So I just ran speedtest at school.....

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
User avatar
Kaos Kid
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 952
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:31 am
Location: 40 clicks West of the Gateway

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Kaos Kid » Tue Aug 05, 2014 1:47 pm

This is mine now, download usually ranges between 85-95Mb/s, upload is as high as it goes, between 3.75-4.25Mb/s...I get towards the higher end when I'm on hardwire, this test was done from a wifi PC through DIR-850L AC router and "N" adapter so I guess that isn't too bad. I won't complain until they raise the rates again... :P

Image
I have come to the conclusion that "FaceBook" should be renamed "FacePalm" :roll:

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Apoptosis » Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:19 pm

Intel guest Internet Access up in Portland:

Image
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
Kaos Kid
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 952
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:31 am
Location: 40 clicks West of the Gateway

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Kaos Kid » Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:52 pm

^^^^ That sucks! A website running scripts alone will use that bandwidth :lol:
I have come to the conclusion that "FaceBook" should be renamed "FacePalm" :roll:

User avatar
brentsg
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:24 am
Location: Wildwood, MO
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by brentsg » Tue Aug 05, 2014 3:51 pm

Nice ping though..

:)

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by DJ Tucker » Wed Aug 06, 2014 7:48 am

Image
This is after my average has been idled. so I won't get higher or lower than this :)
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
brentsg
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:24 am
Location: Wildwood, MO
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by brentsg » Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:38 pm

While out and about yesterday, I heard a radio commercial that said Charter Business internet was now 100Mb/s across the board in my area. Since I had the 80Mb/s plan, I tried a quick power cycle on the cable modem.

Image

Not a bad improvement. I suspect if I could remember the link to the charter server for testing I'd get the extra little bit.

User avatar
Kaos Kid
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 952
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:31 am
Location: 40 clicks West of the Gateway

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Kaos Kid » Thu Aug 07, 2014 2:50 pm

Here ya go Brent. Charter is using ookla now too and lists the Olivette server so you may show slightly faster speeds if the test stops at that server rather than traveling onward.


http://speedtest.charter.com/
I have come to the conclusion that "FaceBook" should be renamed "FacePalm" :roll:

User avatar
brentsg
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:24 am
Location: Wildwood, MO
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by brentsg » Thu Aug 07, 2014 4:08 pm

It ended up about the same. It's academic really, since I'm not going to perceive much benefit unless they boost my upload. The main reason I had the plan to begin with was the "fast" uploads.

Thanks though! I definitely need to call and see if I can get the price worked down a bit, even if it's employer paid.

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Apoptosis » Sat Aug 09, 2014 8:01 am

brentsg wrote:While out and about yesterday, I heard a radio commercial that said Charter Business internet was now 100Mb/s across the board in my area. Since I had the 80Mb/s plan, I tried a quick power cycle on the cable modem.

Image

Not a bad improvement. I suspect if I could remember the link to the charter server for testing I'd get the extra little bit.
The 80Mbps Charter Business plan in St. Louis is now 150Mbps, so you aren't getting the proper speeds. Check this - http://www.legitreviews.com/charter-bus ... uis_148190

What I get at home for $29.99 a month:
home-speed.png
home-speed.png (39.1 KiB) Viewed 4527 times
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4702
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by bubba » Sun Aug 10, 2014 3:03 pm

And I'm still in the boonies with my crappy 1.5 DSL.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
brentsg
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:24 am
Location: Wildwood, MO
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by brentsg » Tue Aug 12, 2014 7:01 am

Apoptosis wrote:The 80Mbps Charter Business plan in St. Louis is now 150Mbps, so you aren't getting the proper speeds. Check this - http://www.legitreviews.com/charter-bus ... uis_148190

What I get at home for $29.99 a month:
Is that business or normal, also is it a bundled price?

I need to call I guess. I don't really know why, but when I had their residential it was maddening. Never worked right to the point that I wound up needing a second ISP for uptime. Business has been rock solid.

I'm actually kinda baffled after reading your link. I JUST got this in the e-mail box from Charter Business.

Image

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Apoptosis » Tue Aug 12, 2014 3:32 pm

St. Louis is a test market for new Charter services, so we get to try things out ahead of other regions.

I'm not sure about the specifics when it comes to their bundles for home and business, but I'm sure someone can help you out. I highly suggest going to a local charter office and asking for help. If you are close to Wing Haven in O'Fallon there is a really nice guy there named Christian at that Charter location that can help go over the plans and there are demo systems in the lobby that let you try the highest possible speeds for the area.
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
brentsg
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:24 am
Location: Wildwood, MO
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by brentsg » Wed Sep 03, 2014 1:43 pm

Apoptosis wrote:St. Louis is a test market for new Charter services, so we get to try things out ahead of other regions.

I'm not sure about the specifics when it comes to their bundles for home and business, but I'm sure someone can help you out. I highly suggest going to a local charter office and asking for help. If you are close to Wing Haven in O'Fallon there is a really nice guy there named Christian at that Charter location that can help go over the plans and there are demo systems in the lobby that let you try the highest possible speeds for the area.
I finally got around to checking this out with Charter. The device that I have simply won't exceed 100, so they're going to swap it out. Appreciate the heads up..

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Apoptosis » Thu Sep 04, 2014 5:17 am

no problem! Time for a good DOCSIS 3.0 cable modem with some room to grow.
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
brentsg
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:24 am
Location: Wildwood, MO
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by brentsg » Thu Sep 04, 2014 11:13 am

Oddly I have a DOCSIS 3.0 modem, but apparently without room to grow?

I'm not that familiar with the spec and prob not interested enough to Google it.

User avatar
brentsg
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:24 am
Location: Wildwood, MO
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by brentsg » Thu Sep 04, 2014 7:15 pm

First off, results..

Image

Second, are there any surge suppression devices that will give me peace of mind yet not choke my new performance? I had the Ethernet cable running thru a CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD, and it wasn't choking the bandwidth until around 100Mb/s, but oddly enough.. once I exceeded this by a good amount, the device choked it down to 81Mb/s.

The DOCSIS 3.0 modem that I had was 8 channel and this one is 16 channel.

User avatar
viv_smith
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by viv_smith » Thu Sep 11, 2014 4:09 am

excuse me for the off topic, but could you tell me which is the most accurate speed test online?
Computers follow your orders, not your intentions.
Upcoming iOS/Android games for 2015.

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3940
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by KnightRid » Thu Sep 11, 2014 4:16 am

viv_smith wrote:excuse me for the off topic, but could you tell me which is the most accurate speed test online?
My 2 cents - I dont think any of them are real good as there are too many variables involved. I like speedtest.net and use that all the time but you will still get variances with the results.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by DJ Tucker » Thu Sep 11, 2014 6:29 am

Image

This is what I have to put up with until my landlord of my new house gets fibre put in at the end of the month. he won't allow me to have my sky fibre that I'm stuck in contract with wired up into the house as he don't want to change isp. so I know have to pay for both my broadband and this new one once up and running :(
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
viv_smith
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by viv_smith » Tue Oct 07, 2014 2:12 am

I was on holiday last month in Varna, Bulgaria for a week. I was really curious about the speed of the Internet connection there.
Image
I was amazed. Really incredible speed.
Computers follow your orders, not your intentions.
Upcoming iOS/Android games for 2015.

Post Reply