So I just ran speedtest at school.....

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Major_A » Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:14 pm

Apparently Houston is no longer an option for me.
Austin:
Image

Corpus Christi:
Image

The ping to Corpus is twice as responsive.

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by stopthekilling77 » Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:34 pm

Glad I retested!
Image
Apparently old crappy modems have a way of slowing the net down :lol:
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by ibleet » Wed Dec 02, 2009 12:17 am

Good ole Verizon DSL...nothing to write home about. :(

Image

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1463
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by camaroguy1998 » Wed Dec 02, 2009 3:29 am

Mine is all over the place, at one server as low as 2.39mb down and 2.04 up.
But, in Ok. i get....

Image
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon cooler
Corsair RM750X - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor
Corsair 600T case

User avatar
techking13
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 12:16 pm
Location: Colorado

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by techking13 » Thu Dec 10, 2009 5:27 pm

Cool site, I'll try my school's connectionn tomorrow. My home one isn't very good (my Dad is cheap), but I think my school has a decent one.

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by ibleet » Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:50 pm

techking13 wrote:my Dad is cheap
:roll:

I'm a frugal father, and one day my sons will receive a handsome inheritance and be thankful for it. Times are tough and we all have to cut corners where we can.

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by InspectahACE » Wed Dec 16, 2009 2:09 pm

I'm sure i posted once on this before but I thought id see how it is now


Image
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1463
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by camaroguy1998 » Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:03 pm

Work again, picked up a little.
First is Ok.
2nd is Springfield , Mo.
Image

Image
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon cooler
Corsair RM750X - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor
Corsair 600T case

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by DJ Tucker » Fri Dec 18, 2009 11:05 am

mine not so great as i'm in the uk but then for the uk this is not bad. it's one of the best connections i've seen over here lol.

Image
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by kylepaddock » Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:37 am

This is mine, with all computers off except 1.
Image
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

mx6er2587
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 10:48 pm

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by mx6er2587 » Wed Dec 30, 2009 8:51 pm

my home fios results.

Image

User avatar
shamrok3
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by shamrok3 » Wed Dec 30, 2009 10:01 pm

This is what I got on my Laptop's wireless. An Australian result for a change
Image
Multiple Exclamation marks - The first sign of an unsound mind.

Rig: Intel 3930K, Noctua U12P-SE2 , ASUS P9X79, 16GB RAM, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3, 2x3TB Seagate (RAID 0), 1TB Samsung F3, EVGA GTX760, CM 650 Watt PSU
NZXT HU002 Case, LG Blu-Ray Writer/Combo
21.5" BenQ E2200HD @ 1920x1080, Razer Lachesis/Lycosa/Sennheiser HD558, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Apoptosis » Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:16 am

Apoptosis wrote:
Apoptosis wrote: Plus Internet: Image
Express Internet: Image
Looks like my internet download speeds are better, but wtf happened to my upload speeds that are supposed to be up to 2MB/s

Image
I swear Charter is screwing with my upload speeds... they just keep getting worse.

Image
Image
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by kylepaddock » Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:31 am

Wow that is nice speed, mine is the slowest here,
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by ibleet » Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:40 pm

kylepaddock wrote:Wow that is nice speed, mine is the slowest here,
Ya I noticed that. Where and what is Winters broadband? I've never heard of it before, but it doesn't seem to be very "broad". Might give dial-up a run for its money. :lol:

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by kylepaddock » Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:05 pm

im in the country and thats the fastest where we live.
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by skier » Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:26 pm

kylepaddock wrote:im in the country and thats the fastest where we live.
i'm happy when my down speed breaks 190kbps and my up jumps to 32kbps but thats on rare occasions
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
shamrok3
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by shamrok3 » Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:14 pm

:) I get 1Mbps from Steam :) But that, and a similar speed from Microsoft are my fastest real-world download situations.
Multiple Exclamation marks - The first sign of an unsound mind.

Rig: Intel 3930K, Noctua U12P-SE2 , ASUS P9X79, 16GB RAM, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3, 2x3TB Seagate (RAID 0), 1TB Samsung F3, EVGA GTX760, CM 650 Watt PSU
NZXT HU002 Case, LG Blu-Ray Writer/Combo
21.5" BenQ E2200HD @ 1920x1080, Razer Lachesis/Lycosa/Sennheiser HD558, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by kylepaddock » Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:32 pm

The USAF has 22mbps up and 96mbps down
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by DMB2000uk » Mon Feb 01, 2010 4:28 pm

Image

We just got an upgrade from 10mbit. :)

Shame the ISP network doesn't have the capcaity to handle the load from all the schools in the area that are with them. We're lucky to get half this during the day.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

Post Reply