, 2008 7:56 pm

Time Warner Road Runner here.
Attachments
speedtest.JPG
speedtest.JPG (64.29 KiB) Viewed 11689 times
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

User avatar
bobletman
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:40 pm

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by bobletman » Mon May 05, 2008 8:12 pm

wow I would to run downloads from your schools internet. That is so fast, cant wait to see what my schools speed is, :rolleyes: :vom:
Q6600 Core 2 quad @ 3.0Ghz
2gb of patriot ram reduced latency.
500GB 7200 rpm Seagate (baracuda)
BFG nvidia 8800 GTS 512 MB G92 core
Zalman CNPS9700 LED CPU fan
Ultra X-Blaster computer case
P5K-E Wifi edition MOBO
G15 keyboard and G7 mouse
22 inch widescreen samsung
Z5300e speaker system
3Dmark06 score 15K

User avatar
Zertz
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 4:19 pm
Location: Magog, Quebec

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Zertz » Mon May 05, 2008 9:46 pm

martini161 wrote:Mines not bad either :mrgreen:
Image
:owned:
Sick! :shock:

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1463
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by camaroguy1998 » Tue May 06, 2008 12:19 am

Alathald wrote:
camaroguy1998 wrote:Image
Why would you use a server in KY if you live in MO?
That is what the test site recommended, so I went with it!

Here are the results from KC, Mo.

Image

Not much different.
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon cooler
Corsair RM750X - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor
Corsair 600T case

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by skier » Tue May 06, 2008 8:35 am

camaroguy1998 wrote:
Image

Not much different.
that one says its even farther away though :shock: do you not have an isp within 200 miles :vom:


at my house i got 748k down, and the ^ took too long(10 min.) so i closed it
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

Post Reply