So I just ran speedtest at school.....

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4702
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by bubba » Mon Mar 09, 2009 8:15 am

Here is my connection at work, 2 bonded T1's, but this is also with about 70 others online and 20 of those on the phone...

Image
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Major_A » Mon Mar 09, 2009 9:20 am

Here's the speed at my sister/brother in law's house. I decided to go with the Corpus Christi server again. I live roughly 5 miles away from them.

Image

mebens
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 6:56 pm
Location: SC, USA

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by mebens » Fri Mar 27, 2009 11:55 am

Image

From what a few people have said about their connection and what they pay, It seems like i'm gettin hosed. I'm paying $45 a month for this cable connection. What you guys think? That seem about right?

User avatar
pingu
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 4:04 pm

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by pingu » Fri Mar 27, 2009 12:48 pm

Rochester Institute of Technology

Image

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by skier » Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:11 pm

in my dorm, Image
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
Illuminati
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2378
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Wright City, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Illuminati » Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:21 pm

From my work to the Springfield, MO server ~200mi.

Image
Justin West
Server Admin & Forum Moderator
Follow me on Twitter | Find us on Facebook

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by InspectahACE » Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:50 pm

Image

:shock: Wow..Last time I check I only had an 11Mb DL and 1Mb UL service..but i did just buy a new modem recently since Cox said it was needed to accommodate their service.no problem though after seeing this..guess I'll know for sure on my cable bill later lol
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1463
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by camaroguy1998 » Sat Mar 28, 2009 12:08 am

I expected a little better upload!

Image
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon cooler
Corsair RM750X - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor
Corsair 600T case

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Apoptosis » Sat Mar 28, 2009 6:21 am

Image

Not too bad, just wish my upload was 1MB or better.
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by DMB2000uk » Sat Mar 28, 2009 6:38 am

I liked the old school results with the results in kbps, mbps just looks too low :P

Image

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by vicaphit » Sat May 02, 2009 12:32 pm

Just got my cable internet connected

Image

This should be ok for me since I am used to a 50k download.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by ibleet » Sat May 02, 2009 6:15 pm

This works for me at home. After having DSL for a year, it's nice to have a little speed again.

Image

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by skier » Sun May 03, 2009 10:56 pm

vicaphit wrote:Just got my cable internet connected

Image

This should be ok for me since I am used to a 50k download.
so THATs why i was playing TF2 with you today, lol you aren't dialup anymore
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
hnzw_rui
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:42 am

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by hnzw_rui » Mon May 04, 2009 6:34 am

Image
File Server/Media Encoder/PVR PC
Antec P182 / Corsair 550VX / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R / Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 / Wintec AMPX 2x2GB DDR2 800 / Sapphire 100233L Radeon HD 3450 / WD Caviar SE16 750GB x3 / WD Caviar GP 750GB / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7190A x2 / XP Pro SP2

unRAID Server
Antec 300 / Corsair 520HX / Abit AB9 Pro / Celeron 430 @ 1.80 / Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB DDR2 667 / ATI Rage XL / Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB x9 / unRAID 4.3.3

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by vicaphit » Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:21 am

Just for giggles I ran speedtest on the servers I connect to for work. They are somewhere in Austin, and are run by the client for which I run customer service. Here are my results:
Image
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Apoptosis » Tue Dec 01, 2009 1:33 pm

Apoptosis wrote: Plus Internet: Image
Express Internet: Image
Looks like my internet download speeds are better, but wtf happened to my upload speeds that are supposed to be up to 2MB/s

Image
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Major_A » Tue Dec 01, 2009 3:27 pm

Try a different server. The Houston server has crappier results for me than other TX servers.

Keean
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:46 pm
Location: Savannah GA

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Keean » Tue Dec 01, 2009 4:49 pm

hahahah, here's a good one huh!

Image
New Rig:
AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE 3.4GHz w/ Ultra ChillTec
GigaByte MA790FXT-UD5P AM3 DDR3 790FX CrossFire Chipset
8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 Dual Channel 1600MHz
Sapphire Vapor-X HD 5870 1GB DDR5
Acer H213Hbmid 22" Widescreen HD LCD Monitor
Silverstone Raven RV01B-W

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1463
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by camaroguy1998 » Tue Dec 01, 2009 4:51 pm

Major_A wrote:Try a different server. The Houston server has crappier results for me than other TX servers.
I've found using the closest server to your location is usually lower than most others.
I use the Springfield, Mo. and Chicago, Il. and they give much better results.
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon cooler
Corsair RM750X - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor
Corsair 600T case

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by skier » Tue Dec 01, 2009 4:53 pm

this lies horribly compared to my actual rates(185k/28k^)but:
Image

so we be throttled
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

Post Reply