where to start

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

where to start

Post by Merlin » Wed Sep 14, 2011 7:25 pm

I just installed win 64 bit. No problems. Installed microsoft maps followed by Safe-eyes, re-boot and it shuts off before it will fully boot. It makes it varying amounts thru the boot up and acts like I pushed the off switch. I am about to check all connections and re-seat RAM etc. but any ideas other than that??
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

vbironchef
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:35 pm

Re: where to start

Post by vbironchef » Wed Sep 14, 2011 8:07 pm

Drivers! You have to install drivers. Don't forget about all window updates. Update your graphic card to the latest drivers. If you know how, get the latest firmware updates.

User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: where to start

Post by pwcmed » Wed Sep 14, 2011 8:10 pm

Check you temps in the BIOS.

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: where to start

Post by Merlin » Wed Sep 14, 2011 8:30 pm

first thing I did was update all the drivers. I have played a few hours of Dragon age II with no problems. I just tried to boot it up and entered BIOS to check and it did the same thing from BIOS. Suddenly shuts off. I have a main board that just went bad don't I??
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: where to start

Post by pwcmed » Wed Sep 14, 2011 9:19 pm

do you have a spare power supply or a tester? I would start troubleshooting your power supply

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: where to start

Post by Darkstar » Thu Sep 15, 2011 7:40 am

pwcmed wrote:do you have a spare power supply or a tester? I would start troubleshooting your power supply

i was just going to say the same.....

:drinkers:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: where to start

Post by Merlin » Thu Sep 15, 2011 7:58 am

I will do that. Its a Corsiar I didn't think it likely to go out.


P.S.
Darkstar, I didn't know until recently that your Avatar is the Stone brewery logo ( or looks exactly like it). Have ever tried their "double bastard" ale?
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: where to start

Post by Darkstar » Thu Sep 15, 2011 8:11 am

Merlin wrote:I will do that. Its a Corsiar I didn't think it likely to go out.


P.S.
Darkstar, I didn't know until recently that your Avatar is the Stone brewery logo ( or looks exactly like it). Have ever tried their "double bastard" ale?

LOL, yes it is and yes i have. Good stuff, i have been a Stone fan back to the day they started selling. Green Flash and Ballast Point have been putting some good beers out too.

Also, i use Corsair PS units pretty much exclusively and though it is rare they do go out. (just not as often as some other big name PS) :mrgreen:

:drinkers:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: where to start

Post by Merlin » Thu Sep 15, 2011 8:07 pm

I'll have to try them out. I am glad I listened to you guys and bought the Corsair. It has a five year warranty so if it turns out to be the problem I am covered. It doesn't smell at all though so I am scared it will be MOBO.
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: where to start

Post by Merlin » Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:09 pm

PSU checked out good. How can I check out the MOBO to make sure and could it be anything else...a software issue maybe??
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: where to start

Post by Major_A » Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:38 pm

Have you run a RAM checker? Unfortunately there isn't a way to check out the motherboard. Only thing I can think of there is check all the other components in different/working hardware.

If you're motherboard has a LED indicator keep an eye on the codes it's throwing out. Might be able to narrow it down from there.
Example_LED_Indicator.PNG
Example_LED_Indicator.PNG (131.31 KiB) Viewed 4726 times

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: where to start

Post by Merlin » Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:12 pm

no led. It wont stay on long enough to run any tests really. I just bought and installed an OEM copy of Windows 7, am I going to be able to register it if I have to get a new MOBO and ram ( since I have ddr2 I would rather get a MOBO with DDR3 if I can ) ?
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: where to start

Post by Major_A » Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:52 am

Depends. If you're going nVidia chipset to nVidia chipset or AMD to AMD then probably not. But if you go from one to the other then yes. It boils down to if you'll have to reinstall Windows or not. Any time you install Windows you have to activate it. When I first got Windows XP I installed it and my computer was giving me all kinds of grief. I installed Windows 4 or 5 times before I finally got it right (turned out to be bad RAM). My only option at that point was to call and activate the install. I was on the phone with MS for less than 5 minutes, told them the problem and had it activated over the phone. If you have to reactivate your install it will likely let you do it again online.

User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: where to start

Post by pwcmed » Sat Sep 17, 2011 7:44 am

Try taking out your whole system out of the case and do a visual inspection on the mobo. Install everything back in but with minimum components, ie. one stick of ram, no video card "if it hasit built it" no drives.


I had a EVGA board with a Intel E8400 that would the same thing. It turned out to be some rouge screws that decided to get in between the case and the motherboard. After I removed the screws the mobo still worked and it overclocked like a champ.

Take a look at the heatsink if you do decide to take out the mobo.

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: where to start

Post by Merlin » Sat Sep 17, 2011 10:23 pm

I will try all the above. Thanks for the help as always guys!!
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1463
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: where to start

Post by camaroguy1998 » Sun Sep 18, 2011 1:24 am

Merlin wrote:PSU checked out good. How can I check out the MOBO to make sure and could it be anything else...a software issue maybe??
Curiosity, how did you check the PSU?
If all you did was jump the green wire with a black one that just tells you if it turns on. That doesnt mean it may not fail under a load. I've had 2 do that to me in the last cpl yrs.

also, if you do take everything out and dont see anything evident try putting 2 pieces of electrical tape over the Mobo standoffs to make sure the mobo is not grounding out to the chassis.

Hope that helps!
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon cooler
Corsair RM750X - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor
Corsair 600T case

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: where to start

Post by Darkstar » Mon Sep 19, 2011 7:47 am

I always swap out the PSU to test it, as camaroguy said it might be failing under load, etc.

you difinitely want a memcheck and if possible to get in the bios check the cpu temp.

:drinkers:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: where to start

Post by Merlin » Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:47 pm

I took it to Frys and they tested it with a PSU tester. I took it all apart to look for visible signs and .....one side of the heatsink retainer base was broken off basically leaving the heatsink with no pressure on the CPU. I have not gotten a new one yet but I hope it was temp failsafe shutting it down.
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: where to start

Post by Major_A » Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:07 pm

That could be it. The pump on my water cooler went out and my computer kept shutting off. It wasn't until I got into the BIOS and saw the CPU at 90C I figured out the problem. If this were the Athlon XP days the CPU would've just killed itself.

User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: where to start

Post by pwcmed » Tue Sep 20, 2011 7:30 am

Yea that has to be it.

Post Reply