Intel or AMD?

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
Wavid
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:54 pm
Location: SW Ohio

Intel or AMD?

Post by Wavid » Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:31 pm

So right now, i'm stuck trying to decide whether to go with a Core i5 650, or a Phenom II X4 955 BE. I know i will keep this build for at least 3 years, so the main factor is price to performance and upgradability in the near future (3 years or so). It's a semi-gaming rig but mostly streaming video and multimedia.

User avatar
XstollieX
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 1641
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by XstollieX » Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:35 pm

Either one of those chips will do what you are looking for. What Gfx card are you planning on?

User avatar
Wavid
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:54 pm
Location: SW Ohio

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by Wavid » Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:40 pm


User avatar
XstollieX
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 1641
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by XstollieX » Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:45 pm

That is a solid card. I would probably lean toward an amd rig. They tend to have better price to performance ratios.

User avatar
Wavid
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:54 pm
Location: SW Ohio

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by Wavid » Mon Mar 01, 2010 8:04 pm

alright, thanks, i'll probably go with the 955 then.

User avatar
Dany
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 5:58 pm

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by Dany » Tue Apr 06, 2010 6:15 pm

i'll go for the I5

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by kylepaddock » Tue Apr 06, 2010 8:42 pm

I'd go AMD
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
hnzw_rui
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:42 am

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by hnzw_rui » Tue Apr 06, 2010 8:58 pm

Wavid wrote:I know i will keep this build for at least 3 years, so the main factor is price to performance and upgradability in the near future (3 years or so).
It's been rumored that Intel's Sandy Bridge will be using a new socket (LGA-1155) meaning if you go Core i5-650/LGA-1156 now, you might need to replace the motherboard if you want to upgrade the CPU in the future.

Not sure about longevity on AMD's side.
File Server/Media Encoder/PVR PC
Antec P182 / Corsair 550VX / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R / Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 / Wintec AMPX 2x2GB DDR2 800 / Sapphire 100233L Radeon HD 3450 / WD Caviar SE16 750GB x3 / WD Caviar GP 750GB / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7190A x2 / XP Pro SP2

unRAID Server
Antec 300 / Corsair 520HX / Abit AB9 Pro / Celeron 430 @ 1.80 / Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB DDR2 667 / ATI Rage XL / Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB x9 / unRAID 4.3.3

Jodox
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 11:21 pm

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by Jodox » Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:59 pm

AMD has been great with compatibility with new models. AM2+ and AM3 processors were all backwards compatible with AM2 motherboards so I expect them to continue that, that and their low prices is why people even bother buying AMD right now anyways. Performance wise, Intel is just so far ahead, there is really no reason to go AMD unless your really that budget constrained. So I'd go for the i5, and even if you decide to go AMD, waiting for their six cores that are coming out right away would be an option as well, its not more than $100 above the 955 i believe.

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by Major_A » Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:32 pm

You can pick up an AMD chipset (890GX) with SATA III and USB 3.0 for far cheaper than an Intel equivalent. If you need to or the time comes where you want to you can always add another 5750 and run them in Crossfire too. Key factor there is you are looking at a dual core with 2 virtual threads versus an actual quad core.

My vote would be for the AMD rig myself.

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1466
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by camaroguy1998 » Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:14 am

Major_A wrote:You can pick up an AMD chipset (890GX) with SATA III and USB 3.0 for far cheaper than an Intel equivalent. If you need to or the time comes where you want to you can always add another 5750 and run them in Crossfire too. Key factor there is you are looking at a dual core with 2 virtual threads versus an actual quad core.

My vote would be for the AMD rig myself.
+1 :supz:
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon cooler
Corsair RM750X - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor
Corsair 600T case

User avatar
Dizz01
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by Dizz01 » Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:31 am

Major_A wrote:You can pick up an AMD chipset (890GX) with SATA III and USB 3.0 for far cheaper than an Intel equivalent. If you need to or the time comes where you want to you can always add another 5750 and run them in Crossfire too. Key factor there is you are looking at a dual core with 2 virtual threads versus an actual quad core.

My vote would be for the AMD rig myself.

What the Major said.
AMD Phenom II x6 1075T @3.3▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂Three Hundred Antec Case
Asus M4A785TD M-EVO▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂500w OCZ Modular PSU
Noctua CPU Cooler▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂500Gig WD HDD
4Gig OCZ Gold Edition 1600 Ram▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂ASUS ATI 7770 2GIG!

User avatar
taichi135
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:55 am
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by taichi135 » Thu Apr 08, 2010 9:15 am

/agree

Go for the AMD. Sure you may not save a ton of money, but it's savings vs. the small increase in performance going for intel. (at the same price point)
"Windows is a 32-bit patch to a 16-bit GUI for an 8-bit operating system written for a 4-bit processor by a 2-bit company that can't stand 1-bit of competition"

Raraniel
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 11:46 pm

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by Raraniel » Mon Apr 12, 2010 9:02 pm

I also agree with the vote for AMD. Socket backward compatibility has always been a big plus in my opinion. Not only does it make upgrading much more manageable, it also gives you a platform from which to troubleshoot if a new component isn't working. Last time I had a part fail on an AM3 setup, I was able to drop the chip in an AM2+ and rule out CPU as the failed component.

Roewe
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 8:12 pm

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by Roewe » Tue Apr 13, 2010 2:14 am

AMD and I would recommend the Asus M4A89GTD.
It support AM3 for AMD and DDR3 1333M.

Link:
centralcomputers.com/commerce/catalog/product.jsp?product_id=74627

User avatar
Wavid
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:54 pm
Location: SW Ohio

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by Wavid » Tue Apr 13, 2010 7:10 am

thanks for the feedback guys, but i've installed an X4 955 with my M4A79XTD EVO. it's working amazing, so i no longer need suggestions. thanks anyway though! :drinkers:

User avatar
Divide Overflow
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 6:47 pm

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by Divide Overflow » Tue Apr 13, 2010 7:01 pm

Glad you're happy with your choice. Enjoy that new CPU / heatsink smell while it lasts! :)

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Intel or AMD?

Post by Major_A » Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:15 pm

Wavid wrote:thanks for the feedback guys, but i've installed an X4 955 with my M4A79XTD EVO. it's working amazing, so i no longer need suggestions. thanks anyway though! :drinkers:
Should've held out another month. I believe the Phenom II X6's are supposed to be released some time in May.

Post Reply