So I just ran speedtest at school.....

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
lacrossetown
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 3:04 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by lacrossetown » Thu May 20, 2010 8:21 am

Image
"Everyone has a beginning,
Everyone has a first build
This is where computer extremists are born,
This is where any greater knowledge of electronics is born."

By: Nathan Pigeon

Delta6326
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 10:24 am

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Delta6326 » Wed May 26, 2010 10:33 am

dang my school's is about 13down and 4up

Sttm
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 383
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 4:31 pm
Location: San Jose CA

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Sttm » Sun May 30, 2010 12:00 pm

Image

Worth Every Penny, and being Comcast it is a lot of pennies.
Core i7 2600k/ ASUS P8Z68-V Z68/ 8gb Corsair Vengeance 1600 Blue/ EVGA Geforce GTX 560ti Maximum Graphics Edition/Windows 7/Antec 300/Antec 650w/LG Blu Combo/Hp 27inch 2710M/Samsung P2770HD

"I think sharing is overrated...and helping others. And what's all this crap I've been hearing about tolerance?"

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by InspectahACE » Sun May 30, 2010 12:34 pm

Cox must have gotten wind of my anger..it was less than half this the other day.

Image
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Crashmanx
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 4:21 pm

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Crashmanx » Tue Jun 29, 2010 5:27 pm

hmm my speed isnt bad, im currently paying 29 bucks for 10Mbps down 1Mbps up XD

Image

I should test later in the middle of the night with nobody using the net in my house XD

User avatar
KingWhoser
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 4:52 pm

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by KingWhoser » Tue Jun 29, 2010 6:12 pm

Ran this at home
Image
M/B:Intel DP55WG
CORSAIR DOMINATOR CMG4GX3M2A2000C8 DDR3 1600 16GB
CPU:I7 860
CPU Cooling: Corsair Hydro Series H50
GPU:EVGA GeForce GTX 480 SuperClocked
HDD:Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB 10000 RPM X2
Case:Cooler Master HAF X 942
PSU:BFG Tech EX-1000
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series
Monitors:Samsung SyncMaster 2220WM/TOSHIBA 40RV52U'HDTV
Windows 7 Pro 64 bit

Khaled G
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:40 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Khaled G » Sun Dec 05, 2010 2:16 pm

Don't Laugh 8-[ :oops:

Image
MSI CR400 Laptop

CPU: Intel Pentium T4500 @ 2.300 GHz
Memory: 2048MB (1 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM)
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 8200M G
Sound Card: Realtek AC'97 ALC662 HD Audio
HDD: Hitachi HTS545025B9A SCSI Disk Device (250GB)
Optical Drive: Optiarc DVD RW AD-7560S Super Multi
Network Card 1: Nvidia MCP79 Ethernet 10/100 Mbps
Network Card 2: Atheros Communications AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCIe) 54.0 Mbps
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate Professional Media Center 6.01.7601 SP1 (32-bit)
DirectX: Version 10.00

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by skier » Sun Dec 05, 2010 4:32 pm

Khaled G wrote:Don't Laugh 8-[ :oops:

Image
there is no way are pinging 861 to a server 50 miles away. either you are downloading something or someone else is, on your connection
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by kenc51 » Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:49 am

skier wrote:
Khaled G wrote:Don't Laugh 8-[ :oops:

Image
there is no way are pinging 861 to a server 50 miles away. either you are downloading something or someone else is, on your connection
satellite connection ? :?

Khaled G
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:40 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Khaled G » Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:10 am

No, just a 512 KB DSL Connection Shared Between 2 PCs and MY CR400 Laptop.
I took another test (the 2 computers were off )and I wasn't downloading any thing, just windows update installing some updates previously downloaded using a 4MB Connection (a Friend's) but I think that wouldn't affect the test, right ? So here is some tests using different servers:

So:
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
MSI CR400 Laptop

CPU: Intel Pentium T4500 @ 2.300 GHz
Memory: 2048MB (1 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM)
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 8200M G
Sound Card: Realtek AC'97 ALC662 HD Audio
HDD: Hitachi HTS545025B9A SCSI Disk Device (250GB)
Optical Drive: Optiarc DVD RW AD-7560S Super Multi
Network Card 1: Nvidia MCP79 Ethernet 10/100 Mbps
Network Card 2: Atheros Communications AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCIe) 54.0 Mbps
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate Professional Media Center 6.01.7601 SP1 (32-bit)
DirectX: Version 10.00

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by skier » Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:34 pm

good lord I had no idea there was such a thing as 512 kilobit and you aren't even getting THAT speed

guess that is the first step above dialup
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

Khaled G
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:40 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Khaled G » Tue Dec 07, 2010 3:31 pm

skier wrote:good lord I had no idea there was such a thing as 512 kilobit and you aren't even getting THAT speed

guess that is the first step above dialup
Yes! It actually was 256KB then the provider upgraded it to 512KB without changing the cost, Do not forget that I live in Egypt, means that the internet speeds range from dail up 56k up to 24MB and price range from $18 for the 512kb and up to $455 for the 24MB (I converted the currency rate for you)

The first time I used the 256, I thought it was the fastest internet ever because web pages loaded at a snap, the ping was as low as 85ms, but after the under sea cable problem, even the 512 KB it self became as slow as the dail up, and you saw the results !

Don't worry, I got used to it !

Oh and I forgot to say that when the undersea cable was ripped apart, the download speed was as low as 2 bytes per second and the ping was 143,000 ms !!!!
MSI CR400 Laptop

CPU: Intel Pentium T4500 @ 2.300 GHz
Memory: 2048MB (1 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM)
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 8200M G
Sound Card: Realtek AC'97 ALC662 HD Audio
HDD: Hitachi HTS545025B9A SCSI Disk Device (250GB)
Optical Drive: Optiarc DVD RW AD-7560S Super Multi
Network Card 1: Nvidia MCP79 Ethernet 10/100 Mbps
Network Card 2: Atheros Communications AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCIe) 54.0 Mbps
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate Professional Media Center 6.01.7601 SP1 (32-bit)
DirectX: Version 10.00

User avatar
SunSonik
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Ukraine, Kiev

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by SunSonik » Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:44 pm

Hi all!
my speedtest results
Image

Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced
AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE 3.4MHz + Noctua NH-C12P SE14
Asus Crosshair V Formula
ASUS GTX570 DirectCU II
8GB (2GB x 4) Kingston DDR3 1333 MHz
3000Gb (1000Gb x 3) WD WD1002FAEX (SATA rev. 3.0)
DVD±RW LG GH-22NS50
Chieftec ATX 550W (APS-550S) A135 Series
Samsung SM 2443BW

User avatar
ckthecerealkiller
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 2:35 pm

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by ckthecerealkiller » Wed Dec 08, 2010 11:03 am

New ISP.... I hate Comcast's corporate crap and their throttling. But it still beats the DSL lines in my area.

Image

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by DJ Tucker » Thu Dec 09, 2010 9:18 am

SunSonik wrote:Hi all!
my speedtest results
Image
that is the best connection i have seen so far but try connecting to uk maidenhead and see what results you get :-)

this is mine from maidenhead:
Image

and now to LA:
Image
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
SunSonik
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Ukraine, Kiev

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by SunSonik » Thu Dec 09, 2010 6:07 pm

DJ Tucker wrote:
SunSonik wrote:Hi all!
my speedtest results
Image
that is the best connection i have seen so far but try connecting to uk maidenhead and see what results you get :-)
Image

this is my home internet connection (сost 18$ per month)

Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced
AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE 3.4MHz + Noctua NH-C12P SE14
Asus Crosshair V Formula
ASUS GTX570 DirectCU II
8GB (2GB x 4) Kingston DDR3 1333 MHz
3000Gb (1000Gb x 3) WD WD1002FAEX (SATA rev. 3.0)
DVD±RW LG GH-22NS50
Chieftec ATX 550W (APS-550S) A135 Series
Samsung SM 2443BW

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by DJ Tucker » Sun Dec 12, 2010 9:09 am

very nice sunsonic jealous much :-(
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Major_A » Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:21 am

Sprint 3G HTC EVO 4G
Image

Once I find a connectable 4G network I'll upload the results.

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by skier » Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:26 am

Major_A wrote:Sprint 3G HTC EVO 4G
Image

Once I find a connectable 4G network I'll upload the results.
almost as good as my broadband :lol:

i have better ping though
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Major_A » Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:21 pm

Sprint EVO 4G w/ Poor 4G Connection
Image

Post Reply