PSU Questions?

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

PSU Questions?

Post by DJ Tucker » Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:53 am

Hey guys, as you all know my PSU, as always, plays up by turning off when GPU usage is above 60% and have found out the reason is due to 12V rail not providing the correct amps. However, i was wondering how you would find out if both of the 12V rails are being used?

I have a six pin power connector for my GPU's but it is one 6 pin connector split into 2x6 pin connectors. Is that right?
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: PSU Questions?

Post by Major_A » Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:42 pm

Say again? Are you saying you have one wire that splits into two 6 pin connectors for graphics cards? How many rails does your power supply have? Have you tried using the dedicated GPU power cable plus a 2 molex to 1 6 pin power cable adapter to power your second card? Try different combinations to see if you can spread the load across the rails.

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: PSU Questions?

Post by DJ Tucker » Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:41 am

yes major i have one PCI-E connector that splits into 2 so thinking that only one of the 12V rails is being used causing my pc to shut down but not sure. as the PSU is not modular and the only cables i have are with the PSU installed i can't do anything about it from what i can see!

EDIT: i have 2 12V rails at supposed 22a each according to PSU sticker on the side :?
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
hnzw_rui
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:42 am

Re: PSU Questions?

Post by hnzw_rui » Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:47 am

What power supply do you have?
File Server/Media Encoder/PVR PC
Antec P182 / Corsair 550VX / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R / Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 / Wintec AMPX 2x2GB DDR2 800 / Sapphire 100233L Radeon HD 3450 / WD Caviar SE16 750GB x3 / WD Caviar GP 750GB / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7190A x2 / XP Pro SP2

unRAID Server
Antec 300 / Corsair 520HX / Abit AB9 Pro / Celeron 430 @ 1.80 / Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB DDR2 667 / ATI Rage XL / Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB x9 / unRAID 4.3.3

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: PSU Questions?

Post by Darkstar » Wed Aug 25, 2010 9:32 am

in his sig is the Ezcool Tornado 800Watt PSU

:drinkers:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: PSU Questions?

Post by DJ Tucker » Wed Aug 25, 2010 10:32 am

yeah thats right darkstar but i can't do anything with it!
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: PSU Questions?

Post by Major_A » Wed Aug 25, 2010 10:40 am

How many 6 pin sockets does each video card have, 1 or 2?

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: PSU Questions?

Post by DJ Tucker » Wed Aug 25, 2010 10:51 am

each has one socket but only one 6 pin connector split in 2!
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: PSU Questions?

Post by Major_A » Wed Aug 25, 2010 11:22 am

Try this, you're not going to like it, run your CPU back at stock speeds and voltages. See if the power supply is still acting up. Alternatively you could try what I said in my 1st post and use a molex to 6pin adapter on the second video card.

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4703
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: PSU Questions?

Post by bubba » Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:49 pm

If I had to guess with it being twin 12v rails the card is isolated to one rail (yellow/black stripe), and the rest of the system to the other rail (yellow).

Could get a 4pin molex to 6pin PCIe cable see if that helps. Should move the load of the second card to the other rail.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
hnzw_rui
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:42 am

Re: PSU Questions?

Post by hnzw_rui » Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:50 pm

Darkstar wrote:in his sig is the Ezcool Tornado 800Watt PSU

:drinkers:
Lol, was looking for a separate line for the PSU. Didn't notice it in the case entry. :oops:

@DJ Tucker
Somehow, I have a feeling that your PSU has inflated ratings. You could try using a molex to 6-pin connector for one of the graphics cards to distribute the load but there's a possibility that it still won't work because the power supply isn't capable of delivering its advertised load.
File Server/Media Encoder/PVR PC
Antec P182 / Corsair 550VX / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R / Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 / Wintec AMPX 2x2GB DDR2 800 / Sapphire 100233L Radeon HD 3450 / WD Caviar SE16 750GB x3 / WD Caviar GP 750GB / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7190A x2 / XP Pro SP2

unRAID Server
Antec 300 / Corsair 520HX / Abit AB9 Pro / Celeron 430 @ 1.80 / Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB DDR2 667 / ATI Rage XL / Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB x9 / unRAID 4.3.3

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: PSU Questions?

Post by Darkstar » Wed Aug 25, 2010 1:59 pm

like most everyone above said, try the molex to six pin is what i would do.

:drinkers:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: PSU Questions?

Post by InspectahACE » Wed Aug 25, 2010 4:27 pm

Darkstar wrote:like most everyone above said, try the molex to six pin is what i would do.

:drinkers:
+1
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: PSU Questions?

Post by DJ Tucker » Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:43 pm

i will try and do that soon oh and am i right in saying that the yellow is for one rail and the black would be for the other rail?
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: PSU Questions?

Post by Major_A » Thu Aug 26, 2010 5:27 pm

Probably not. Since they are dedicated for the GPU they are probably on the same rail.

*EDIT*
Just throwing this out there. This is why I like the TX series by Corsair. One big rail so either it works or it doesn't and you don't have to worry about spreading the load either.

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4703
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: PSU Questions?

Post by bubba » Thu Aug 26, 2010 7:01 pm

All the 12v rails will be yellow. What separates them is the stripe. On most multi rail systems it will be solid yellow for first rail, then the other(s) will be yellow with color stripe of some kind.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

Post Reply