Need input for system I'm building

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by Major_A » Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:27 pm

The extra $40 you spend on the CPU is saved on the expensive of a good X58 LGA 1366 and tri-channel DDR3 kit.

vbironchef
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:35 pm

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by vbironchef » Thu Jun 03, 2010 10:29 pm

Just to add my two cents worth. I built both the 1156 and 1366 platform. Whatever you choose you will be happy. What I have found out is that the 32nm cpu runs alot cooler than the 45nm cpu. So if it were me I would try to get a 32nm cpu. I also think that a SSD is the way to go. It really helps with the windows experience index.

Edit: So for a WD 300gb VRaptor my windows experience index is a 5.9. With a Intel 160gb SSD my windows experience index is 7.8 for my primary hard drive. Just something to consider.

User avatar
hnzw_rui
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:42 am

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by hnzw_rui » Thu Jun 03, 2010 11:02 pm

geokilla wrote:Have you considered AMD Thuban?
I have a 1055T Thuban and I'm finding it hard to recommend it. I have to say I like my Core i3-530 build much better. I was getting higher FPS on PCSX2 (PS2 emulator) with the i3-530 than with the 1055T with Turbo Core enabled. There was no noticeable difference between the two for normal tasks such as internet surfing, virus scanning, etc. I know having a hexa-core for $200~300 sounds pretty awesome but imho, a higher clocked Phenom II x4 would be a better alternative to the Core i7 for gaming and other everyday tasks.
vbironchef wrote:Just to add my two cents worth. I built both the 1156 and 1366 platform. Whatever you choose you will be happy. What I have found out is that the 32nm cpu runs alot cooler than the 45nm cpu. So if it were me I would try to get a 32nm cpu.
Alas, the only 32nm desktop processors currently available are dual-core Clarkdales (LGA1156) and the hexa-core Gulftown (LGA1366).
File Server/Media Encoder/PVR PC
Antec P182 / Corsair 550VX / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R / Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 / Wintec AMPX 2x2GB DDR2 800 / Sapphire 100233L Radeon HD 3450 / WD Caviar SE16 750GB x3 / WD Caviar GP 750GB / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7190A x2 / XP Pro SP2

unRAID Server
Antec 300 / Corsair 520HX / Abit AB9 Pro / Celeron 430 @ 1.80 / Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB DDR2 667 / ATI Rage XL / Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB x9 / unRAID 4.3.3

Raraniel
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 11:46 pm

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by Raraniel » Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:43 am

I believe the 1055 is an identical chip to the higher clocked 1090, which means that overclocking it to 3.2 ghz should be perfectly stable. At that clock you're approaching the 3.4 ghz of the highest end phenom II X4 chip. For such similarly priced chips, the 1055 is really a steal.

User avatar
hnzw_rui
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:42 am

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by hnzw_rui » Fri Jun 04, 2010 8:22 am

Raraniel wrote:I believe the 1055 is an identical chip to the higher clocked 1090, which means that overclocking it to 3.2 ghz should be perfectly stable. At that clock you're approaching the 3.4 ghz of the highest end phenom II X4 chip. For such similarly priced chips, the 1055 is really a steal.
Sure, you can overclock the 1055T, but you can overclock the Phenom II X4, too. I'd really much rather have a Lynnfield than either of those, though. Very few applications scale well past quad-core and the ones that do, I doubt the average user will use much in everyday tasks. I think it's kinda like the old debate of higher clock dual-core vs lower clock quad-core. If you're doing video encoding, 3D rendering, etc, you choose the quad-core. Otherwise, you go dual.
File Server/Media Encoder/PVR PC
Antec P182 / Corsair 550VX / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R / Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 / Wintec AMPX 2x2GB DDR2 800 / Sapphire 100233L Radeon HD 3450 / WD Caviar SE16 750GB x3 / WD Caviar GP 750GB / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7190A x2 / XP Pro SP2

unRAID Server
Antec 300 / Corsair 520HX / Abit AB9 Pro / Celeron 430 @ 1.80 / Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB DDR2 667 / ATI Rage XL / Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB x9 / unRAID 4.3.3

tekgek
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 222
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 6:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Need input for system I'm building

Post by tekgek » Sat Jun 05, 2010 4:50 pm

Might I suggest a Cooler Master HAF 932 Case? Other than that, I think your rig is very good. Good that you are using Corsair whenever you can, too. They make good stuff.

Tekgek
Image

Post Reply