Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
lordvic
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 3:00 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

Post by lordvic » Sun Jul 12, 2009 3:20 am

I currently have a 4670, and I wish to upgrade to a 4850 or 4870. I have an Antec TruePower Trio 430W. It has three (3) 12v rails, all 16A each.

My computers doesn't have a lot of things added onto it...two 160GB Harddrives, a dual core CPU, one DVD/CD RW drive, an all in on card reader, 4GB of RAM, one exhaust fan (80mm), and one intake fan (80mm).

Read several reviews and discussions, but there's a big difference for each. Example: 22A-32A for the 4870?
Cooler Master HAF 932 // Phenom II 1090T @ 4.1GHz (not 110% stable) // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Thermaltake Frio CPU Cooler // Sapphire Dual-X HD 7970 @ 1150/1500 // 8GB (2X4GB) G.Skill RipJaws + 8GB (2X4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX @1600 8-9-8-21-1T // Corsair TX850 // Corsair ForceGT 120GB SSD // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // LiteON DVD-RW // Windows 7 Ult. 64-bit

User avatar
Athlonite
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:01 pm

Re: Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

Post by Athlonite » Sun Jul 12, 2009 5:32 am

erm no, that 22~32 amp you've read about well 22amp is the bare minimum you'd want, as it is your system is roughly using 300~350W from your 430W PSU now add 150 ~ 200W for an 4850 or 4870 and you see where this is going to end up your poor little PSU is going to say WTF right before going on a holiday um also if you don't mind me asking what are you planning on using it for
Asus Crosshair V Formula
AMD FX 8320 @ 3700MHz NB/HT @ 2600MHZ
2x 4GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600 C9
1x Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 9550MHz core 1250MHz mem
1x Pioneer DVD-RW DVR212S SATA
2x Samsung HD502IJ 16MB cache 7200rpm raid0
1x Samsung HD502IJ 16MB cache 7200rpm storage
1x WD2500AAJS 8MB cache 7200rpm storage
Thermolab Baram 1 x 120mm CM R4 90cfm 2000rpm 1x SilverStone 120mm AP 1500rpm 37.5cfm
SilverStone ST75F-P 750W PSU Full Modular
SilverStone RaVeN RV02B-W

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33921
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

Post by Apoptosis » Sun Jul 12, 2009 7:35 am

lordvic wrote:I currently have a 4670, and I wish to upgrade to a 4850 or 4870. I have an Antec TruePower Trio 430W. It has three (3) 12v rails, all 16A each.

My computers doesn't have a lot of things added onto it...two 160GB Harddrives, a dual core CPU, one DVD/CD RW drive, an all in on card reader, 4GB of RAM, one exhaust fan (80mm), and one intake fan (80mm).

Read several reviews and discussions, but there's a big difference for each. Example: 22A-32A for the 4870?
The box of my Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 states that a 500W or greater power supply with a 75W 6-pin PCI Express power connector is recommended for use. If you want to run these cards in CrossFire you'll need at least a 600W power supply and four 6-pin connectors.... I personally wouldn't run that card on a 430W power supply, but that isn't to say it wouldn't work.
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
lordvic
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 3:00 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Re: Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

Post by lordvic » Sun Jul 12, 2009 1:32 pm

Athlonite wrote:erm no, that 22~32 amp you've read about well 22amp is the bare minimum you'd want, as it is your system is roughly using 300~350W from your 430W PSU now add 150 ~ 200W for an 4850 or 4870 and you see where this is going to end up your poor little PSU is going to say WTF right before going on a holiday um also if you don't mind me asking what are you planning on using it for
Hmm..my computer was able to run on a 250W PSU before (without he 4670) I changed it to 430W...Was going to get a 4850 or 4870 for a little gaming, preparing for Starcraft 2 and Diablo 3. Not going to plan to run CrossFire. What would you recommend instead? A 4770? Kind of hard to find them though (stores around don't have them, can't find any on newegg).

Probably going to be a while before I can make new rig since I'm tight on $$.

Someone was able to run a 4870 on a 350W PSU.. http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1321130
Cooler Master HAF 932 // Phenom II 1090T @ 4.1GHz (not 110% stable) // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Thermaltake Frio CPU Cooler // Sapphire Dual-X HD 7970 @ 1150/1500 // 8GB (2X4GB) G.Skill RipJaws + 8GB (2X4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX @1600 8-9-8-21-1T // Corsair TX850 // Corsair ForceGT 120GB SSD // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // LiteON DVD-RW // Windows 7 Ult. 64-bit

Nobahar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:09 am

Re: Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

Post by Nobahar » Sun Jul 12, 2009 2:27 pm

The 4670 consumes far less power than the 4850/4870.

Also keep in mind, being able to run it depends on what else you have in your PC that is drawing power. Person A might be able to run the card with a dual-core processor and same PSU, person B might not with a quad-core processor.

If the recommended is 500w, I think you can get away with a 430w in your current setup to "run" the card. You definitely cannot run two video cards in sli, and you most likely cannot overclock the card at all without having errors. If the you do get jerky framerates, freezes, or crashes while playing then your power supply is not enough when the card is under load.

To be perfectly honest, it's not worth upgrading from 4670 to 4870 if you're on a budget. Yes, it will improve your gaming and framerates, but you will be able to run Diablo 3/Starcraft 2 fine with your current card. It'd be more economical for you to buy a card when you need to upgrade your rig.

User avatar
lordvic
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 3:00 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Re: Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

Post by lordvic » Sun Jul 12, 2009 2:49 pm

I see...I don't think I'm going for a 4870 than. I did a bit more of researching and the 4850 itself doesn't seem to draw a lot of power at max/full load. I've seen the highest 187W, but 200W on the safe side. 200W/12V = 16.6666A --> 17A. I got 32A on the 12v rails...knowing that the computer uses some of that. I'm somewhat 80% sure that my PSU will handle a 4850.

If anybody has any suggestions/comments, would be great.

Planning to get the "HIS H485QT512P Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported IceQ4 Turbo Video Card " http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.as ... 6814161244

People had a lot of issues with the Sapphire Vapur-X one so...yeah :) .
Cooler Master HAF 932 // Phenom II 1090T @ 4.1GHz (not 110% stable) // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Thermaltake Frio CPU Cooler // Sapphire Dual-X HD 7970 @ 1150/1500 // 8GB (2X4GB) G.Skill RipJaws + 8GB (2X4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX @1600 8-9-8-21-1T // Corsair TX850 // Corsair ForceGT 120GB SSD // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // LiteON DVD-RW // Windows 7 Ult. 64-bit

Nobahar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:09 am

Re: Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

Post by Nobahar » Sun Jul 12, 2009 3:01 pm

120 for a 4850? I saw one for half-that on zipzoomfly awhile ago.

User avatar
mr_noname111
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 9:09 pm

Re: Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

Post by mr_noname111 » Sun Jul 12, 2009 3:02 pm

Well the 4870 has a TDP of 160W, meaning about 14A. I'd say you COULD be able to run it on that 430W. Your PSU has a limit of 32A on the 12V lanes. Your CPU probably takes 6-10A, your HDs take 1-2A each. Fans are negligible.
Main Rig: [email protected], Asus P5Q, OCZ 4GB, EVGA GTX260 216, Corsair HX520, Antec 300, Samsung 2443BW
HTPC1: [email protected], EVGA 780i SLI, OCZ 2GB, Asus 9600GSO, OCZ GameXStream 600W, LG 47LG70 LCD TV
HTPC2: [email protected], DFI DK X48 T2RS, Kingston 2GB, Palit 9800GT Green, BFG 550W, Acer H5360 720p 120hz Projector

User avatar
lordvic
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 3:00 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Re: Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

Post by lordvic » Sun Jul 12, 2009 5:09 pm

Nobahar wrote:120 for a 4850? I saw one for half-that on zipzoomfly awhile ago.
Half that!?!? Wow! But does it have a good/decent aftermarket cooler though? It's newegg ".CA" not ".COM" btw.

I thought about the 4870, but it seems it's not as on the "safe-side" as the 4850. I can't find any 4770's since ATi/AMD slowed it production/cancelled it? so...4850 is the next best thing...other than the 4730. By the time the 5870 comes out (when?) I'll have enough cash to make a new rig.
Cooler Master HAF 932 // Phenom II 1090T @ 4.1GHz (not 110% stable) // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Thermaltake Frio CPU Cooler // Sapphire Dual-X HD 7970 @ 1150/1500 // 8GB (2X4GB) G.Skill RipJaws + 8GB (2X4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX @1600 8-9-8-21-1T // Corsair TX850 // Corsair ForceGT 120GB SSD // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // LiteON DVD-RW // Windows 7 Ult. 64-bit

Nobahar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:09 am

Re: Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

Post by Nobahar » Sun Jul 12, 2009 7:38 pm

It was this card (http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDe ... t=celebros) , bottom price was 55 after rebate and 30 dollars off from the ebillme crap. The rebate is no longer there though, but whatever you do wait for the price drop before you buy.

User avatar
lordvic
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 3:00 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Re: Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

Post by lordvic » Sun Jul 12, 2009 7:48 pm

Nobahar wrote:It was this card (http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDe ... t=celebros) , bottom price was 55 after rebate and 30 dollars off from the ebillme crap. The rebate is no longer there though, but whatever you do wait for the price drop before you buy.
Wow nice! Thanks, I'll take a look at this site :) . Wonder how much is the S&H going to be...

Edit: Woah! free shipping on everything?!
Cooler Master HAF 932 // Phenom II 1090T @ 4.1GHz (not 110% stable) // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Thermaltake Frio CPU Cooler // Sapphire Dual-X HD 7970 @ 1150/1500 // 8GB (2X4GB) G.Skill RipJaws + 8GB (2X4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX @1600 8-9-8-21-1T // Corsair TX850 // Corsair ForceGT 120GB SSD // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // LiteON DVD-RW // Windows 7 Ult. 64-bit

User avatar
Athlonite
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:01 pm

Re: Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

Post by Athlonite » Tue Jul 14, 2009 6:14 am

It has three (3) 12v rails, all 16A each.

hmmm really!! does it have you taken the top off your psu and confirmed that fact because i bet you it doesn't have 3 separate 12V rails but a single 12V rail split 3 ways and the max AMPs you'll be able to draw will far less than 48 infact i'd be impressed if it could do 30 combined but i digress if you can swing it get your 4850 and a 500W psu as there's nothing worse than upgrading a vital part only to later find it doesn't perform the way you expected because the PSU isn't upto scratch believe me i thought the psu in my sig would be enough to run whats there but NO i really do need to upgrade to a min 580~600W psu for stability issues and luckily for me i just got offered an Hiper type-r 580 for dirt cheap
Asus Crosshair V Formula
AMD FX 8320 @ 3700MHz NB/HT @ 2600MHZ
2x 4GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600 C9
1x Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 9550MHz core 1250MHz mem
1x Pioneer DVD-RW DVR212S SATA
2x Samsung HD502IJ 16MB cache 7200rpm raid0
1x Samsung HD502IJ 16MB cache 7200rpm storage
1x WD2500AAJS 8MB cache 7200rpm storage
Thermolab Baram 1 x 120mm CM R4 90cfm 2000rpm 1x SilverStone 120mm AP 1500rpm 37.5cfm
SilverStone ST75F-P 750W PSU Full Modular
SilverStone RaVeN RV02B-W

User avatar
Athlonite
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:01 pm

Re: Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

Post by Athlonite » Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:29 am

what you also need to understand is that the older a PSU gets the less stress it can handle before it'll fail due mostly to the nature of electrolytic capacitors either A: drying out B: leaking or C: bulging or popping although I've only ever seen a popped cap i a psu once in the last ten yrs but i have seen numerous leaking and bulged caps in older (and by that i mean 450W and lower PSU's) and this is something that alot of people don't take into account when upgrading their machines if your PSU is more than 2yrs old and you want to make your computer a fare bit more grunty by upgrading video card, CPU, HDD's or RAM then please replace your aging psu and save the tears for the bank manager when he asks why you need that credit card limit upped [-o< and save the smiles and glee for when your hard out fraggin ya mates :axe: safe in the knowledge that your PSU isn't about to give up the ghost #-o
Asus Crosshair V Formula
AMD FX 8320 @ 3700MHz NB/HT @ 2600MHZ
2x 4GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600 C9
1x Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 9550MHz core 1250MHz mem
1x Pioneer DVD-RW DVR212S SATA
2x Samsung HD502IJ 16MB cache 7200rpm raid0
1x Samsung HD502IJ 16MB cache 7200rpm storage
1x WD2500AAJS 8MB cache 7200rpm storage
Thermolab Baram 1 x 120mm CM R4 90cfm 2000rpm 1x SilverStone 120mm AP 1500rpm 37.5cfm
SilverStone ST75F-P 750W PSU Full Modular
SilverStone RaVeN RV02B-W

User avatar
Athlonite
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:01 pm

Re: Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

Post by Athlonite » Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:33 am

speaking psu's here a nice one
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDe ... e=10009332 and it's cheap

User avatar
lordvic
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 3:00 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Re: Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

Post by lordvic » Thu Jul 16, 2009 12:39 pm

My PSU is under a year old.... bought it in January.
Cooler Master HAF 932 // Phenom II 1090T @ 4.1GHz (not 110% stable) // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Thermaltake Frio CPU Cooler // Sapphire Dual-X HD 7970 @ 1150/1500 // 8GB (2X4GB) G.Skill RipJaws + 8GB (2X4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX @1600 8-9-8-21-1T // Corsair TX850 // Corsair ForceGT 120GB SSD // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // LiteON DVD-RW // Windows 7 Ult. 64-bit

VanBoHawa141
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 12:22 am

Re: Will my PSU run a 4850 or 4870?

Post by VanBoHawa141 » Tue Sep 29, 2009 7:45 pm

Thats true, the 4870 does require a lot of power so you should go with the 4850 instead but not so fast [-X

First your power supply needs replacing with a corsair 650-750w power supply. Regardless of which ps brand u buy check the amps on the label. I checked your other post you stated that u had bought a 4870(nice choice BTW O:) ) So guess you are pretty much set except for the power supply. Get a new one if you can already. try this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product

Post Reply