HDMI Sound

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
Wavid
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:54 pm
Location: SW Ohio

HDMI Sound

Post by Wavid » Sat Sep 25, 2010 7:44 pm

I have my computer hooked up to my 22" Samsung monitor. Now, I'm using my 4850 w/ an HDMI cable, to use with my monitor, which is DVI-in only. So I used an adapter. Problem is, the sound isn't coming from the HDMI cable, and i have to use the sound jack (green one) on the motherboard's I/O.

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: HDMI Sound

Post by skier » Sat Sep 25, 2010 7:48 pm

not all cards put sound through the DVI ports, I think my 5xxx cards all do and the GTX 400 cards do, but i'm not sure about anything older than that(don't think the gt200 cards do and i know my 9600 didnt)
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
lordvic
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 3:00 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Re: HDMI Sound

Post by lordvic » Sat Sep 25, 2010 7:56 pm

The 4850 (I believe all the 4000 series cards - if not, 46XX and up) has the ability to provide sound through the DVI ports...if you use a DVI-to-HMDI adapter. Is your Samsung 22" just a monitor or a HDTV/TV? If it is just a monitor, you won't be able to get sound from it; you need an actual TV with HDMI input for you to get a display + sound from the DVI output on the 4850.

You may also need to disable your onboard audio, and download the Realtek HDMI audio drivers (if you are using Realtek). Then go through the settings and set it to have sound go through your 4850 into your TV.

All the recent ATI drivers should allow you to have sound through HDMI..but you may need to download these other drivers if it does not work.
- ATi HDMI Audio Driver & Microsoft UAA HDMI Audio Class Driver (English). These can be found here: http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pa ... ghthe.aspx

EDIT: here's a more recent guide from AMD. http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pa ... mHDTV.aspx

Apparently sound and display from the DVI via DVi-to-HDMI adapter was available as early as the Radeon HD 2XXX series.

I have an 4850 in my system...and I hook it up to my 46" HDTV every now and then when my monitor isn't enough...and I get sound and display via HDMI from it.
Last edited by lordvic on Mon Sep 27, 2010 6:20 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Cooler Master HAF 932 // Phenom II 1090T @ 4.1GHz (not 110% stable) // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Thermaltake Frio CPU Cooler // Sapphire Dual-X HD 7970 @ 1150/1500 // 8GB (2X4GB) G.Skill RipJaws + 8GB (2X4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX @1600 8-9-8-21-1T // Corsair TX850 // Corsair ForceGT 120GB SSD // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // LiteON DVD-RW // Windows 7 Ult. 64-bit

User avatar
Kaos Kid
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 952
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:31 am
Location: 40 clicks West of the Gateway

Re: HDMI Sound

Post by Kaos Kid » Sat Sep 25, 2010 8:48 pm

My HTPC has a 4350 in it and sound over HDMI to my sony 46" works fine here as well.
I have come to the conclusion that "FaceBook" should be renamed "FacePalm" :roll:

User avatar
Wavid
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:54 pm
Location: SW Ohio

Re: HDMI Sound

Post by Wavid » Fri Nov 05, 2010 6:57 pm

OK, sorry for the delay (school...), but anyway, I have a 22" monitor. I guess I'll have to think about getting a new monitor or something.

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: HDMI Sound

Post by Major_A » Sat Nov 06, 2010 9:00 am

In the Sound Properties do you have the soundcard set to the HD 4850? If by default Windows is still using the original (card or onboard sound) then it might be shutting off the signal through the ATi/AMD card.
ATi_Example.jpg
Sound properties example.
ATi_Example.jpg (131.4 KiB) Viewed 1939 times

User avatar
Sporg
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1200
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:22 am
Location: Kansas City Area
Contact:

Re: HDMI Sound

Post by Sporg » Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:47 pm

I don't think you can run sound through HDMI to a monitor. I could be wrong, but pretty sure that's the case. Should work fine with a TV.
I would never die for my beliefs because I might be wrong.
~Bertrand Russell

Post Reply