Supreme FX 2

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
User avatar
kappage
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1356
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:38 pm

Re: Supreme FX 2

Post by kappage » Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:42 am

Ok just tried it then, it happened again the fans turned on for a sec and then off i trioed some oftheother ram and some thing, i tried it with no ram aswell. So imthinking either CPU net seated properly becauseim using an old AMD one that is zip tied on :P also there is not fan plugged into the slot. So tommorow im going to see if i can pickup a standard intel socket 775 one for cheap.
Main Rig: C2D 6850 @ 3.0Ghz, 2Gb DDR2667Mhz @ 833Mhz 5-5-5-15 Timings , XFX xXx 8600GTS @ 730/2260 , Gigabyte Ga-945GCM-S2L
JukeBox: Currently in an Upgrade but im too lazy to do it at the moment
I² keepin it real

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Supreme FX 2

Post by DMB2000uk » Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:41 am

Do you not have any spare thermal paste to borrow the one out of your main PC?

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
kappage
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1356
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:38 pm

Re: Supreme FX 2

Post by kappage » Thu Jan 07, 2010 3:28 am

yea i do and it looks like this afternoon that is what i will be doing, but the HSF is not a stock intel and its a PITA to put on and off
Main Rig: C2D 6850 @ 3.0Ghz, 2Gb DDR2667Mhz @ 833Mhz 5-5-5-15 Timings , XFX xXx 8600GTS @ 730/2260 , Gigabyte Ga-945GCM-S2L
JukeBox: Currently in an Upgrade but im too lazy to do it at the moment
I² keepin it real

User avatar
shamrok3
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Supreme FX 2

Post by shamrok3 » Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:01 pm

Are you saying you were trying to run an old AMD CPU in an Intel 775 Socket? That surely wouldn't work...
Multiple Exclamation marks - The first sign of an unsound mind.

Rig: Intel 3930K, Noctua U12P-SE2 , ASUS P9X79, 16GB RAM, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3, 2x3TB Seagate (RAID 0), 1TB Samsung F3, EVGA GTX760, CM 650 Watt PSU
NZXT HU002 Case, LG Blu-Ray Writer/Combo
21.5" BenQ E2200HD @ 1920x1080, Razer Lachesis/Lycosa/Sennheiser HD558, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Supreme FX 2

Post by DMB2000uk » Tue Jan 12, 2010 3:16 am

shamrok3 wrote:Are you saying you were trying to run an old AMD CPU in an Intel 775 Socket? That surely wouldn't work...
Just the AMD heatsink ghetto modded to cool the Intel chip.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
shamrok3
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Supreme FX 2

Post by shamrok3 » Tue Jan 12, 2010 3:36 am

Ahah, that's fine. I realised a couple of days ago that AMD CPU heatsinks just use standard case fans on top of the heatsinks, my PII 940 has a 70mm and my Athlon has an 80mm. Kinda interesting, I thought, some possibility for some uber stock heatsinks there.
Multiple Exclamation marks - The first sign of an unsound mind.

Rig: Intel 3930K, Noctua U12P-SE2 , ASUS P9X79, 16GB RAM, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3, 2x3TB Seagate (RAID 0), 1TB Samsung F3, EVGA GTX760, CM 650 Watt PSU
NZXT HU002 Case, LG Blu-Ray Writer/Combo
21.5" BenQ E2200HD @ 1920x1080, Razer Lachesis/Lycosa/Sennheiser HD558, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit

Post Reply