Need input for system I'm building

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
User avatar
Racerboyf1
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Need input for system I'm building

Post by Racerboyf1 » Thu Jun 03, 2010 12:57 pm

I'm building a system for a buddy of mine and want some input as far as choices I've made. We are going to set it up for use mainly as a racing simulator. Here is what I have so far, let me know any changes you guys would make. Thanks!

Antec Nine Hundred Two Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST31500341AS 1.5TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
SAPPHIRE 100282-3CODSR Radeon HD 5850 1GB 256-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Powersupply
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMP6GX3M3A1600C8
ASUS P6X58D Premium LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
Intel Core i7-930 Bloomfield 2.8GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Model BX80601930
LITE-ON Black BD-COMBO SATA Model ihes108-29 - OEM
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit 1-Pack for System Builders - OEM
Hmmmmmmmmmmm!!!

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by skier » Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:22 pm

i can't argue against a single one of those parts, great choices!

only thing is make sure you know the TX750 has a ton of cables
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by smack323 » Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:29 pm

Maybe a SSD drive for a boot drive. They have really come down in price the last couple months.
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
Wavid
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:54 pm
Location: SW Ohio

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by Wavid » Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:41 pm

skier wrote:i can't argue against a single one of those parts, great choices!

only thing is make sure you know the TX750 has a ton of cables
You could always get an HX750. Exactly the same (cept the price) plus, it's modular too.

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by skier » Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:05 pm

only thing i dont like about a boot drive is that everything gets more complicated, though reinstalling windows becomes a snap :-k

depends how savvy he is, a single huge HDD is a ton simpler and Barracuda's are damn fast too(85-95MB/s write/read) and all you get is faster boot times(depending on the SSD you may not even notice a difference)
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
hnzw_rui
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:42 am

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by hnzw_rui » Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:19 pm

skier wrote:depends how savvy he is, a single huge HDD is a ton simpler and Barracuda's are damn fast too(85-95MB/s write/read) and all you get is faster boot times(depending on the SSD you may not even notice a difference)
Sequential read/write sure. Latency and random read/write is still a failure and that's where SSD's shine (if you can stomach the price tag, that is). He's got a lot of RAM, though, so that should make up for part of the HDD's failing.
File Server/Media Encoder/PVR PC
Antec P182 / Corsair 550VX / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R / Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 / Wintec AMPX 2x2GB DDR2 800 / Sapphire 100233L Radeon HD 3450 / WD Caviar SE16 750GB x3 / WD Caviar GP 750GB / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7190A x2 / XP Pro SP2

unRAID Server
Antec 300 / Corsair 520HX / Abit AB9 Pro / Celeron 430 @ 1.80 / Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB DDR2 667 / ATI Rage XL / Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB x9 / unRAID 4.3.3

User avatar
Racerboyf1
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by Racerboyf1 » Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:50 pm

Thanks so far to all the responses. I don't see the need for SSD for this guy. The setups main purpose will be racing sim. He's not a gamer just a car nut. Here is one of the setups we are looking at http://www.gamerscockpit.com.au/store/i ... /p_14.html
Hmmmmmmmmmmm!!!

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by geokilla » Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:53 pm

Not a fan of SSDs so I wouldn't recommend them.

Have you taken a look at the WD Black hard drives? Last I checked (few months ago), they were the fastest 7200RPM hard drives available. And even if you do stick with the Seagate Barracuda, wasn't there the 7200.12 models?
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
Racerboyf1
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by Racerboyf1 » Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:57 pm

This http://ecci6000.com/6000_wheel_01.htm and this http://ecci6000.com/6000_pedal_01.htm look pretty damn cool too, but $1500.00 for a wheel and pedals is steep.
Hmmmmmmmmmmm!!!

User avatar
Racerboyf1
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by Racerboyf1 » Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:57 pm

geokilla wrote:Not a fan of SSDs so I wouldn't recommend them.

Have you taken a look at the WD Black hard drives? Last I checked (few months ago), they were the fastest 7200RPM hard drives available. And even if you do stick with the Seagate Barracuda, wasn't there the 7200.12 models?
I had not looked. I'll check that now. Thanks!
Hmmmmmmmmmmm!!!

User avatar
Racerboyf1
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by Racerboyf1 » Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:59 pm

geokilla wrote:Not a fan of SSDs so I wouldn't recommend them.

Have you taken a look at the WD Black hard drives? Last I checked (few months ago), they were the fastest 7200RPM hard drives available. And even if you do stick with the Seagate Barracuda, wasn't there the 7200.12 models?

What's the difference from the 7200.11 and 7200.12 besides the fact that the 7200.12 is $20.00 cheaper?
Hmmmmmmmmmmm!!!

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by skier » Thu Jun 03, 2010 3:09 pm

Racerboyf1 wrote: What's the difference from the 7200.11 and 7200.12 besides the fact that the 7200.12 is $20.00 cheaper?
its age(product release-wise) with a touch of negligible performance, get the .12 if its cheaper than the .11
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
Wavid
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:54 pm
Location: SW Ohio

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by Wavid » Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:08 pm

if you want a really fast HDD, WD has 300gb Velociraptors (10,000RPM) for about 200 bucks on newegg.

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by Major_A » Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:53 pm

Why not get an i7 K series with an LGA 1156 board and skip the more expensive tri channel RAM setup? You can also get a board with USB 3.0 and SATA III in LGA 1156 cheaper than it's 1366 brother.

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by skier » Thu Jun 03, 2010 7:12 pm

why get a k when your not overclocking he needs best stock performance that will run forever stable (i doubt he'd use USB3 or SATAIII in the next two years, or maybe ever)
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by Major_A » Thu Jun 03, 2010 7:23 pm

Do the 1366 i7s have Turbo Boost (or whatever it's called)? And isn't Intel is killing off the 1366 socket (next year?) soon.

User avatar
hnzw_rui
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:42 am

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by hnzw_rui » Thu Jun 03, 2010 7:43 pm

Major_A wrote:Do the 1366 i7s have Turbo Boost (or whatever it's called)? And isn't Intel killing off the 1366 socket (next year?) soon.
It has it but the Turbo Boost doesn't go as high as on LGA-1156 quads. Bloomfields only Turbo to 1/1/1/2 while Lynnfields Turbo up to 1/1/4/5 and the i7-870/875k even goes 2/2/4/5. And yeah, brand new socket for Sandy Bridge so really, the only upgrade path for LGA-1366 is Gulftown.

Code: Select all

              i7-930  i7-860  i7-870
Stock           2.80    2.80    2.93
Turbo
  4 cores       2.93    2.93    3.06
  3 cores       2.93    2.93    3.06
  2 cores       2.93    3.33    3.46
  1 core        3.06    3.46    3.60
File Server/Media Encoder/PVR PC
Antec P182 / Corsair 550VX / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R / Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 / Wintec AMPX 2x2GB DDR2 800 / Sapphire 100233L Radeon HD 3450 / WD Caviar SE16 750GB x3 / WD Caviar GP 750GB / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7190A x2 / XP Pro SP2

unRAID Server
Antec 300 / Corsair 520HX / Abit AB9 Pro / Celeron 430 @ 1.80 / Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB DDR2 667 / ATI Rage XL / Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB x9 / unRAID 4.3.3

User avatar
Racerboyf1
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by Racerboyf1 » Thu Jun 03, 2010 8:01 pm

OK so more good input. It does make sense to go with an 1156 board and a k series (I may OC it for him). Give me some board, cpu and memory suggestions please. I could maybe use the savings and go for a 5870 instead of the 5850?
Hmmmmmmmmmmm!!!

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by Major_A » Thu Jun 03, 2010 8:41 pm

I can't give any specifics but in my opinion you can't go wrong with Gigabyte boards. However, ASRock is making some pretty stout boards cheaper than the rest. And with an unlocked multi it isn't rocket science or hard to overclock the CPU a few hundred MHz and retain stability.

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by geokilla » Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:23 pm

I'm against the K models. It's not like they're that much better at overclocking. I'd rather spend that $40 on a ATI 5870.

Have you considered AMD Thuban?
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

Post Reply